STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

chris2029
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2016 12:30 pm

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby chris2029 » Thu Aug 18, 2016 6:09 pm

I've assembled it and stuck the old fn8 in there, see attached that's all I got bro.
[smilie=greencolorz4_pdt_12.gif] [smilie=greencolorz4_pdt_11.gif] [smilie=greencolorz4_pdt_16.gif]

Maeke
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 301
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:54 pm

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby Maeke » Thu Aug 18, 2016 8:29 pm

chris2029 wrote:Ahh cause mine was missing from the pack then :(


A mischevious lady kitten has messed up a little Exxos's stocks (or is it just tiredness from him?), contact him via email from the shop (you have a link in the bottom of the shop) and ask Chris to send you the missing processor, you're not the first.

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby exxos » Thu Aug 18, 2016 8:56 pm

Maeke wrote:A mischevious lady kitten has messed up a little Exxos's stocks


Blame the cat, works for me [smilie=greencolorz4_pdt_01.gif]
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

chris2029
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2016 12:30 pm

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby chris2029 » Thu Aug 18, 2016 9:00 pm

Thanks guys. Swag Puss!
[smilie=greencolorz4_pdt_12.gif] [smilie=greencolorz4_pdt_11.gif] [smilie=greencolorz4_pdt_16.gif]

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby exxos » Wed Oct 12, 2016 9:16 pm

I'm working on a bulk batch of about 47 of these simple STE booster kits. The "hold up" is I am soldering the SMT parts for people and testing that they are working on a small test rig I built. The normal stuff like the PLCC socket and header pins still need to be soldered.

John Cove could likely be a candidate to assemble these fully for people if there is demand for that. Its not something I have time to do myself unfortunately.

Once I've caught up a bit I am going to look into a next gen version with IDE and fast-ram. Likely I have mentioned this before elsewhere many times. I have the fast-ram board designed, and I have got a prototype IDE board here waiting for assembly and testing. Then after that I can test at 32mhz.. there shouldn't be a problem with running IDE and the booster in the final design.

There is another hold up as I need to move away from the GAL's and moving over to a larger PLD with much more needed IO ports. Though this has been giving some headaches for a long time. I've not had chance to work on it with all the chaos lately. I have had something working with a mash up of wires but was unstable, so I have designed a small adapter PCB to plug into the STE booster so I can test the larger PLD on a known working design. Hopefully when I have time to test that out the IDE adding will be easy along with the fast-ram. I hope I can start to debug the larger PLD in the coming weeks.

As always, I can't say when the next gen will appear. I know IDE has been causing a lot of people headaches in general, so I won't be rushing this to market until I am happy its fully stable and compatible with the boosters. With other projects needing my attention, it could be next year before any more news on this. Though this project is being worked on and I will post news on this when I have something more concrete.
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/V1STE/index.htm
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby exxos » Tue Nov 01, 2016 7:14 pm

These boosters are starting to appear in stock finally!

Image

STORE LINK
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/#0059

Don't forget you will also need the Fast-ROM board such as this one..

Image

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/#0048
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby exxos » Tue Feb 14, 2017 3:01 pm

I still have a lot of these in stock. Sales from the current booster get invested in future designs.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby exxos » Mon Feb 27, 2017 2:08 pm

Had a booster in for testing so did a quick video of it running GB6.

4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

bishopco3
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:23 pm

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby bishopco3 » Mon Mar 20, 2017 10:44 am

I bought one for my STE recently, unfortunately it is not working yet. Previously I have installed the dual rom upgrade, that worked flawlessly. I have Installed the booster according to instructions, with the only difference of using a desoldering tool to remove the old cpu socket (came out perfectly without damage to the pads). When I turn on the machine, there is a white screen for a second, then it seems to go into a reset loop of sorts. This happens in 8Mhz or 32Mhz mode. I've checked all traces on the motherboard to make sure the soldering was good, and to see if there is a short, there doesn't seem to be any problems. I noticed that there seems to be a mod on the board, u211 has another IC soldered on top of it (perhaps this is an older revision of the main board, I noticed that the schematics has 3 ICs here). Also perhaps the power supply is too weak to hangle the extra powerdraw?(I am using the original). Here are some pics of the main board:
Image
Image
Is there a way to test the CPU to see where the problem could be?

Maeke
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 301
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:54 pm

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby Maeke » Mon Mar 20, 2017 2:52 pm

the booster uses less power than the original cpu.
Can you put photos of the solders for the tos switcher and the 32 Mhz?

BTW did you try contacting exxos via email, you have the needed link on his website, he can also troubleshoot the installation if you send him the ste.
Last edited by Maeke on Mon Mar 20, 2017 3:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1182
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby troed » Mon Mar 20, 2017 2:56 pm

An Atari ST that shows a white screen and then either hangs or crashes has _usually_ issues with reading TOS content. But it's of course only one of many things to test. I'd do continuity checking from every CPU pin to some other point on the motherboard, esp. to the TOS chips.

The u211 mod is standard STE stuff from Atari.

/Troed

bishopco3
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:23 pm

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby bishopco3 » Mon Mar 20, 2017 4:05 pm

Hmm, actually reading the tos may be the issue. I checked for continuity on ALL the cpu pins around the board, for this the schematic is a great help (the lettering is very hard to read unfortunately, for the life of me I could not find u210 anywhere). One of the TOS jumpers(yellow) fell out during the cpu soldering (originally there was no jumper, I added those a couple of months ago when I bought the Fast TOS board), perhaps I've put it back on the wrong pins. I'll check it tomorrow.
Sending to the UK my STE would cost more than the machine itself, I prefer to troubleshoot these problems myself.

Maeke
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 301
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:54 pm

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby Maeke » Mon Mar 20, 2017 4:22 pm

all three jumpers or connections must be on middle and right.

nukebloodaxe
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 10:33 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby nukebloodaxe » Tue Mar 21, 2017 8:51 am

bishopco3, scroll down exoss's assembly guide page for the CPU booster, you will see my guide in there as well as a link. I have some closeups of the soldering points for the various chips. Could you double-check everything is in order when you compare?

With the white screen, I have a non-modded STE lying around with the same behavior, it usually pops up after an issue loading the TOS ROMs. I would double-check that there are no shorts beneath the switcher, and also ensure the booster to TOS switcher link is on the right pin.

Can you also check the booster itself is not shorting against the sils? I know you have taped them, but the pins could still penetrate.

Maeke
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 301
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:54 pm

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby Maeke » Tue Mar 21, 2017 9:23 am

I was wondering too about the tos switcher connection, it seems in the right place, but it's hard to tell on which pin it is actually soldered on the photo, that's why i asked him for photos of the tos switcher and the 32Mhz connections.

bishopco3
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:23 pm

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby bishopco3 » Tue Mar 21, 2017 12:23 pm

I bought the fast tos switcher a few months earlier and installed it and used it without issues since. I only got the booster recently so this problem only cropped up once I installed it. I double checked again for all traces on the CPU and for shorts and haven't found any problems.

Maeke
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 301
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:54 pm

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby Maeke » Tue Mar 21, 2017 12:36 pm

we know the switcher works, we talk about the connection between the booster and the switcher. we can't see where the wire is soldered, that's why i ask for a photo of it.

bishopco3
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:23 pm

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby bishopco3 » Tue Mar 21, 2017 12:58 pm

Here is a slightly better image of the connection. I've double checked this a million times to make sure it is the right pin (6th from left).
20170317_124626_sm.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Maeke
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 301
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:54 pm

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby Maeke » Tue Mar 21, 2017 2:16 pm

can you take a better photo of w102 w103 and w104 please i think i've seen something odd.

bishopco3
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:23 pm

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby bishopco3 » Tue Mar 21, 2017 2:50 pm

Here is a different crop from the same photo:
20170317_124626_2sm.jpg

Like I said, I had the TOS switcher running for a couple of months now without any issues, here I haven't changed anything since then.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Maeke
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 301
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:54 pm

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby Maeke » Tue Mar 21, 2017 3:02 pm

yeah but you said a jumper fell, and if they aren't correctly sitted, the computer will fail to boot. This said what is this at the base of the black jumper? And why is there no pin on the 1 position? Basically the jumper is useless since it can have only one position, a direct solder would be the same.
Edit, ah now i see, you missed one pin when you resitted the yellow jumper, it's too far in the left.

nukebloodaxe
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 10:33 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby nukebloodaxe » Wed Mar 22, 2017 6:51 am

Okay the soldered pin positions appear to all be correct, the W103 connection is using a trace like mine, so all good there as well. Interesting arrangement for the jumpers, but they appear to be okay (one is leaning over, but they both appear to be connected.)

In the photos I cannot see the SIL facings, could you check the dot is facing towards pin one in each case?

Also, I note the board seems to be sloping upwards towards the left, this suggests the pins under the adaptor socket are interacting with the SILS on the motherboard itself. A bit of trimming of the pins under the adaptor should allow you to lay it much flatter, which will make shield fitment much easier. Now, given there is an angle on the component, could you do a connectivity test between the pins and the traces of the MB?

In terms of further testing, a diagnostic cartridge will bypass the TOS ROMS and allow you to see if the TOS ROMS are really at fault, or if there is a timing issue.

One final thing, the CE wire seems a bit long, it might not have an effect but see what happens if you shorten it by roughly a 1/4 to a 1/3; given it seems to be some form of interaction causing the fault.

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1182
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby troed » Wed Mar 22, 2017 8:57 pm

nukebloodaxe wrote:In terms of further testing, a diagnostic cartridge will bypass the TOS ROMS and allow you to see if the TOS ROMS are really at fault, or if there is a timing issue.


This is what I thought as well, until I was reminded of (and verified) that the check for the diagnostic magic, and jump to cartridge address space, is done by early TOS init ..

So, no. If TOS doesn't boot then a diagnostic cartridge won't either.

nukebloodaxe
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 10:33 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby nukebloodaxe » Thu Mar 23, 2017 5:04 am

troed wrote:
nukebloodaxe wrote:In terms of further testing, a diagnostic cartridge will bypass the TOS ROMS and allow you to see if the TOS ROMS are really at fault, or if there is a timing issue.


This is what I thought as well, until I was reminded of (and verified) that the check for the diagnostic magic, and jump to cartridge address space, is done by early TOS init ..

So, no. If TOS doesn't boot then a diagnostic cartridge won't either.


*scratches his head* Errrm, then how come my non-functional STE with the same described symptoms does?

Maeke
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 301
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:54 pm

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby Maeke » Thu Mar 23, 2017 11:12 am

nukebloodaxe wrote:
troed wrote:
nukebloodaxe wrote:In terms of further testing, a diagnostic cartridge will bypass the TOS ROMS and allow you to see if the TOS ROMS are really at fault, or if there is a timing issue.


This is what I thought as well, until I was reminded of (and verified) that the check for the diagnostic magic, and jump to cartridge address space, is done by early TOS init ..

So, no. If TOS doesn't boot then a diagnostic cartridge won't either.


*scratches his head* Errrm, then how come my non-functional STE with the same described symptoms does?

Depends on when it crashs during the boot process i think.


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests