STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 829
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby shoggoth » Tue May 17, 2016 9:21 pm

troed wrote:(I would be in the market for a booster if it was software controlled .. compiling at high speed, running code at normal speed. A mechanical switch would make it quite cumbersome I think)


@exxos: there may be some useful pins for this on the ACIAs. IIRC some Falcon boosters use the keyboard ACIA to switch speed.
Ain't no space like PeP-space.

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby exxos » Tue May 17, 2016 9:28 pm

troed wrote:
exxos wrote:Other than raster type demos, everything should work as before, just faster.


So, 99.99% of all demos will be more or less screwed up.

I like your work - but let's set the expectations at the right level :)

/Troed

(I would be in the market for a booster if it was software controlled .. compiling at high speed, running code at normal speed. A mechanical switch would make it quite cumbersome I think)


What expectations ? I've never hidden that raster demos will get messed up. Its all timing critical code, a faster CPU will mess it up as its running faster, no brainer really. Its why there is a "stock" speed switch to switch back to 8mhz should anyone need to.

If your looking to compile at higher speed then a switch is better, otherwise if it was software controlled you would likely have to switch using a desk accessory or something instead which is a lot more faffing about than simple switch a switch on the side. Though I compile in STEEM its why I asked Steven to add higher MHz speeds to get compiling times down.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby exxos » Tue May 17, 2016 9:32 pm

shoggoth wrote:@exxos: there may be some useful pins for this on the ACIAs. IIRC some Falcon boosters use the keyboard ACIA to switch speed.


I have already designed the next V2.x booster which maps 4 bits into RAM to switch various speeds on/off in software. Though that project will not go into production until all previous series of booster have sold.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1146
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby troed » Tue May 17, 2016 11:15 pm

exxos wrote:If your looking to compile at higher speed then a switch is better, otherwise if it was software controlled you would likely have to switch using a desk accessory or something instead which is a lot more faffing about than simple switch a switch on the side. Though I compile in STEEM its why I asked Steven to add higher MHz speeds to get compiling times down.


I write my own code ;) My code would switch the booster off at start, and on again when exiting. I.e, the least amount of hassle possible.

(No emulator runs my code .. :P)

/Troed

GadgetUK164
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 266
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 11:12 am

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby GadgetUK164 » Wed May 18, 2016 6:01 pm

Having had first hand experience of the 16Mhz booster, I can say that almost all of the games I've played work fine, there were only 2 that I had issues with - Operation Wolf, some timing issue related to the music I think, because if you switch it to 8Mhz, let the intro play and after the guy finishes parachuting you can switch to 16Mhz and it then works. On Cabal at 16Mhz I found the cursor isn't displayed. Obviously there's the raster stuff - only place I notice it is on intros done on PP's HDD hacks. Sure it will affect demos, but I personally have no interest in running demos at 16Mhz. The OS is where you really gain, and realistically most games don't run much faster due to the fixed shifter speed. Games that suffer from slow down at 8Mhz due to CPU (and not shifter) get a boost obviously. The other nice thing with these mods is you can switch between 8 and 16Mhz whilst its running. So if I run a game with raster usage and it looks wrong, I just switch it to 8Mhz and its then correct.

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby exxos » Thu May 19, 2016 12:31 pm

pre-ordering for the STE booster now in my store. People who pre-order get at a discount price.

The STE fast-rom kit is also needed, but sold separately as some people just want to take advantage of dual TOS.

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/store.htm#STEV1
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby exxos » Tue May 31, 2016 2:52 pm

Last week to grab this booster at its low pre-ordering price. Pre-ordering price finishes monday 6th june .
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

Maeke
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:54 pm

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby Maeke » Tue May 31, 2016 4:47 pm

exxos wrote:Last week to grab this booster at its low pre-ordering price. Pre-ordering price finishes monday 6th june .
Too bad, i won't have money until the end of the pre-order, but i already decided not to grab the v1 since it is not compatible with my ide card.

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby exxos » Tue May 31, 2016 5:33 pm

Maeke wrote:Too bad, i won't have money until the end of the pre-order, but i already decided not to grab the v1 since it is not compatible with my ide card.


News to me. I've ran all my boosters so far with Alan's IDE kit without problems.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

Maeke
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:54 pm

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby Maeke » Tue May 31, 2016 8:30 pm

exxos wrote:
Maeke wrote:Too bad, i won't have money until the end of the pre-order, but i already decided not to grab the v1 since it is not compatible with my ide card.


News to me. I've ran all my boosters so far with Alan's IDE kit without problems.

It's not alanh's card.

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby exxos » Tue May 31, 2016 9:19 pm

Maeke wrote:
exxos wrote:
Maeke wrote:Too bad, i won't have money until the end of the pre-order, but i already decided not to grab the v1 since it is not compatible with my ide card.


News to me. I've ran all my boosters so far with Alan's IDE kit without problems.

It's not alanh's card.


The booster doesn't touch anything on the ST bus anyway, so its unlikely to ever cause any problems. As to why someone else's IDE doesn't work, I can't really say.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

Maeke
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:54 pm

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby Maeke » Tue May 31, 2016 10:42 pm

exxos wrote:
Maeke wrote:
exxos wrote:
News to me. I've ran all my boosters so far with Alan's IDE kit without problems.

It's not alanh's card.


The booster doesn't touch anything on the ST bus anyway, so its unlikely to ever cause any problems. As to why someone else's IDE doesn't work, I can't really say.

What concerns me is that it is seated on the cpu socket, so the card would have to work at 32 Mhz too.
Remember, i showed you this card on facebook, i am Thibaut Guillet.

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby exxos » Tue May 31, 2016 11:02 pm

Maeke wrote:What concerns me is that it is seated on the cpu socket, so the card would have to work at 32 Mhz too.
Remember, i showed you this card on facebook, i am Thibaut Guillet.


If its already been talked about before then no use going over old ground. In anycase, the booster should always (probably) be fitted ontop of any other upgrades. Though that isn't possible as no upgrades have even been designed with fitting in with my stuff. Like I said before, there are external hard drives anyway. Clutter the CPU socket with a booster, external hard drive = no problem.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

Maeke
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:54 pm

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby Maeke » Tue May 31, 2016 11:28 pm

exxos wrote:
Maeke wrote:What concerns me is that it is seated on the cpu socket, so the card would have to work at 32 Mhz too.
Remember, i showed you this card on facebook, i am Thibaut Guillet.


If its already been talked about before then no use going over old ground. In anycase, the booster should always (probably) be fitted ontop of any other upgrades. Though that isn't possible as no upgrades have even been designed with fitting in with my stuff. Like I said before, there are external hard drives anyway. Clutter the CPU socket with a booster, external hard drive = no problem.

In fact there is a problem, i'm too poor to change now from internal to external.

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby exxos » Fri Jun 10, 2016 9:33 am

Guide done for removing the PLCC socket for those who may struggle with de-soldering :)

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/removal/
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1146
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby troed » Fri Jun 10, 2016 10:22 am

Thanks exxos - that's a really neat guide.

/Troed

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1062
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby qq1975b » Fri Jun 10, 2016 7:56 pm

Thank you. Very well explained...my fear almost disappeared..... :lol:
Trying to learn...

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby exxos » Fri Jun 10, 2016 8:43 pm

qq1975b wrote:Thank you. Very well explained...my fear almost disappeared..... :lol:


What can I do to reduce your fear that last few % ;)
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

User avatar
Greenious
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1160
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:39 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby Greenious » Fri Jun 10, 2016 8:59 pm

Yes, good guide.

I will be selling yellow and pink pins in a neat kit later. :mrgreen:

Nah, seriously though, pink and yellow in not necessary, blue and green works aswell, but white... :angel:

Regarding removing ICs, I use kitchenware....

For regular DIP socket ICs, I've found that a not too wide, dull knife that you have bent into an L where you stick one end under the chip and then wiggle it side to side, lifting each side up a little bit with each wiggle, is the best removal tool.

An old fork, where you remove all fingers but one (the thinnest, and you might need to grind it down further), the very end of the finger you bend into a suitable J-bend (the trick is to get the hook in the 'perfect' shape, it needs to be bent past the L-shape, but still not more than you can get it down the corner hole and get under the IC, which might need some trial and error), but the stainless steel used is usually strong enough to handle the load involved. Once inserted into the hole in the corner of the plcc, the hook shape should give leverage against the bottom of the socket and force the chip up enough that it almost pops by itself. I use 2 in combination for best effect.

I do have an PLCC extractor, but I have bad experience with them, the first chip I ever removed with one flew across the room, since then I have improved my technique, but I don't like them.
Updated my guides as of june 28th, 2016. Check'em out and feedback!
viewtopic.php?t=5040

User avatar
Greenious
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1160
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:39 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby Greenious » Fri Jun 10, 2016 9:00 pm

exxos wrote:
qq1975b wrote:Thank you. Very well explained...my fear almost disappeared..... :lol:


What can I do to reduce your fear that last few % ;)


Valium. And a good bottle of scotch usually removes the fear from anyone. :wink:
Updated my guides as of june 28th, 2016. Check'em out and feedback!
viewtopic.php?t=5040

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby exxos » Fri Jun 10, 2016 9:17 pm

Greenious wrote:Yes, good guide.

I will be selling yellow and pink pins in a neat kit later. :mrgreen:

Nah, seriously though, pink and yellow in not necessary, blue and green works aswell, but white... :angel:


Now don't go confusing people by firing all sorts of random colours at them! :lol:

Greenious wrote:Valium. And a good bottle of scotch usually removes the fear from anyone. :wink:


:cheers: Apple bite vokda is the only thing I really like. Had some chilling for a couple of weeks, so should be about ready now :)
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

MM41
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 2:36 pm
Location: France

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby MM41 » Sat Jun 11, 2016 2:29 pm

Thank you Exxos for this guide :thumbs:

qazuio
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 3:33 pm

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby qazuio » Sat Jun 11, 2016 5:28 pm

Sorry if this is a silly question, but would it have been easier to make the booster with a male plcc plug, would reduce the need to desolder and risk damaging pcb traces?
It would then just be a matter of removing the old plcc chip and plugging in (and securing?) the booster.
David

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby exxos » Sat Jun 11, 2016 8:06 pm

qazuio wrote:Sorry if this is a silly question, but would it have been easier to make the booster with a male plcc plug, would reduce the need to desolder and risk damaging pcb traces?
It would then just be a matter of removing the old plcc chip and plugging in (and securing?) the booster.
David



It has been asked a lot of times. Though yes and no. The cost of the adapter isn't exactly cheap and hard to find. I was looking into solutions but I dont have time at the moment. If people are happy to pay double price for a plug in version then it can be done.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator

qazuio
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 3:33 pm

Re: STE BOOSTER V1 32MHZ & FAST-TOS

Postby qazuio » Sat Jun 11, 2016 8:57 pm

Yeah, fair enough, $10+ for these plcc male plugs unless you are ordering thousands of units + extra labour. Next logical workaround for me would be to bend the pins on the Atari plcc (as per your guide) though up to 180° (double sided solder atari pcb) and line up your pcb to these pins for an fairly straightforward solder into additional pcb. I see now that this would not be possible though due to the layout of your booster, no matter.
For a 32Mhz the way you have designed the upgrade is well worth it:-)


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests