Mega ST Matrix M110 graphics card - what monitors can be used with it?

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

Chandler
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1230
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 12:15 am

Mega ST Matrix M110 graphics card - what monitors can be used with it?

Postby Chandler » Fri Apr 22, 2016 10:41 am

I have this Mega ST graphics card, never used or tested it as I have no idea what monitors it could be used with

can anyone help? :)

there are 2 ports, both 9 pin D type connections, one male and one female

Image

Image

Image

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1664
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Mega ST Matrix M110 graphics card - what monitors can be used with it?

Postby frank.lukas » Fri Apr 22, 2016 11:44 am

The Card is an ECL Graphic Card 1280x960 Pixel mono and has a VGA Out for Color but you must have a other GAL and the RAMDAC for the Color Option.

You can use the ECL Converter from Alan. The Card need a external PowerSupply (from the original ECL Monitor) with -8,5Volt. Which is a bit more complicated ...

-> http://forum.atari-home.de/index.php?to ... #msg202656

my Atari ECL Viking Card -> http://forum.atari-home.de/index.php?to ... #msg202122
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
alektronic
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 1:10 pm

Re: Mega ST Matrix M110 graphics card - what monitors can be used with it?

Postby alektronic » Sat Apr 23, 2016 2:20 pm

Spooky timing - I have one of these in the Mega ST I rescued, and I was about to post a query along the same lines.

Sadly, from what I read it looks like it might be too expensive and tricky for me to get this up and running. 1280x960 high-res on a modern monitor would be very handy, though :(

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1077
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: Mega ST Matrix M110 graphics card - what monitors can be used with it?

Postby qq1975b » Sat Apr 23, 2016 5:17 pm

frank.lukas wrote:The Card is an ECL Graphic Card 1280x960 Pixel mono and has a VGA Out for Color but you must have a other GAL and the RAMDAC for the Color Option.

You can use the ECL Converter from Alan. The Card need a external PowerSupply (from the original ECL Monitor) with -8,5Volt. Which is a bit more complicated ...

-> http://forum.atari-home.de/index.php?to ... #msg202656

my Atari ECL Viking Card -> http://forum.atari-home.de/index.php?to ... #msg202122


Hi Frank,

Which GAL, please? Is anywhere the JED file?
I have this card too and I have got two different DACs but I didn't know about replacing a GAL. I think this card only makes sense now if you can use the VGA mode (female port?)

Thank you
Trying to learn...

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1664
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Mega ST Matrix M110 graphics card - what monitors can be used with it?

Postby frank.lukas » Sat Apr 23, 2016 6:42 pm

The VGA mode is the mode is quite modest/poor. I think 640x480 /16 Colour. Look into the manual ...

The GAL chips from Matrix are have all copy protection, so no JED File !
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1077
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: Mega ST Matrix M110 graphics card - what monitors can be used with it?

Postby qq1975b » Sat Apr 23, 2016 7:46 pm

:( so no possibility to upgrade mine then. 640x480 with 16 colours is good enough. To have a good ecl image quality isn't easy too.
Trying to learn...

rcamp48
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2018 8:03 am

Re: Mega ST Matrix M110 graphics card - what monitors can be used with it?

Postby rcamp48 » Sun Feb 10, 2019 11:48 am

Funny you should mention that , inside my Mega ST that I just received is a Viking ECL card, and an ICD 16 Mhz Booster , I assume mods have been made for both to work together. Russ


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests