atari ste corrupts filesystem when write

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
soviet9922
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 7:06 pm

atari ste corrupts filesystem when write

Postby soviet9922 » Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:27 pm

Got finally my STE setup running, have a new board from exxos great board he do some superb job and have a bunch of his fixes for the dma issues.
I have tos 2.0 installed and 4 megs ram.
Now i have a ultrasatan installed.
Downloaded the pera putnik game pack image and write it to a sd card.
Can play games and test software nice and dandy, the trouble is that when i start to write to the sd card using software on the ste like open a c compiler and save my work or save my desktop etc, the file system corrupts almost after the first writes are issued.
I'm not sure why i have this problem and how it can be avoid?, the pera putnik image is the best or there other ways to format the sd card.

Thanks :D.

Maeke
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 311
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:54 pm

Re: atari ste corrupts filesystem when write

Postby Maeke » Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:59 pm

You say you have a new board from exxos, but do you still have the original psu and has it been recaped? If no to the second question, then a bad psu can give you corrupted write on hdd.

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: atari ste corrupts filesystem when write

Postby exxos » Fri Sep 23, 2016 9:31 pm

Its interesting in itself as the STE was used with my own ultrasatan without problems while it was being tested.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
Frank B
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1008
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:28 am
Location: Boston

Re: atari ste corrupts filesystem when write

Postby Frank B » Fri Sep 23, 2016 10:05 pm

soviet9922 wrote:Got finally my STE setup running, have a new board from exxos great board he do some superb job and have a bunch of his fixes for the dma issues.
I have tos 2.0 installed and 4 megs ram.
Now i have a ultrasatan installed.
Downloaded the pera putnik game pack image and write it to a sd card.
Can play games and test software nice and dandy, the trouble is that when i start to write to the sd card using software on the ste like open a c compiler and save my work or save my desktop etc, the file system corrupts almost after the first writes are issued.
I'm not sure why i have this problem and how it can be avoid?, the pera putnik image is the best or there other ways to format the sd card.

Thanks :D.


Which model of ultrasatan did you buy? Is it the Lotharec one?

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3783
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: atari ste corrupts filesystem when write

Postby ijor » Sat Sep 24, 2016 11:24 am

exxos wrote:Its interesting in itself as the STE was used with my own ultrasatan without problems while it was being tested.


Indeed. You used the whole STE itself, or just the motherboard?

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: atari ste corrupts filesystem when write

Postby exxos » Sat Sep 24, 2016 11:46 am

ijor wrote:
exxos wrote:Its interesting in itself as the STE was used with my own ultrasatan without problems while it was being tested.


Indeed. You used the whole STE itself, or just the motherboard?


Just the motherboard. All the stuff I used was otherwise my own stuff.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2978
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: atari ste corrupts filesystem when write

Postby AtariZoll » Sat Sep 24, 2016 11:53 am

Unreliable writing may be caused by PSU for UltraSatan or SD card. Even if it writes good with USB card reader.
Famous Schrodinger's cat hypothetical experiment says that cat is dead or alive until we open box and see condition of poor animal, which deserved better logic. Cat is always in some certain state - regardless from is observer able or not to see what the state is.

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: atari ste corrupts filesystem when write

Postby exxos » Sat Sep 24, 2016 12:06 pm

AtariZoll wrote:Unreliable writing may be caused by PSU for UltraSatan or SD card. Even if it writes good with USB card reader.


Yes exactly. People always quick to blame bad DMA chip when problem might not even be with machine itself.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

Maeke
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 311
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:54 pm

Re: atari ste corrupts filesystem when write

Postby Maeke » Sat Sep 24, 2016 11:42 pm

exxos wrote:
AtariZoll wrote:Unreliable writing may be caused by PSU for UltraSatan or SD card. Even if it writes good with USB card reader.


Yes exactly. People always quick to blame bad DMA chip when problem might not even be with machine itself.


Exactly what i said.

User avatar
soviet9922
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 7:06 pm

Re: atari ste corrupts filesystem when write

Postby soviet9922 » Mon Sep 26, 2016 5:30 pm

Yes i'am using the original power supply not a recaped one, the voltages seem to be right. Maybe using the image from pera putking is the culprit ?, gonna test using a external atx psu to see if i have problems from the atari one.
Thank you for your reply exxos what hard disk driver you use on your ultrasatan?.

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2978
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: atari ste corrupts filesystem when write

Postby AtariZoll » Mon Sep 26, 2016 5:56 pm

soviet9922 wrote:Yes i'am using the original power supply not a recaped one, the voltages seem to be right. Maybe using the image from pera putking is the culprit ?, gonna test using a external atx psu to see if i have problems from the atari one.
Thank you for your reply exxos what hard disk driver you use on your ultrasatan?.


Absolutely must be the culprit ! Who is that pera putking ? - king with lower case names ???
I guess this thread will be fun some time yet :mrgreen:
Famous Schrodinger's cat hypothetical experiment says that cat is dead or alive until we open box and see condition of poor animal, which deserved better logic. Cat is always in some certain state - regardless from is observer able or not to see what the state is.

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: atari ste corrupts filesystem when write

Postby exxos » Mon Sep 26, 2016 7:26 pm

soviet9922 wrote:Thank you for your reply exxos what hard disk driver you use on your ultrasatan?.


I've used HD9 and PP's driver.. depends what floppy I pickup from the pile first :) Likely I use PP's driver more...
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

Maeke
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 311
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:54 pm

Re: atari ste corrupts filesystem when write

Postby Maeke » Mon Sep 26, 2016 10:47 pm

soviet9922 wrote:Yes i'am using the original power supply not a recaped one, the voltages seem to be right. Maybe using the image from pera putking is the culprit ?, gonna test using a external atx psu to see if i have problems from the atari one.
Thank you for your reply exxos what hard disk driver you use on your ultrasatan?.

You probably won't see the problems with only a voltmeter (or multimeter) you need to see the form of your psus signals to verify they are stable, and you need to do it while the psu is in use because it won't act the same without the motherboard itself. look here http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/psu/index.htm

User avatar
soviet9922
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 7:06 pm

Re: atari ste corrupts filesystem when write

Postby soviet9922 » Tue Sep 27, 2016 5:04 pm

AtariZoll wrote:
soviet9922 wrote:Yes i'am using the original power supply not a recaped one, the voltages seem to be right. Maybe using the image from pera putking is the culprit ?, gonna test using a external atx psu to see if i have problems from the atari one.
Thank you for your reply exxos what hard disk driver you use on your ultrasatan?.


Absolutely must be the culprit ! Who is that pera putking ? - king with lower case names ???
I guess this thread will be fun some time yet :mrgreen:


He is King in a land far far away, where dragons still fly and elf's live in the forests, where Atari ACSI drivers born and live.... :angel:

User avatar
soviet9922
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 7:06 pm

Re: atari ste corrupts filesystem when write

Postby soviet9922 » Tue Sep 27, 2016 5:05 pm

Maeke wrote:
soviet9922 wrote:Yes i'am using the original power supply not a recaped one, the voltages seem to be right. Maybe using the image from pera putking is the culprit ?, gonna test using a external atx psu to see if i have problems from the atari one.
Thank you for your reply exxos what hard disk driver you use on your ultrasatan?.

You probably won't see the problems with only a voltmeter (or multimeter) you need to see the form of your psus signals to verify they are stable, and you need to do it while the psu is in use because it won't act the same without the motherboard itself. look here http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/psu/index.htm


I understand this, need to try using a new psu to verify. Gonna purchase a cap kit from Exxos then.

Maeke
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 311
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:54 pm

Re: atari ste corrupts filesystem when write

Postby Maeke » Tue Sep 27, 2016 8:19 pm

you could go directly for his brand new psu copyrighted exxos 2015, far better.

User avatar
soviet9922
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 7:06 pm

Re: atari ste corrupts filesystem when write

Postby soviet9922 » Wed Dec 07, 2016 2:13 am

Yes i have the idea to purchase a one from exxos but first like to run some tests be sure.
Build a nice cable from the Atari psu pinout to a molex 4 pin connector.
Now i´m running my STe from a brand new Cooler Master 500 watts psu.
But the issues persists, writing anything to the SD card cause corruption to the FS, like copy a folder write a file save desktop etc.
Tested 4 different microsd cards suing PP´s image and win32 disk imager.

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 824
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: atari ste corrupts filesystem when write

Postby 1st1 » Wed Dec 07, 2016 6:22 am

Does your STE have ST or STE DMA controller. ST DMA controller in STE corrupts harddisks.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4358
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: atari ste corrupts filesystem when write

Postby joska » Wed Dec 07, 2016 7:08 am

soviet9922 wrote:Tested 4 different microsd cards suing PP´s image and win32 disk imager.


Try to partition a card with AHDI and install the AHDI driver. If possible, try with another ACSI device, or try your UltraSatan on a different machine.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: atari ste corrupts filesystem when write

Postby exxos » Wed Dec 07, 2016 9:33 am

soviet9922 wrote:Yes i have the idea to purchase a one from exxos but first like to run some tests be sure.
Build a nice cable from the Atari psu pinout to a molex 4 pin connector.
Now i´m running my STe from a brand new Cooler Master 500 watts psu.
But the issues persists, writing anything to the SD card cause corruption to the FS, like copy a folder write a file save desktop etc.
Tested 4 different microsd cards suing PP´s image and win32 disk imager.


Its still odd you have these issues as I tested it all fine with my ultra satan and never failed once. Have you seen my conclusions on the DMA issues ? Stefan tried a diode in series with the 5V on the DMA and solved his problems.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
soviet9922
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 7:06 pm

Re: atari ste corrupts filesystem when write

Postby soviet9922 » Wed Dec 07, 2016 3:12 pm

exxos wrote:
soviet9922 wrote:Yes i have the idea to purchase a one from exxos but first like to run some tests be sure.
Build a nice cable from the Atari psu pinout to a molex 4 pin connector.
Now i´m running my STe from a brand new Cooler Master 500 watts psu.
But the issues persists, writing anything to the SD card cause corruption to the FS, like copy a folder write a file save desktop etc.
Tested 4 different microsd cards suing PP´s image and win32 disk imager.


Its still odd you have these issues as I tested it all fine with my ultra satan and never failed once. Have you seen my conclusions on the DMA issues ? Stefan tried a diode in series with the 5V on the DMA and solved his problems.


I have tested this Ultra Satan on my old trusty STf (have TOS 1.0 so have to softload TOS 1.04) and worked fine copy even big folders like the 1 meg and 2 meg games folders 5 or 6 times and have no issues using the same Cooler Master ATX PSU.

Now replaced the TOS roms on the STe board to TOS 2.0 and the issue persist also tried replacing the ram but don't seem to be the issue, run extensive ram tests and RAM seem fine anyway.

I have read your article on DMA Issues Exxos and found them very interesting its a big amount of work you have done there, I'm not sure how this diode modification is perform i don't recall to see it on your web page on what pin this diode must be soldered ?.

User avatar
soviet9922
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 7:06 pm

Re: atari ste corrupts filesystem when write

Postby soviet9922 » Wed Dec 07, 2016 3:18 pm

joska wrote:
soviet9922 wrote:Tested 4 different microsd cards suing PP´s image and win32 disk imager.


Try to partition a card with AHDI and install the AHDI driver. If possible, try with another ACSI device, or try your UltraSatan on a different machine.


Going to try AHDI as your suggested, i have tested this Ultra Satan on a STf using the same PSU and works fine even after very big file copys and deletes.

User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: atari ste corrupts filesystem when write

Postby exxos » Wed Dec 07, 2016 4:36 pm

soviet9922 wrote:
I have read your article on DMA Issues Exxos and found them very interesting its a big amount of work you have done there, I'm not sure how this diode modification is perform i don't recall to see it on your web page on what pin this diode must be soldered ?.


You just lift pin 40 of the DMA (5V pin) and solder a 4148 diode between the motherboard pad and the now lifted pin 40. The same mod was done on the MEGA ST with IMP DMA.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4358
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: atari ste corrupts filesystem when write

Postby joska » Wed Dec 07, 2016 4:56 pm

soviet9922 wrote:Going to try AHDI as your suggested, i have tested this Ultra Satan on a STf using the same PSU and works fine even after very big file copys and deletes.


And you tested this with the same image that fails on your STE? If so, then maybe we should accept that Atari engineers knew what they were doing when they stated that the DMA chip was faulty and should be replaced.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
soviet9922
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 7:06 pm

Re: atari ste corrupts filesystem when write

Postby soviet9922 » Wed Dec 07, 2016 6:07 pm

exxos wrote:
soviet9922 wrote:
I have read your article on DMA Issues Exxos and found them very interesting its a big amount of work you have done there, I'm not sure how this diode modification is perform i don't recall to see it on your web page on what pin this diode must be soldered ?.


You just lift pin 40 of the DMA (5V pin) and solder a 4148 diode between the motherboard pad and the now lifted pin 40. The same mod was done on the MEGA ST with IMP DMA.


I suppose in this orientation (diode) Board ->|- DMA ? .


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests