WIFI for all ataris over serial!

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2355
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: WIFI for all ataris over serial!

Postby christos » Sat May 26, 2018 12:17 pm

Ok, I connected the esp01 using the usb2ttl adapter I used to program it and I opened it in arduino ide's serial monitor. I don't read anything. I don't see the blue led lighting up at all.
Many thanks for your help czietz!
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 654
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: WIFI for all ataris over serial!

Postby czietz » Sat May 26, 2018 12:28 pm

That's weird. Even if you had flashed it wrong, you should still see the boot ROM output, i.e. some messages at 74880 bit/s. The last idea I have is to check whether the CH_PD pin is really high, i.e. connected to Vcc. Other iirc the ESP-01 module won't boot.

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2355
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: WIFI for all ataris over serial!

Postby christos » Sat May 26, 2018 2:23 pm

OK, I was very very stupid... I connected RX to TX on the max232 but I should have connected it RX-RX.

It works now. Thank you for your help czietz and thanks for your work on the firmware and the software package.
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2355
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: WIFI for all ataris over serial!

Postby christos » Sat May 26, 2018 3:02 pm

BTW, any idea on how I can set it to serial2 so that I can get higher speeds?
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 654
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: WIFI for all ataris over serial!

Postby czietz » Sat May 26, 2018 3:09 pm

If you have loaded the HSMODEM driver for serial2, you should be able to select that from the STinG config in the control panel. I don't have it running right now, look for something like "ports". Probably there is a STinG howto somewhere explaining this more in detail.

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2355
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: WIFI for all ataris over serial!

Postby christos » Sat May 26, 2018 4:10 pm

I guess it needs some searching because I wasn't able to configure it. Anyway, thanks for your help :)
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2355
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: WIFI for all ataris over serial!

Postby christos » Fri Jun 01, 2018 5:00 pm

OK, I've had partial success in getting sting to use serial 2 by changing the route.tab to Ser.2/LAN. However when I try to open the connection I see the blue led of the esp lighting up but eventually the system ends with connection time out.
I think I am missing something since I am not that experienced with the mega. The falcon only has one serial port so things were kind of easier there..
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests