WIFI for all ataris over serial!

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2368
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: WIFI for all ataris over serial!

Postby christos » Sat May 26, 2018 12:17 pm

Ok, I connected the esp01 using the usb2ttl adapter I used to program it and I opened it in arduino ide's serial monitor. I don't read anything. I don't see the blue led lighting up at all.
Many thanks for your help czietz!
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: WIFI for all ataris over serial!

Postby czietz » Sat May 26, 2018 12:28 pm

That's weird. Even if you had flashed it wrong, you should still see the boot ROM output, i.e. some messages at 74880 bit/s. The last idea I have is to check whether the CH_PD pin is really high, i.e. connected to Vcc. Other iirc the ESP-01 module won't boot.

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2368
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: WIFI for all ataris over serial!

Postby christos » Sat May 26, 2018 2:23 pm

OK, I was very very stupid... I connected RX to TX on the max232 but I should have connected it RX-RX.

It works now. Thank you for your help czietz and thanks for your work on the firmware and the software package.
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2368
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: WIFI for all ataris over serial!

Postby christos » Sat May 26, 2018 3:02 pm

BTW, any idea on how I can set it to serial2 so that I can get higher speeds?
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: WIFI for all ataris over serial!

Postby czietz » Sat May 26, 2018 3:09 pm

If you have loaded the HSMODEM driver for serial2, you should be able to select that from the STinG config in the control panel. I don't have it running right now, look for something like "ports". Probably there is a STinG howto somewhere explaining this more in detail.

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2368
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: WIFI for all ataris over serial!

Postby christos » Sat May 26, 2018 4:10 pm

I guess it needs some searching because I wasn't able to configure it. Anyway, thanks for your help :)
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2368
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: WIFI for all ataris over serial!

Postby christos » Fri Jun 01, 2018 5:00 pm

OK, I've had partial success in getting sting to use serial 2 by changing the route.tab to Ser.2/LAN. However when I try to open the connection I see the blue led of the esp lighting up but eventually the system ends with connection time out.
I think I am missing something since I am not that experienced with the mega. The falcon only has one serial port so things were kind of easier there..
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

User avatar
Atariosimus
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2017 6:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: WIFI for all ataris over serial!

Postby Atariosimus » Wed Jul 25, 2018 6:03 am

Hi christos you can see also what is possible and how to configure a megaste in this thread here.
https://forum.atari-home.de/index.php/t ... 7.140.html

I do testing it with 56700 baud in the moment and it works very reliable and stable.
I have done some checks with litchi and cab.

Next step is to increase the baud rate a little bit more to see how far we can go.
Mega STE 4 MB / TOS 2.06 / FPU 68881 / Sony MPF 920 Floppy / GigaFile / Eiffel 1.10 / NEC MultiSync LCD 1970GX / PEACOCK Tastatur / CHERRY Maus M5400 / PARCP USB 421 / Mustek 105 Homescan / SM 124 / Lasermaus / QuickjoyTopStar / KAWAI MS720 / Junior Prommer V2.41 / Mega ST Tastatur / Blitz Floppy + Gotek / MCSWITCH / GABI

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2368
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: WIFI for all ataris over serial!

Postby christos » Thu Jul 26, 2018 4:10 pm

Ok.. thanks for your research. Hopefully with google translate it will work
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

User avatar
Atariosimus
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2017 6:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: WIFI for all ataris over serial!

Postby Atariosimus » Thu Aug 02, 2018 8:03 am

Look at the pictures for easy understanding. In the moment I tried with 230400 baud. With telnet it is possible to set it back down to lower Baud.
So there is no fear to clear the firmware for new flash.

My impression is in the first testings that it is not so fast as hoped. I guess the Atari cannot solve so much datas and the calculation is lasting very long.
Mega STE 4 MB / TOS 2.06 / FPU 68881 / Sony MPF 920 Floppy / GigaFile / Eiffel 1.10 / NEC MultiSync LCD 1970GX / PEACOCK Tastatur / CHERRY Maus M5400 / PARCP USB 421 / Mustek 105 Homescan / SM 124 / Lasermaus / QuickjoyTopStar / KAWAI MS720 / Junior Prommer V2.41 / Mega ST Tastatur / Blitz Floppy + Gotek / MCSWITCH / GABI

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2368
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: WIFI for all ataris over serial!

Postby christos » Tue Aug 07, 2018 4:20 pm

Atariosimus, I managed to get 38400 and connect at both 57600 and 115200 on modem 2. Unfortunately the last two speeds are not stable and the system keeps losing connection. Still I had success.

On an unrelated note, I am really not sure what I had done wrong with my experiments because I had the same settings as you.. Anyway, thanks, I'll get back to you with any of my findings.
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

User avatar
Atariosimus
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2017 6:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: WIFI for all ataris over serial!

Postby Atariosimus » Sat Aug 11, 2018 8:23 pm

Some helping hints for you

1) Did you change the rate in cpx modul?
2) Did you save the sting.prt?
3) Did you change the route.tab in the sting file?
4) 8Mhz or 16Mhz Mega Ste. I have done it with 8Mhz.
5) Check the Hsmod6 files of Harun Scheutzow
6) Did you do Autosort in the Auto Folder

Hope this check list helps you.

But anyway I feel no gain between 56700 and 230400. I set it back to 56700 in the moment.
May be the secret is in the hardware.
Mega STE 4 MB / TOS 2.06 / FPU 68881 / Sony MPF 920 Floppy / GigaFile / Eiffel 1.10 / NEC MultiSync LCD 1970GX / PEACOCK Tastatur / CHERRY Maus M5400 / PARCP USB 421 / Mustek 105 Homescan / SM 124 / Lasermaus / QuickjoyTopStar / KAWAI MS720 / Junior Prommer V2.41 / Mega ST Tastatur / Blitz Floppy + Gotek / MCSWITCH / GABI


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests