New RAM testing program

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 444
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

New RAM testing program

Postby czietz » Sun Jul 10, 2016 4:25 pm

EDIT: Do not use version 0.1.7, it has a bug on 68030 CPUs. See below for newer versions of YAART RAM tester.

Hello,

it always bothered me that RAM test software for the Atari was mostly very simplistic in their test algorithms. There are much better ways to find (especially subtle) faults, which are for example used by Memtest86 on the PC. So I ported a selection of these tests to Atari. I humbly named it YAART, Yet Another Atari RAM Test, but I think it provides better test coverage that the usual RAM test software for Atari systems.

You will find YAART beta version v.0.1.7 attached to this post.

YAART comes in two flavors:

YAART.TOS only runs on ST-type machines (ST, STE, MegaST, MegaSTE), does direct hardware access and can thus test almost all RAM, including screen memory and -- to a lesser extent -- also memory already in use by TOS. However, I still recommend a clean boot from a floppy disk without drivers or AUTO-start programs.

YAARTTT.TOS should run on any Atari machine. It can test ST-RAM and Alternate RAM/TT-RAM, but only memory that is currently unused. So a clean boot is even more important here to maximize coverage.

After start, YAART/YAARTTT will repeatedly test memory and print the current iteration, the number of errors and the address of an error found. Press and hold ALT to terminate the program.

Also note that it's a beta version that may still suffer from bugs.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by czietz on Fri Dec 09, 2016 6:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby exxos » Sun Jul 10, 2016 8:32 pm

Awesome stuff! Thanks for coding this, I know it will be really useful for me!
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2333
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby spiny » Mon Jul 11, 2016 9:14 am

nice :)

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 444
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby czietz » Wed Jul 13, 2016 6:51 pm

New beta version v.0.1.8 fixes YAARTTT.TOS to avoid crashing on 68030 machines (TT, Falcon).
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1023
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby TheNameOfTheGame » Wed Jul 13, 2016 7:36 pm

Thanks!

MM41
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 79
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 2:36 pm
Location: France

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby MM41 » Sat Jul 16, 2016 5:46 pm

Thank you Czietz :D

User avatar
AtariCrypt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 354
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 5:04 pm
Location: Lancashire, England
Contact:

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby AtariCrypt » Sat Jul 16, 2016 5:59 pm

Brilliant - thank you Czietz :-)
AtariCrypt ... ST/e gaming https://ataricrypt.blogspot.com

Anzac
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 3:03 pm
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby Anzac » Thu Sep 08, 2016 1:33 pm

great stuff... thank you for doing this!

i´ll be sure to test and provide feedback.
Here i am, the Atari Avenger...
I will bring back Power without the price...
oh, well... not on this planet anymore... :(

User avatar
oissery77
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 11:19 am

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby oissery77 » Thu Sep 08, 2016 2:17 pm

Thanks for this tool Czietz. It will help me too.

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 444
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby czietz » Fri Dec 09, 2016 6:04 pm

New beta version 0.2.0 of YAART. Most notable new feature: A (semi-)hidden manual address entry (expert) mode in YAARTTT.TOS that allows you to test memory that is not registered with GEMDOS, e.g. on an add-on video card. See the included documentation for more info.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by czietz on Fri Dec 09, 2016 8:01 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
AtariCrypt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 354
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 5:04 pm
Location: Lancashire, England
Contact:

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby AtariCrypt » Fri Dec 09, 2016 6:29 pm

Brilliant, thank you :-)
AtariCrypt ... ST/e gaming https://ataricrypt.blogspot.com

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby exxos » Fri Dec 09, 2016 7:01 pm

czietz wrote:New beta version 0.2.0 of YAART. Most notable new feature: A (semi-)hidden manual address entry (expert) mode in YAARTTT.TOS that allows you to test memory that is not registered with GEMDOS, e.g. on an add-on video card. See the included documentation for more info.


Awesome, I really like this program :) :cheers: :cheers:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 444
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby czietz » Fri Dec 09, 2016 8:02 pm

To everyone who downloaded version 0.2.0 prior to this post: Please redownload, I accidentally added a version of YAART.TOS with debugging code to the archive. This has now been fixed. Sorry.

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby exxos » Fri Dec 09, 2016 10:08 pm

Can someone try running this program on a stock falcon ? Interested to see if anyone gets random write fails.. I just get 1 address fail once, after 5-15 test loops, but it only fails once.

So interested to see if anyone else sees this problem.. would need to leave tests running for 20-30 passes (with 14MB ) to be sure (could take a long time).

IMG_0635.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

atarifred
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2017 3:25 pm

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby atarifred » Sun Feb 05, 2017 4:01 pm

Hi.
I've a problem with a 1040 STF.
The 1Mb is composed of 32 chip.
It is possible to scan only the first 512Kb, and after the last 512kb ?
The banks are named like this in my computer :
U3 U4 U5 U6
U10 U11 U12 U13
U18 U19 U20 U21
U22 U23 U24 U25
U27 U28 U29 U30
U34 U35 U36 U37
U39 U40 U41 U42
U44 U45 U46 U47

There are no logic with the numbers written on the motherboard. The blue Chip are for the first 512Kb, and the red, the second bank of 512kb.
Is a way to test each chip (i think not), or a software to do ?
Is my stf could boot with a missed chip on the motherboard ?

To fix my problem, i bought on ebay 32 capacitors of 220nF to replace all next the chips. (waiting to receive it).
I've a 520STF working all the tests, i can remove a memory chip, solder an header, desolder one by one, each chip, and testing on the 520stf to find if one is dead... So if i'm not luncky, i can dessolder 32 chip to find the last dead :/

Or, better way, is the 1040stf should boot, if i remove R71 / R72 / R73 and let all the chip on the motherboard (like this i think my 1040 become a 520) and test only fist 512kb ?
If yes, if the 1040 boot with 512k, and test are ok, if i resolder R71/R72 / R73 and dessolder R62 / R63 / R64 will my atari boot could boot with 512kb, on the second bank ???

If i ask some technical question like this, it's because it's not an STE with a SIMM module :/ and evitate to desolder 32 chips who had 16 pads ... so 512 pins :/ with the capacitor... 32 * 2 (64 pins too), the resistances 6 * 2 (12 too). In fact i have to desolder 512 + 64 + 12 = 588 pads !!!

In YAART 1.8 i got errors in 0x046a50.
1040 STf + 4oGb IDE + RTC + TOS 4x + Gotek HxC
520 STf
1040 STe + Gotek HxC
520 STe + Gotek HxC

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 444
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby czietz » Mon May 01, 2017 8:46 am

New version 0.2.1 of YAART and YAARTTT RAM testers. You can now pause it after an error message (to better that message) by pressing and holding the SHIFT key.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby exxos » Thu May 18, 2017 5:53 pm

czietz wrote:New version 0.2.1 of YAART and YAARTTT RAM testers. You can now pause it after an error message (to better that message) by pressing and holding the SHIFT key.


Awesome, thanks for keeping it updated!
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

alienkidmj12
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 125
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 6:45 pm

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby alienkidmj12 » Tue Oct 10, 2017 6:38 pm

would be even nicer if i ran in a nice menu'd gem app :)

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4067
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby Dal » Tue Oct 10, 2017 6:51 pm

alienkidmj12 wrote:would be even nicer if i ran in a nice menu'd gem app :)


Surely the point is for it to have the minimal amount of RAM footprint?
TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, STacy 2, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 444
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: New RAM testing program

Postby czietz » Tue Oct 10, 2017 7:40 pm

There will definitely be no GEM app! Dal is totally right: the amount of memory used by YAART needs to be kept as small as possible.
Also I don't see the point: what would be the benefit of a GUI in this case?


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests