Faulty Mouse Ports?

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

Valkyrie
Atarian
Atarian

Faulty Mouse Ports?

Postby Valkyrie » Tue May 11, 2004 2:31 pm

Hi there,

I'm new to Atari Forum so I'd better introduce myself briefly.

I'm 27, female, from Gibraltar and I've had my Atari 1040STE since I was 15. I recently got all the bits back together in the hopes of getting it working again.

It boots up fine and I can see the desktop on my TV. I had the original Genius mouse from years ago, but it would only move up and down, not sideways. This mouse broke completely when I unplugged it the other week, so I bought a brand new mouse on eBay which was in original box and never used. (So it should work, right?) I've just plugged in new mouse, and can't get the cursor to move at all. I tried ALT + Cursor keys and this didn't work either.

If its loose mouse connection, I can open it up no problem and touch the connections with a soldering iron, but why would this affect ALT + cursor keys?

Can anyone help me with this problem please? Thanks a lot :-)

Valkyrie
/|\ Atari 520STE (upgraded to 1040)

Greenious
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru

Re: Faulty Mouse Ports?

Postby Greenious » Tue May 11, 2004 7:22 pm

Valkyrie wrote:It boots up fine and I can see the desktop on my TV. I had the original Genius mouse from years ago, but it would only move up and down, not sideways. This mouse broke completely when I unplugged it the other week, so I bought a brand new mouse on eBay which was in original box and never used. (So it should work, right?) I've just plugged in new mouse, and can't get the cursor to move at all. I tried ALT + Cursor keys and this didn't work either.

If its loose mouse connection, I can open it up no problem and touch the connections with a soldering iron, but why would this affect ALT + cursor keys?