Gotek with HxC firmware questions

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5005
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Gotek with HxC firmware questions

Postby simonsunnyboy » Sun May 22, 2016 9:54 am

I have a few simple questions regarding the Gotek floppy emulator as it feels cheaper than original HxC devices.

a) Can I mount the thing inside a 1040 case without having to take it apart or adding prolonging cables?
b) Are the buttons accessible from the outside? From a outube video, I thing it is accessible through the floppy slot itself.
c) Does one of the buttons insert the AUTOBOOT.HFE on press?

If this works as described, I'll go for one.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

User avatar
crashman
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 191
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 2:23 am
Location: Vilanova i la Geltrú - Barcelona
Contact:

Re: Gotek with HxC firmware questions

Postby crashman » Sun May 22, 2016 10:16 am

Hi,

I've mounting Goteks on ST's and I have to say that some had the right length cable, some don't.
A bit of luck here.
The 520/1040 cases let you touch the buttons without touching anything, but, to be clear, if you put a packing ring on every spacer, it could gain a pair of mm, that will let you feel them better.
The buttons are for changing the slots, 15 slots avalaible at the time, if I recall correctly.
When you put the number, LCD, to 000, it loads the Autoboot.


Hope this helps.
I really like this Gotek's with HxC.

Regars,
260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STFM, 1040STE, 4160STE, STACY 2, MEGA ST2, MEGA ST4, MEGA STE, TT030, FALCON030, FALCON030 with Centurbo 2rB, Firebee
SH204, Megafile 30, Megafile 60, Megafile 44
SM124, SM125, SM146, SC1224, SC1435
Satandisk, Ultrasatan, HxC SD, Hxc SD Slim, NetUSBee, CosmosEX, Gotek HxC, MicroCosmos
2600VCS, LYNX, LYNX II, JAGUAR

User avatar
LaurentS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 267
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:41 pm

Re: Gotek with HxC firmware questions

Postby LaurentS » Sun May 22, 2016 10:47 am

Hi,

I've bought one recently for my 4096 Ste and I'm very happy with it.

I bought this model :
http://www.ebay.fr/itm/Gotek-HxC-pour-A ... SwBahVcH8s

The cable is just long enough, but I had to "cross" it (invert it).

The sailer is cool. He sells gotek in 2 colors : black or "Atari st" color (I've taken the second one). Just tell him the one you want when you buy one. For 3 euros, he can also add a microphone to simulate the sound of the floppy drive.

The gotek feets perfectly in my STE (I can send you photos if you want).
The 2 buttons can be pressed.
The HxC driver is easy to use and very cool. I've been able to play "Wings of death" recently after more than 20 years ;)

2 Last interresting thing :
- with the HxC software converter, you can convert pasti images into the .HFE internal gotek format and play to all the pasti
images.

- With a software called HxCMount (http://hxcmount.atomas.com/), you can use a big file partition as an hard disk (and use floppy disks images on the same usb key), but not both simultaneously (not HardDrive and Floppy disk at the same time).

Ask me if you want more informations.

Regards
Laurent

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5005
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Gotek with HxC firmware questions

Postby simonsunnyboy » Sun May 22, 2016 12:34 pm

LaurentS wrote:Hi,

I've bought one recently for my 4096 Ste and I'm very happy with it.

I bought this model :
http://www.ebay.fr/itm/Gotek-HxC-pour-A ... SwBahVcH8s

The cable is just long enough, but I had to "cross" it (invert it).


Flip on top is no problem, twisting lines within is a different matter.

<...>
The gotek feets perfectly in my STE (I can send you photos if you want).
The 2 buttons can be pressed.


Does this mean "press both buttons at the same time" to select the AUTOBOOT.HFE?


<...>
- with the HxC software converter, you can convert pasti images into the .HFE internal gotek format and play to all the pasti
images.


Does this also work with a classic HxC?

- With a software called HxCMount (http://hxcmount.atomas.com/), you can use a big file partition as an hard disk (and use floppy disks images on the same usb key), but not both simultaneously (not HardDrive and Floppy disk at the same time).


I know about that functionality but it is unnecessary for me as I have both a classic Satandisk and an Ultrasatan.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

User avatar
LaurentS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 267
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:41 pm

Re: Gotek with HxC firmware questions

Postby LaurentS » Sun May 22, 2016 1:09 pm

> Does this mean "press both buttons at the same time" to select the AUTOBOOT.HFE?

No. The Gotek boots automatically on it the first time (I mean when I swith on the computer).
In the interface, I can feed each of the 15 slots with 15 images.

Then, when I reset, the image 1 is loaded (I can select the image 2, 3, ..., 15) by pressing one button (+) or the other (-) and reset.
There's a LED indicator with 3 digits that tells me on which slot I am currently.

If I have to go from disk 1 to disk 2 (eg with wings of death by example), I press the button "+" one time to go to the next slot. And I press space to load the next disk.

> Does this also work with a classic HxC?

I don't know as I don't own one.

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5005
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Gotek with HxC firmware questions

Postby simonsunnyboy » Sat May 28, 2016 9:30 am

In this video, I see that there is simply a backward navigation back to image 0, and after a reset the HxC manager boots.

So one has 15 slots to fill and slot 0 is autoboot.hfe? Looks like a deal to me ;)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MTzDDrLOKkQ
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5005
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Gotek with HxC firmware questions

Postby simonsunnyboy » Sat Jun 04, 2016 3:06 pm

I got mine this week and gave it a test run. As I got a preflashed device, all I had to do was set theM0 jumper, plugin the cables and fill a usb key with the latest manager and files.

Slot 0 is the AUTOBOOT.HFE and one has to step back to it, the stepping between disks feels a bit fast for me, I had the feeling to miss images in my list but otherwise it works so great that I

a) plan to sell my Slim HxC as it will not fit it into my case without modding, padding and a custom cable
b) place the Gotek with HxC inside my 1040STE case ad keep my current SDcard HxC as a spare
c) buy another Gotek with HxC firmware as abackup and for the sake and maybe my unused 1040STFM
and finally
d) buy a Gotek without HxC firmware for my Falcon to use (there 1,4MB support is sufficient)

I can recommend the Gotek with the HxC firmware in any case for Atari ST use! :)
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2159
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Gotek with HxC firmware questions

Postby calimero » Sat Jun 04, 2016 4:47 pm

Thanx to all on informations!
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Stefanken and 4 guests