520STfm with 20 bombs

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

spett
Atarian
Atarian

520STfm with 20 bombs

Postby spett » Mon Jan 09, 2017 9:32 pm

Hi all!

After reading alot of great information on this site I finaly decided to create a user account, well, because I need your help! :angel:

I got a 520STfm here which don't boot. 20 bomb instant after reset/power. Bougth this broken and it came with a 1 meg Xtra-RAM upgrade installed, this is now removed, all socketed chips are cleaned/resat but nothing have changed.
But then I tried crossing CAS0H and CAS0L resistor to swap HI/LOW ram banks, just as a test if it changed anything and then got a white/black scrambled screen! I therefore suspect a faulty RAM chip but then again I'm not an expert just a hobbyist..
Or is there more change needed to swap HI/LOW RAM banks?

I'm very happy for any suggestions/help/information bringing this back to life.
Any known faults to look for? I have oscilloscope, logic analyser, eeprom burner, etc etc... Just tell me where to probe :lol:

Arne
Captain Atari
Captain Atari

Re: 520STfm with 20 bombs

Postby Arne » Tue Jan 10, 2017 5:07 am

spett wrote:Or is there more change needed to swap HI/LOW RAM banks?

So you do have 2 banks with 512KByte each?
  • Get schematics (1040STFM) and Service manual (e.g. Download section of my homepage).
  • Read the section "Troubleshooting a dead unit" in the service manual.
  • Act accordingly
spett wrote:Any known faults to look for? I have oscilloscope, logic analyser, eeprom burner, etc etc... Just tell me where to probe :lol:

Good to know. :) You will need it!
Hardware projects & Shop @ http://atari.team-yankee.net

spett
Atarian
Atarian

Postby spett » Tue Jan 10, 2017 8:44 pm

Arne wrote:
spett wrote:Or is there more change needed to swap HI/LOW RAM banks?

So you do have 2 banks with 512KByte each?