6 chip st TOS upgrade

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
soviet9922
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 7:06 pm

6 chip st TOS upgrade

Postby soviet9922 » Thu Dec 15, 2016 1:34 am

Hello i have a old STf and its´a 6 chip rom model have tos 1.0 like to upgrade it to 1.4.
Its possible to change the roms to eproms ? what eprom i should use ?.
I have seen guides but are for 2 roms STs.

Image
This is the board.

Thanks

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4358
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: 6 chip st TOS upgrade

Postby joska » Thu Dec 15, 2016 7:21 am

Atleast my own STM can be jumpered between 6 and 2 chip mode. I would assume that the same can be done with the STF.

You'd need 128Kb EPROMS, 27C010.

http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?t=16638
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 940
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: 6 chip st TOS upgrade

Postby czietz » Thu Dec 15, 2016 7:29 am

As far as I know, not all STs can be changed to 2 ROMs. In that case six 32Kx8 EPROMs (27C256) should work.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4358
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: 6 chip st TOS upgrade

Postby joska » Thu Dec 15, 2016 7:38 am

All ST's can be changed to 2 ROM's, but the amount of work involved may differ :)
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: 6 chip st TOS upgrade

Postby exxos » Thu Dec 15, 2016 8:31 am

Its not easy, but this is my solution. viewtopic.php?f=15&t=30868
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
soviet9922
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 7:06 pm

Re: 6 chip st TOS upgrade

Postby soviet9922 » Thu Dec 15, 2016 1:25 pm

czietz wrote:As far as I know, not all STs can be changed to 2 ROMs. In that case six 32Kx8 EPROMs (27C256) should work.

So i can just burn 6 27c256 and drop them in, don't need to do any kind of mods to the board ?

User avatar
soviet9922
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 7:06 pm

Re: 6 chip st TOS upgrade

Postby soviet9922 » Thu Dec 15, 2016 1:26 pm

exxos wrote:Its not easy, but this is my solution. http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=30868

It look very nice, but this ST its in very bad shape i don't want nothing to fancy just replace the TOS ROMs for EPROMs.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4358
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: 6 chip st TOS upgrade

Postby joska » Thu Dec 15, 2016 2:04 pm

soviet9922 wrote:So i can just burn 6 27c256 and drop them in, don't need to do any kind of mods to the board ?


Yes, atleast that's true in my STM. I would be surprised if the STF used different ROMs.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 940
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: 6 chip st TOS upgrade

Postby czietz » Thu Dec 15, 2016 5:47 pm

soviet9922 wrote:
czietz wrote:As far as I know, not all STs can be changed to 2 ROMs. In that case six 32Kx8 EPROMs (27C256) should work.

So i can just burn 6 27c256 and drop them in, don't need to do any kind of mods to the board ?


Yes, the pinout of Atari's 256kbit (32kByte x 8) ROMs matches the pinout of 27C256 EPROMs. The only thing you have to figure out is which EPROMs goes where.

User avatar
soviet9922
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 7:06 pm

Re: 6 chip st TOS upgrade

Postby soviet9922 » Thu Dec 15, 2016 7:24 pm

czietz wrote:
soviet9922 wrote:
czietz wrote:As far as I know, not all STs can be changed to 2 ROMs. In that case six 32Kx8 EPROMs (27C256) should work.

So i can just burn 6 27c256 and drop them in, don't need to do any kind of mods to the board ?


Yes, the pinout of Atari's 256kbit (32kByte x 8) ROMs matches the pinout of 27C256 EPROMs. The only thing you have to figure out is which EPROMs goes where.


Great :D i think i can manage that!.
Going to try EMUTOS just for the sake of it, the best tool to split it is PP's rom splitter for the st i suppose?.

User avatar
soviet9922
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 7:06 pm

Re: 6 chip st TOS upgrade

Postby soviet9922 » Sun Dec 18, 2016 12:31 am

Theres any place that show here HI-0 HI-1 HI-2 LO-0 LO-1 LO-2 should go ?

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4329
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: 6 chip st TOS upgrade

Postby DarkLord » Sun Dec 18, 2016 8:50 am

See if any of these pics help...

TOS 1.4 chipset-b.jpg


atarimegast2rev5_B.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1729
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: 6 chip st TOS upgrade

Postby frank.lukas » Sun Dec 18, 2016 9:00 am

soviet9922 wrote:Theres any place that show here HI-0 HI-1 HI-2 LO-0 LO-1 LO-2 should go ?


520 /1040ST old 520, 1040 (new) und Mega ST

U2-------------------U48 - U3 (HI-2) Adreßlage $FE0000 bis $FEFFFF
U3-------------------U59 - U6 (HI-1) Adreßlage $FD0000 bis $FDFFFF
U4-------------------U63 - U9 (HI-0) Adreßlage $FC0000 bis $FCFFFF
U5-------------------U53 - U4 (LO-2) Adreßlage $FE0000 bis $FEFFFF
U6-------------------U62 - U7 (LO-1) Adreßlage $FD0000 bis $FDFFFF
U7-------------------U67 - U10(LO-0) Adreßlage $FC0000 bis $FCFFFF
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
soviet9922
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 7:06 pm

Re: 6 chip st TOS upgrade

Postby soviet9922 » Sun Dec 18, 2016 4:10 pm

Thanks for the information, split the 192k 1.04 rom using PP´s split tool burned it and work great :D.
Tried to do the same using EmuTOS 192k rom but only got a black screen, i´m not sure why i cannot get EmuTOS to work :P.

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 940
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: 6 chip st TOS upgrade

Postby czietz » Sun Dec 18, 2016 4:21 pm

Which version of EmuTOS exactly? Fairly recent ones are in fact known to successfully boot on an STf.

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1729
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: 6 chip st TOS upgrade

Postby frank.lukas » Sun Dec 18, 2016 4:32 pm

Use the Romsplit.ttp to split EmuTOS ...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest