520ST External Floppy only

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

nico24
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:30 pm

520ST External Floppy only

Postby nico24 » Fri Aug 11, 2017 6:37 pm

I have a very early model Atari 520ST. There is no internal floppy. When I turn on the computer with nothing attached I get no floppy icon (obviously I guess).

I bought en ebay old floppy drive. I think it probably wasn't working. When I attach that and turn on the computer, still not floppy drive showing.

So I have a gotek drive installed into the external drive casing and plugged in. When I power on the disk drive the Gotek has power.

When I turn on the Atari with is connect via the external cable there is still no floppy drive shown.

I have put the two files HXCCSFE.CFG (note it is a usb version, but I guess that doesn't matter), and AUTOBOOT.HFE into the root of the usb stick.

The jumpers have been set to S1 or S0 and it doesn't make a difference.

Could anyone give me a little pointer as to what to do next? Maybe the external circuitry is broken? Maybe this type of early Atari can't handle the Gotek? Maybe the jumper is wrong, maybe the software wrong.

Honestly I'm lost at this point.

Any help appreciated.

Nick

User avatar
catmando
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 929
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: 520ST External Floppy only

Postby catmando » Fri Aug 11, 2017 8:53 pm

Have you set the drive select jumpers correctly on the gotek?
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking

nico24
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: 520ST External Floppy only

Postby nico24 » Fri Aug 11, 2017 8:56 pm

Well - I wouldn't know how to know to be honest. I tried S0 and S1, as I've read in other forums. I see no instructions about any of this elsewhere.

User avatar
Greenious
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1161
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:39 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: 520ST External Floppy only

Postby Greenious » Fri Aug 11, 2017 9:11 pm

What model is the external drive you bought?

My guess at this point would be connection issues. broken cable and/or broken connector...
Updated my guides as of june 28th, 2016. Check'em out and feedback!
viewtopic.php?t=5040

nico24
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: 520ST External Floppy only

Postby nico24 » Fri Aug 11, 2017 9:39 pm

The atari drive is an SF354. The Gotek drive I wouldn't know other than a 'usual' type with HxC as firmware.

User avatar
Greenious
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1161
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:39 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: 520ST External Floppy only

Postby Greenious » Fri Aug 11, 2017 9:42 pm

SF354 is singlesided, another potential problem with gotek, I am not sure it routes side select to the drive...

I still suspect a faulty cable or connector though, even if singlesided the drive should be recognised.
Updated my guides as of june 28th, 2016. Check'em out and feedback!
viewtopic.php?t=5040

nico24
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: 520ST External Floppy only

Postby nico24 » Fri Aug 11, 2017 9:46 pm

So - would it be better to try to splice the cable myself to bypass the actual external drive circuitry?

User avatar
Greenious
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1161
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:39 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: 520ST External Floppy only

Postby Greenious » Fri Aug 11, 2017 9:53 pm

Find the fault first. Trying to construct something new working out of something broken and you don't even know what's broken is likely just going to take an even longer time.

It's only 14 pins on the floppy cable. Start by checking it with a multimeter. And then do the same with the connector.
Updated my guides as of june 28th, 2016. Check'em out and feedback!
viewtopic.php?t=5040

nico24
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: 520ST External Floppy only

Postby nico24 » Fri Aug 11, 2017 10:51 pm

So the cable is fine. Probably the circuitry on the actual external drive? When I plug in the original floppy drive it give a half red light blink but does not function. The computer doesn't recognize it. So looks like that circuitry is faulty. I'll try giving it a clean.

nico24
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: 520ST External Floppy only

Postby nico24 » Sat Aug 12, 2017 3:30 am

The external drive that I have has an OUT and an IN where the cable can be plugged in. I had previously plugged it to the OUT - since it made sense to me to transmit from the disk OUT to the Atari. Anyway - now plugged into the IN the drive is at least present.

The drive is there if original floppy is there or the gotek is plugged in. However, no matter what I try I get the message "drive A: is not responding".

Is this due to the issue with type of drive (double density or other) not being compatible. I've tried different jumper settings, M0, S0 and S1 without any success.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3669
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: 520ST External Floppy only

Postby joska » Sat Aug 12, 2017 8:22 am

The 354 does not work with double-sided drives. Been there, done that :) It has some sort of controller on it's PCB that you probably have to disable/bypass.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 480
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: 520ST External Floppy only

Postby czietz » Sat Aug 12, 2017 8:33 am

There are at least two entirely different types of the SF354. In fact, I have one that works perfectly with a Gotek (with HxC firmware) without any modifications to the PCB whatsoever. Its PCB looks like this, devoid of any semiconductors:
Image
http://www.nightfallcrew.com/gallery/at ... d-release/

Another version of the SF354 indeed has a 8048 controller and some logic gates:
Image
http://www.nightfallcrew.com/gallery/at ... t-release/

Jo Even, you're probably referring to that one, then?

Does anyone know why there is such a complex circuit on the PCB of some SF354? According to the serial numbers, the one with the controller was built in 1987, the one without in 1985, just like my SF354.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3669
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: 520ST External Floppy only

Postby joska » Sat Aug 12, 2017 8:41 am

Correct, that's the one. The first one you refer to looks like the PCB in my 314.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 480
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: 520ST External Floppy only

Postby czietz » Sat Aug 12, 2017 8:54 am

joska wrote:Correct, that's the one. The first one you refer to looks like the PCB in my 314.


Well, mine is a SF354 and still has the simple PCB without 8048 controller. Nico, which PCB version do you have?

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3146
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: 520ST External Floppy only

Postby ijor » Sat Aug 12, 2017 11:55 am

Very interesting, can you trace which signals are "intercepted" by the 8048?

nico24
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: 520ST External Floppy only

Postby nico24 » Sat Aug 12, 2017 1:21 pm

I have the second type, with the chip etc. So that would sound like it is creating an issue then - correct?? Maybe I'd never be able to get that one working. I can't get the Atari to work even with the original floppy plugged to this.

So would it be possible for me to bypass the entire external circuitry and build my own cable that goes from DIN to flat floppy disk type?

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1445
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: 520ST External Floppy only

Postby frank.lukas » Sat Aug 12, 2017 1:39 pm

fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

nico24
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: 520ST External Floppy only

Postby nico24 » Sat Aug 12, 2017 3:12 pm

So - in that diagram, what are the 2 squares in addition to the cable pins?

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 480
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: 520ST External Floppy only

Postby czietz » Sat Aug 12, 2017 3:34 pm

According to the text these are switches (SPDT and DPDT) to allow switching between drive A and B. It also notes that the floppy emulator still has to be configured accordingly.

nico24
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: 520ST External Floppy only

Postby nico24 » Sat Aug 12, 2017 4:01 pm

All getting above my head pretty rapidly. Shame this SF354 had to be the complex type.

nico24
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: 520ST External Floppy only

Postby nico24 » Sat Aug 12, 2017 4:31 pm

So maybe another question would be - how do I change the Gotek with HxC to emulate a single sided disk rather than a double sided disk? Or am I missing the point.

nico24
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: 520ST External Floppy only

Postby nico24 » Sat Aug 12, 2017 5:42 pm

Interestingly if I plug in my original Amiga A600 internal disk drive (replaced by a Gotek) into the SF354 box, I actually get a working drive with a proper floppy inserted. I have ONE game!! Rick Dangerous. Luckily that will probably last me forever!

So according to research the Amiga A600 comes with an 880k double density disk drive. When I directly replaced the proper floppy with the Gotek in the Amiga it worked straight out. But on the Atari the proper one works, but the Gotek, with HxC doesn't. Very confused now....

nico24
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: 520ST External Floppy only

Postby nico24 » Sun Aug 13, 2017 4:54 am

So finally I did get it working. Evidently all that was necessary was the correct files for the ST. I found a site where some kind German chap had prepared them all himself. When I tried these they worked very well. So I'm a happy chap. i will link to the German site as it very useful.

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4859
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: 520ST External Floppy only

Postby simonsunnyboy » Sun Aug 13, 2017 7:42 am

Maybe you could also add your Gotek jumper and overall settings? I'm sure more SF354 will find a new life through such a swap. I myself have one broken SF354 at my parent's attic.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 480
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: 520ST External Floppy only

Postby czietz » Sun Aug 13, 2017 8:51 am

Maybe Nico was referring to this extensive guide that I wrote: http://www.chzsoft.de/site/hardware/usb ... -atari-st/
There is a photo of the jumper settings and also a link to download pre-made floppy disk images compatible with the ST. The text is in German, but this should not be a problem for you, simonsunnyboy.

Sorry to those who don't speak German. The Google Translate version -- while not perfect -- is rather intelligible, though: https://translate.google.com/translate?sl=de&tl=en&js=y&prev=_t&hl=de&ie=UTF-8&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.chzsoft.de%2Fsite%2Fhardware%2Fusb-stick-floppy-emulator-am-atari-st%2F&edit-text=

I have yet to update the guide with a link to Jean-François' newest beta firmware that allows writing to ST files.


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests