Monitor splitter?

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
EmpireAndrew
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 444
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 5:46 pm
Location: Texas, USA

Monitor splitter?

Postby EmpireAndrew » Tue Aug 30, 2016 2:07 am

Is there such a thing for the ST?
That plugs into the monitor port of the ST and gives you two monitor sockets so you can plug in two screens and get identical output on both?
1977 VCS Heavy Sixxer (Boxed)
1990 Atari 1040STE, 4MB, UltraSatan, TOS 2.06, TT Touch -> Atari SC1435 Colour CRT Monitor
1991 Atari TT030, 2/64MB, Int 8GB Gigafile SCSI2CF, TOS 3.06, CaTTamaran Accelerator -> Atari TTM195 19" Mono CRT Monitor
1993 Atari Falcon030, 14MB, Int 8GB HDD, TOS 4.04 -> Atari PTC1426 Color CRT Monitor
Amiga, Mac, DOS, SGI, Sun, NeXTStation, PDA's and more!

nukebloodaxe
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 10:33 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Monitor splitter?

Postby nukebloodaxe » Tue Aug 30, 2016 6:41 am

You might have luck by using an ST monitor to composite cable, and then using an RCA splitter like this one:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Lot10-3-GOLD-RCA-Y-Splitter-Female-Dual-MALE-Audio-Video-Adapter-Cable-Cord-SHdi-/291837993259?hash=item43f2e6612b:m:mqa6wXYVzty0L1BRABJrMsA

It's a quick and dirty approach, and the drive strength from the cable will be lower [split signal strength and all that] but it may work.

dibasber
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2016 10:21 am
Location: Nederland

Re: Monitor splitter?

Postby dibasber » Tue Aug 30, 2016 10:49 pm

i always have this used
it works perfect if switch to rgb or high res. the atari auto restart
but no identical output on both

Robber
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:41 pm
Location: Amsterdam Netherlands

Re: Monitor splitter?

Postby Robber » Thu Oct 06, 2016 11:22 pm

If you use 2 or more tft monitors with this:

Atari VGA 2.JPG


and this:

VGA Splitter.jpg


all from ebay, you're there.

But I guess it has to be lo res.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Robber
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 11:41 pm
Location: Amsterdam Netherlands

Re: Monitor splitter?

Postby Robber » Sun Oct 09, 2016 9:13 pm

And notice that there is a female input on the splitter and output on the adapter so you'll need a male/male gender changer or a regular male to male VGA cable. The most common of all VGA cables.

User avatar
EmpireAndrew
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 444
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 5:46 pm
Location: Texas, USA

Re: Monitor splitter?

Postby EmpireAndrew » Mon Oct 10, 2016 1:22 pm

That's cool, thanks!

What I need is a way of powering an Atari SC1435 monitor in low res, and having the output simultaneously going to my XRGB Framemeister so it can be captured correctly into my PC.

The Framemeister has to use the right type of SCART in cable, which I have, and the other end is naturally ST Monitor port type.
Obviously the Atati monitor is also ST Monitor port type.

So I need to split the ST monitor port to 2 ST monitor ports.
I don't know what effect having resistors on some pins in the Framemeister cable might have though?
1977 VCS Heavy Sixxer (Boxed)
1990 Atari 1040STE, 4MB, UltraSatan, TOS 2.06, TT Touch -> Atari SC1435 Colour CRT Monitor
1991 Atari TT030, 2/64MB, Int 8GB Gigafile SCSI2CF, TOS 3.06, CaTTamaran Accelerator -> Atari TTM195 19" Mono CRT Monitor
1993 Atari Falcon030, 14MB, Int 8GB HDD, TOS 4.04 -> Atari PTC1426 Color CRT Monitor
Amiga, Mac, DOS, SGI, Sun, NeXTStation, PDA's and more!

ZerONOP
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 5:40 am

Re: Monitor splitter?

Postby ZerONOP » Mon Jan 30, 2017 3:55 am

Wondering if anyone has happened on a solution for this, before I start working on my own solution. Splitting the signal from the ST to 2 ST monitors?

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4405
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Monitor splitter?

Postby joska » Mon Jan 30, 2017 8:47 am

I don't think this can be done without making some custom cables.

Personally I'd look for a colour/mono switchbox on eBay and modify it by simply wiring both outputs in parallel.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

ZerONOP
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 5:40 am

Re: Monitor splitter?

Postby ZerONOP » Sat Feb 18, 2017 3:52 pm

joska wrote:I don't think this can be done without making some custom cables.

Personally I'd look for a colour/mono switchbox on eBay and modify it by simply wiring both outputs in parallel.


Thank you for the recommendation joska. I will run the idea past a electrician friend, and see if I can come up with something. This would be nice to have to capture some drawings NeoChrome/Degas Elite and do time lapses of them for YouTube.


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests