Megafile 30 configuration

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
clh333
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 11:47 am

Megafile 30 configuration

Postby clh333 » Sat Oct 28, 2017 1:44 pm

I recently acquired a 1040 STf. ROMs are TOS 1.0, so far as I can tell. With it came a Megafile 30. I have determined that both are operational and can communicate, at least ST to MF. The HD is not represented on the desktop when I boot from a floppy.

I found hard disk utility HDX at the University of Michigan site and downloaded what I believed were the hard disk installation utilities, v.5. However, reading the Megafile 30 User Manual, I see that there are programs referenced not included with my utilities, e.g. driver, park, etc. Running the HDX investigates the ACSI chain and recognizes the megafile but the controller is not identified. Not all of the options are available from the desktop menus, either.

Using what I have I was able to format the Megafile, opting to mark bad sectors. 62 were already marked and 7 more were added during formatting. The drive is a Seagate ST238. I checked the partition scheme and it has four partitions each about 7.2 Mb.

I would like to be able to boot from the HD but I do not have the complete, or possibly correct, set of utilities. Could someone assist me with this issue?

Thanks for your replies.

-CH-

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1445
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Megafile 30 configuration

Postby frank.lukas » Sat Oct 28, 2017 2:03 pm

fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
clh333
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 11:47 am

Re: Megafile 30 configuration

Postby clh333 » Sat Oct 28, 2017 6:12 pm

Thank you very much.

-CH-

User avatar
clh333
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 11:47 am

Re: Megafile 30 configuration

Postby clh333 » Sun Oct 29, 2017 10:54 am

I obtained the version of HD Install from the DE site and formatted a 720k disk on a PC then transferred the files to it. Because the MBR was not "bootable", when I started the ST with the disk in the drive the ST 4-bombed and rebooted - repeatedly. But when I booted from ROM and then inserted the disk the machine stabilized. Desktop also showed the HD as C:\, something it had not done before, previously only showing A&B.

There were indeed more utilities in the DE version, ship being one. I re-ran the HDX utility, which still did not identify the controller, although it was aware of the presence of Unit0. I did not re-run the format but changed the partitions from four to three, with no errors reported. I ran the ship utility and that did not report any errors either. However, the chkdsk utility reported that it was unable to read the disk FAT or anything else because it could not read the (three letter code, one of which was B, but not MBR).

I could select the C:\ drive icon and open the window, showing 0 bytes in 0 files. I could not copy or create a file there, however, and directory utilities could not produce a listing for C:\ ... drive not found. The desktop did not include a menu option for install the drive, and running the HDInstall utility was also unsuccessful.

I'm not sure at this point whether the problem is with the hardware (controller?), software or with me following the wrong procedure. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

-CH-

User avatar
clh333
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 11:47 am

Re: Megafile 30 configuration

Postby clh333 » Tue Nov 14, 2017 8:44 pm

Recent progress using the HDD utility authored by Uwe Seimet. With the aid of the utility (demo version) I was able to install the hard disk driver, view the partitions and other disk info. The machine now boots with the Megafile and I am able to communicate with it.

There are three 10.3 Mb partitions on the Megafile, as a result of my previous efforts, and the HDD utility lists them as C, D and E. However, the Atari desktop does not allow me to see D or E, or to add them as icons: the ADD DISK option on the menu is greyed out.

This may be the result of the TOS 1.0 ROMS or maybe I am missing something, but if you have a suggestion please let me know.

Thanks,

-CH-

User avatar
crashman
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 160
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 2:23 am
Location: Vilanova i la Geltrú - Barcelona
Contact:

Re: Megafile 30 configuration

Postby crashman » Tue Nov 14, 2017 8:51 pm

You have to click and select one disk, then the ADD DISK option will be lighted, then you add the missing drive letters.
260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STFM, 1040STE, 4160STE, STACY 2, MEGA ST2, MEGA ST4, MEGA STE, TT030, FALCON030, FALCON030 with Centurbo 2rB, Firebee
SH204, Megafile 30, Megafile 60, Megafile 44
SM124, SM125, SM146, SC1224, SC1435
Satandisk, Ultrasatan, HxC SD, Hxc SD Slim, NetUSBee, CosmosEX, Gotek HxC, MicroCosmos
2600VCS, LYNX, LYNX II, JAGUAR

User avatar
clh333
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 11:47 am

Re: Megafile 30 configuration

Postby clh333 » Tue Nov 14, 2017 10:08 pm

Thank you for this information: "You have to click and select one disk, then the ADD DISK option will be lighted, then you add the missing drive letters."

This raises a related question: If I add the drives by the above process, where is that information stored? On the hard disk, a floppy or in flash ROM? Or will I need to repeat that process each time I boot up?

I know there is the option of a DESKTOP.INF file; so far none of my disks have had one. Do I need to add one to the hard drive? Or just "save desktop"?

Thanks again for your assistance.

-CH-

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 389
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: Megafile 30 configuration

Postby KLund1 » Thu Nov 16, 2017 10:44 pm

After your D and E showing, select save desktop under the options menu. This updates the .inf file
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

User avatar
clh333
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 11:47 am

Re: Megafile 30 configuration

Postby clh333 » Sat Nov 18, 2017 4:07 pm

Thanks for your replies. Following your directions I was able to add drives D and E. The desktop.inf file is saved to the C: drive so it persists on reboot.

-CH-


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests