Atari ST HELP PLz

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

iowtheme
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:56 am

Atari ST HELP PLz

Postby iowtheme » Mon Oct 30, 2017 11:25 am

Hi All
I have OLD Atari 520ST had in my loft for many years
I have two 520St given to me many years age.

My question is one of the ST has a Memory Upgrade? but I cannot identify module.

Image

I have test with Sysinfo prog and it show 1MB Ram in total.

Image

Image

The board has 4 memory chip that can be removed, is it possible to change the 4 memory chip to higher memory capacity?

thank :?:

User avatar
Arne
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 400
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 10:01 am

Re: Atari ST HELP PLz

Postby Arne » Mon Oct 30, 2017 3:00 pm

The board has 4 memory chip that can be removed

These are 514256? 256KBit x4 x4 = 256KBit x16 = 512KByte.

is it possible to change the 4 memory chip to higher memory capacity?

Well, in general: yes. But these DRAMs in DIL package are as rare as a unicorn. In 30 years I haven't seen one myself.
But with soldering skills you can upgrade to 4MB ST-RAM with an old 4MB PS/2 SIMM module.
Image

User avatar
Atari030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 539
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:14 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Atari ST HELP PLz

Postby Atari030 » Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:38 pm

That looks like an Evesham micros RAM upgrade. The old ST mags used to flog them when 512k became a bit prohibitive.

Exxos makes 4mb upgrades you can use. 4MB is trickier than 1MB as it requires an extra address line.

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests