Upgrading serial port for higher speed / more midi stability

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
edingacic
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 5:16 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Upgrading serial port for higher speed / more midi stability

Postby edingacic » Thu Feb 08, 2018 3:32 pm

Here is my setup playing a tune I am working on at the moment .... something to get you going while you do your research.
Your work could have big impact for MIDI sequencing on ATARI

https://vimeo.com/254867116

User avatar
Atari74user
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 259
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:00 pm

Re: Upgrading serial port for higher speed / more midi stability

Postby Atari74user » Thu Feb 08, 2018 8:36 pm

So you can use the firmware from the SMPII on the SMP24, or is there a special 1.6 release just for the SMP24? If you can interchange them, they must be nearly identical at the hardware level.


They should be interchangeable, certainly from v1.4x (SMP24) to v1.6x (SMPII), I am not sure if many have tried a 1.4x in an SMPII, but the theory would suggest you can in as much as placing a 1.6x in an SMP24, which people have tended to do by burning the firmware.

Do you use yours for SMPTE and MIDI input, or just the extra MIDI outs? If people are only using them for MIDI outs, then I guess there's no point trying to reverse-engineer the protocol - because the Friend Chip MM1 protocol already gives 8 outs.


Me personally, I use the SMPII purely for extra MIDI.

edingacic wrote:I also have SMP 1.6 Firmware if you need it


It would be nice to share, in the event something my goes horribly wrong one day! I may have it somewhere, as I am sure I downloaded when various links were working.
Atari Falcon 14mb, 68882, Dual 8gb CF, Steinberg FDI & Analog 8
Atari Jaguar, Rotary controller, Skunkboard & Cat Box
Atari 520STFM 4mb, TOS 2.06 switcher, OverScan, GigaFile, PARCP-USB, Unicorn-USB, System Solutions MiniS HD, SyQuest drives, ICD Link II, PhatBoy MIDI Controller, Philip Rees 5M MIDI merge box, SoundPool MO4, Steinberg MIDEX, SMP II, Emagic Log 3, C-Lab Unitor 2, Combiner & Export expanders

guus.assmann
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 10:34 pm
Location: Ede Netherlands

Re: Upgrading serial port for higher speed / more midi stability

Postby guus.assmann » Thu Feb 08, 2018 8:52 pm

Hello Foxie,
What I can see in the schematics is that the LDS signal is used as a clock to 74F74 FF's.
A signal called SEM is delayed by one extra FF that's also clocked with the LDS.
So it looks like the complete access cycle is delayed to give the Midex a bit more time to finish a cycle.
Maybe slowing down the Falcon can have the Midex work.
I've not had time to check the driver, so I don't know if the patch does work at all.
BR/
Guus
Guus Assmann

User avatar
edingacic
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 5:16 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Upgrading serial port for higher speed / more midi stability

Postby edingacic » Thu Feb 08, 2018 9:15 pm

Well it would be nice to have timecode also and locked to a frame because I use my sequencer also to sync with HD tape deck for music and fx for film. So it would be really nice but I have midex+ that can do that so that is fine also.

User avatar
Foxie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 7:12 pm

Re: Upgrading serial port for higher speed / more midi stability

Postby Foxie » Fri Feb 09, 2018 12:49 am

edingacic wrote:Here is my setup playing a tune I am working on at the moment .... something to get you going while you do your research.


Very nice! Got to love that TT mono monitor too ^.^

I didn't realise you had so much uploaded on Vimeo, if you don't mind I'll have a look around later!

edingacic wrote:I also have SMP 1.6 Firmware if you need it


That could be useful, any idea what processor the SMP uses? I've found a low-res picture of the internals of the SMP24 - it looks like it uses four ACIAs (or similar) and some unidentified 40 pin packages, one of which is surely the processor.

edingacic wrote:Well it would be nice to have timecode also and locked to a frame because I use my sequencer also to sync with HD tape deck for music and fx for film. So it would be really nice but I have midex+ that can do that so that is fine also.


The tricky part about implementing SMPTE in a printer port device is figuring out how the SMP24/II protocol works. The Midex is much easier since it's a simple logic implementation of a SMPTE reader. Of course, if I ever manage to clone the Midex it will definitely include SMPTE.

User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2248
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: Upgrading serial port for higher speed / more midi stability

Postby charles » Fri Feb 09, 2018 1:50 am

nice tune edingagic !!!
ever heard of subtropic ,,, ?
I still like them to this day ...your sounds match theirs!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2wxHzcn7q7s
atari is my lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! !,
Im printing unreadable characters ...!

User avatar
edingacic
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 5:16 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Upgrading serial port for higher speed / more midi stability

Postby edingacic » Mon Feb 12, 2018 1:25 pm

Here is 1.6 eprom
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
edingacic
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 5:16 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Upgrading serial port for higher speed / more midi stability

Postby edingacic » Mon Feb 12, 2018 1:42 pm

Very nice! Got to love that TT mono monitor too ^.^

I didn't realise you had so much uploaded on Vimeo, if you don't mind I'll have a look around later!


Yeah I love the TT mono monitor but it is starting to fade after so many years so I will have to get the Tenox vga adapter http://tenoxvga.tenox.net
project is also open source so maybe someone else can build it cheaper https://github.com/tenox7/tenoxvga

About my Vimeo page its my work as 3d animator / filmmaker. You can also check http://www.filmtools.at

Let me know about MM1 second test do I need to wait for a new test file?

nice tune edingagic !!!
ever heard of subtropic ,,, ?
I still like them to this day ...your sounds match theirs!


Thank you charles. No i have never heard of subtropic I will check them out.

User avatar
Atari74user
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 259
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:00 pm

Re: Upgrading serial port for higher speed / more midi stability

Postby Atari74user » Mon Feb 12, 2018 7:18 pm

edingacic wrote:Here is 1.6 eprom


Much appreciated, thank you!
:cheers:
Atari Falcon 14mb, 68882, Dual 8gb CF, Steinberg FDI & Analog 8
Atari Jaguar, Rotary controller, Skunkboard & Cat Box
Atari 520STFM 4mb, TOS 2.06 switcher, OverScan, GigaFile, PARCP-USB, Unicorn-USB, System Solutions MiniS HD, SyQuest drives, ICD Link II, PhatBoy MIDI Controller, Philip Rees 5M MIDI merge box, SoundPool MO4, Steinberg MIDEX, SMP II, Emagic Log 3, C-Lab Unitor 2, Combiner & Export expanders

User avatar
edingacic
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 5:16 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Upgrading serial port for higher speed / more midi stability

Postby edingacic » Mon Feb 12, 2018 8:00 pm

my quick MO4 test with DX7... but I don't know if the DX7 is working right every sound I play on it is modulated and sounds like FX ... anyone know how to reset DX7?

Foxie can i run this test with a sampler?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
edingacic
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 5:16 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Upgrading serial port for higher speed / more midi stability

Postby edingacic » Mon Feb 12, 2018 9:20 pm

here is one more test after i reset dx7 but i was not able to hear any cords during the test. DX7 plays fine when i play cords on the keyboard.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Foxie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 7:12 pm

Re: Upgrading serial port for higher speed / more midi stability

Postby Foxie » Tue Feb 13, 2018 2:52 am

edingacic wrote:here is one more test after i reset dx7 but i was not able to hear any cords during the test. DX7 plays fine when i play cords on the keyboard.


Thanks! I'll analyze the results tomorrow ^.^

Not hearing the chords is normal enough, that just indicates the MO4 doesn't have a sufficiently large buffer to hold enough events for a chord.

The new MM1 test program is coming along nicely, I'll let you know when it's ready. The MM1 does exhibit some unusual behaviour under some conditions, which I'd like to learn more about. I've never seen the driver write anything to the MM1 which would replicate those conditions though, so it's a bit of a mystery why it works like that.

User avatar
Foxie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 7:12 pm

Re: Upgrading serial port for higher speed / more midi stability

Postby Foxie » Thu Feb 15, 2018 2:31 am

A strange discovery - it seems there are at least two different revisions of the SoundPool MO4. One has a buffer, while the other does not! Considering the MO4 is based around what looks like a CPLD, it's probably just a different "firmware" revision (actually, configuration data). But the buffered model could even be using a bigger CPLD or an entirely different internal design.

The response of both models is a bit weird. I can't figure out exactly what's happening internally yet. Sometimes the hardware remains busy for only ~50 microseconds, while other times it's busy for nearly 300. It's almost as if it's based around an MCU, but I can't see an MCU anywhere on the board. I don't think Lattice ever made MCUs.

In other news, I e-mailed Geerdes (they're still around) and actually heard back! They seem to remember their old products, but sadly they don't have archived copies of the Cubase driver for the Starport. It looks like these days they do MIDI files for arranger workstations.


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests