2 versions of SMD-340, need help

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 389
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

2 versions of SMD-340, need help

Postby KLund1 » Sat Feb 25, 2017 7:01 am

I have 2 versions of the Epson SMD-340.
One version works in a STf, the other not so much.
See picture, Lower left corner of each drive. Same model, different versions?? The PCB is definitely different.
They both have the same jumpers shorted. The one that dose not work so well, will not read or write discs from other working ST's. But it will read whatever it writes only. So if I connect a SF314 to the 1040STf with the bad 340 and copy the data over to it, the drive will be able to read, run programs, also write from programs. But those disks can not be read from other ST's.
I have looked at this thread, and it matches my good drive.
https://blog.troed.se/2017/01/20/the-tale-of-high-density-atari-mystery/

Any thought or suggestions to get this other version drive to play better with ST's?
Thanks
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1213
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: 2 versions of SMD-340, need help

Postby troed » Sat Feb 25, 2017 8:51 am

KLund1 wrote:I have 2 versions of the Epson SMD-340.
One version works in a STf, the other not so much.
See picture, Lower left corner of each drive. Same model, different versions?? The PCB is definitely different.
They both have the same jumpers shorted. The one that dose not work so well, will not read or write discs from other working ST's. But it will read whatever it writes only. So if I connect a SF314 to the 1040STf with the bad 340 and copy the data over to it, the drive will be able to read, run programs, also write from programs. But those disks can not be read from other ST's.
I have looked at this thread, and it matches my good drive.
https://blog.troed.se/2017/01/20/the-tale-of-high-density-atari-mystery/

Any thought or suggestions to get this other version drive to play better with ST's?
Thanks


I think the different PCB revisions are irrelevant to the problem. It sounds like an "obvious" case of head misalignment. All the info I've ever read about head misalignment says "don't even try". It's very tricky and most often it's just easier to get a new drive ...

/Troed

Maeke
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 305
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:54 pm

Re: 2 versions of SMD-340, need help

Postby Maeke » Sat Feb 25, 2017 9:53 am

So i was right in the end in the other thread.

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3138
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: 2 versions of SMD-340, need help

Postby ijor » Sat Feb 25, 2017 1:56 pm

On the other thread you said you had TWO bad drives. Is still the case or that was a mistake and it is only one? And if there are two, can one of those bad drives read disks formatted with the other one?

If it is just one bad drive, then indeed it is likely an alignment problem. If two, still possible but less likely. If you want to be sure you'll need to connect them to a PC.

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 389
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: 2 versions of SMD-340, need help

Postby KLund1 » Sun Feb 26, 2017 4:00 am

I have two 340's drives that do not work well with the STf. And one that does work well. Both bad drives exhibit the same behavior. They both have the same PCB
It could be mis-alignment. But 2 drives with the same PCB's from different purchase sources, both showing the same behavior, seems odd to me. Any other thoughts
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3138
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: 2 versions of SMD-340, need help

Postby ijor » Mon Feb 27, 2017 11:42 am

I agree that two drives misaligned is not very likely. Possible but not very likely. I ask again: What happens when you try to read a disk formatted with one bad drive, with the other bad drive? It reads ok? Did you try different jumping options?

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 389
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: 2 versions of SMD-340, need help

Postby KLund1 » Tue Feb 28, 2017 1:56 am

Very good suggestion about reading same disk with both bad drives!
Yes they both read the same disk as good with data on it. This disk, I had previously copied from a connected sf314. As said above, that same disk reads as zero bytes in other ST's and the good smd340.
This leads me to think that it might be a jumper as you also suggest. But which ones to change, or remove? I have no idea.
Both the good, and bad smd340's have the same jumpers shorted.
I found the picture below for smd300-340 jumper settings. I am no way saying that the info on that picture are right. I just did a quick G search for a pic so I can communicate what my pin settings are.
I currently have pins shorted
1-2
5-13
14-15
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

Maeke
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 305
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:54 pm

Re: 2 versions of SMD-340, need help

Postby Maeke » Tue Feb 28, 2017 8:37 am


User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1213
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: 2 versions of SMD-340, need help

Postby troed » Tue Feb 28, 2017 10:11 am

KLund1 wrote:1-2
5-13
14-15


Have you tried 4-5 instead of 5-13?

(Just making sure the drive uses the correct density)

But no, I think it's a long shot. I'm quite surprised with your findings.

/Troed

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1445
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: 2 versions of SMD-340, need help

Postby frank.lukas » Tue Feb 28, 2017 10:13 am

fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3138
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: 2 versions of SMD-340, need help

Postby ijor » Tue Feb 28, 2017 11:03 am

I would definitely try 4-5 instead of 5-13 as Troed suggested. I would also try grounding pin 2 as suggested in the other thread, and might be 2-3 instead of 1-2 as well.

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1213
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: 2 versions of SMD-340, need help

Postby troed » Tue Feb 28, 2017 5:16 pm

ijor wrote:I would also try grounding pin 2 as suggested in the other thread, and might be 2-3 instead of 1-2 as well.


Assuming all tests are in DD then GND to pint 2 will make the drive select DD with 1-2 (and 5-13) on the Epson 340s I have.

It would be very strange if they made a board revision where they inverted an input, but hey, we're still somewhat at a loss to explain what happens here so I agree. As a very long shot he could try 2-3 instead :)

/Troed

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 389
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: 2 versions of SMD-340, need help

Postby KLund1 » Tue Feb 28, 2017 7:43 pm

Thanks,
How to ground pin 2 of the data cable? The other thread has a link to a procedure but it is for the good 340 PCB, not the bad ones. SO I'm not sure where to solder a wire.
I did try the above jumper settings, but had no effect on both bad smd340's. I'd like to try them with data pin 2 to ground and see what happen.
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

Maeke
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 305
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:54 pm

Re: 2 versions of SMD-340, need help

Postby Maeke » Wed Mar 01, 2017 12:54 am

KLund1 wrote:Thanks,
How to ground pin 2 of the data cable? The other thread has a link to a procedure but it is for the good 340 PCB, not the bad ones. SO I'm not sure where to solder a wire.
I did try the above jumper settings, but had no effect on both bad smd340's. I'd like to try them with data pin 2 to ground and see what happen.


Whatever the pcb, the pin2 of the 34 pins connector remain the same in hd drives. So just solder on it's solder joint.

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 389
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: 2 versions of SMD-340, need help

Postby KLund1 » Wed Mar 01, 2017 2:23 am

Yes, I see pin 2's solder connection, but solder to what other end point on the PCB, please.
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

Maeke
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 305
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:54 pm

Re: 2 versions of SMD-340, need help

Postby Maeke » Wed Mar 01, 2017 3:25 pm

don't bother that, Troed's mod was to help the drive going in hd mod when the atari was able to handle it, you don't need it if you just want to ground the pin2.

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1213
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: 2 versions of SMD-340, need help

Postby troed » Wed Mar 01, 2017 5:52 pm

I think KLund1 is actually asking for where to find GND. While I would've myself used one of the points from the power connector, in this case it's much simpler. All _odd_ pins on the floppy interface are GND, so, you just need to connect pin 2 to pin 1 (opposite solder point).

And then jumper 5-13 of course for "external" density select.

/Troed

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 389
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: 2 versions of SMD-340, need help

Postby KLund1 » Thu Mar 02, 2017 12:49 am

Thanks, Just what I needed.
I did the connection for data pin 1-2, Jumper 5-13.
No change. I switch jumper all around to all combinations, no change. Very strange. I think I just got very bad luck in getting two smd-340's with head mis-alingments. I still got one good drive. I'll use that one.
Off to evil-bay they go. I'll put 'not for Atari' in the listing.
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

Maeke
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 305
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:54 pm

Re: 2 versions of SMD-340, need help

Postby Maeke » Thu Mar 02, 2017 1:02 am

just a question, where did you find those defective drives? Was it from the same place? If so it's possible that one of the drives was indeed misaligned and the owner tried to correct the issue, on the wrong drive.

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3138
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: 2 versions of SMD-340, need help

Postby ijor » Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:15 am

Two drives misaligned yet compatible one with the other? It's extremely unlikely unless done on purpose. Drive alignment is not like a jumper that has two positions. There are several alignments on a floppy drive, each one has multiple degrees and/or orientations.

User avatar
Bama
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 169
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2015 1:25 pm

Re: 2 versions of SMD-340, need help

Postby Bama » Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:38 am

KLund1 wrote:Thanks, Just what I needed.
I did the connection for data pin 1-2, Jumper 5-13.
No change. I switch jumper all around to all combinations, no change. .


For what its worth: today, I used the factory default jumper settings (except for DS0) when I attached my Epson 340, to an Elco HD adapter in a STFM, HD signal via Troed's mod. Working well so far.

:shrug:
BAMA

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 389
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: 2 versions of SMD-340, need help

Postby KLund1 » Thu Mar 02, 2017 5:13 am

I got one off ebay a little over a year ago. I got the other about 2 years ago.
I agree this same behavior from 2 drives from different places seems like a big coincidence. But the difference in the PCB seems to be the common factor between the 'good' 340 and the 'bad' 340's.
I tired of these drives and this particular 1040stf. Off to evilbay they will go. I put the good 340 in the 1040stf, and it works like normal.
If one of you wants to peruse this issue further with one of the bad 340's, PM me and we can work out some details.
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

Bikerbob
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am

Re: 2 versions of SMD-340, need help

Postby Bikerbob » Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:35 pm

I just purchased one from Ebay, it spins it seeks, but it cannot read. I bought this to replace my other SMD-340 that will spin and seek and read 1 side of a disk, I can get a directory listing and thats it.
Now trying to get my money back from seller, DOA drive. I am starting to think I just need to cut the case and put the sony 920 in.

James

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 389
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: 2 versions of SMD-340, need help

Postby KLund1 » Wed Dec 06, 2017 11:09 pm

I cut my losses and purchased one from Exxos. It costs a bit more, but you know that it will work correctly.
Getting FD off ebay is like rolling the dice in a crap shoot. You might get lucky, but chances are that you will not.
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

User avatar
Atari030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 539
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:14 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: 2 versions of SMD-340, need help

Postby Atari030 » Thu Dec 07, 2017 1:25 am

I think you'd be surprised. About 10 - 15 years ago I started pulling FDD's out of PC's I was scrapping at work. I have two boxes full of mixed Pana's, Mitsumi's, Sony's, Epsons..... I should be right till I fall off the perch, I figure. The majority have an external drive select jumper.


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests