Falcon 15KHz (TV, RGB) capable flatscreen monitors

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
calimero
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1973
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Falcon 15KHz (TV, RGB) capable flatscreen monitors

Postby calimero » Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:46 pm

Faucon2001 wrote:Do you think this could be improved using the GBS 8220? I have not seen any usage with the Falcon.

I had GBS 8220: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pKfnsqwW9WY

and I asked on forum what can be done with this jerkying and Simbo gave me instructions: viewtopic.php?t=17153&start=125#p221079

Faucon2001 wrote:For the following NVRAM parameter :TV, NTSC, 80 col, 16 colors
Newdesk.inf set to overscan, 768x480 desk resolution
The monitor is set on : 640x240 H 15,6 Khz V 59,4 hz
The image is more stable, but hardly readable as pixels are missing.

yes, small font (8px) and small letters are completely unreadable coz pixel missing horizontal.

Faucon2001 wrote:What soft do you use to set your NVRAM? I never saw it. Where could I find it?

Hare http://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/in ... er=/SYSTEM
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 633
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: Falcon 15KHz (TV, RGB) capable flatscreen monitors

Postby Faucon2001 » Wed Jan 27, 2016 12:34 am

calimero wrote: Simbo gave me instructions: viewtopic.php?t=17153&start=125#p221079
:lol:


Thanks to both, I'll give a try
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

User avatar
belzrebuth
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 5:02 am

Re: Falcon 15KHz (TV, RGB) capable flatscreen monitors

Postby belzrebuth » Fri Jan 29, 2016 4:24 pm

I got the same monitor (1970nxp) and I get the same vertical lines missing problem with my amiga 1200.
Any updates on this?!
It's really annoying because it's *almost* there so it should just be a matter of settings to make it work..
The problem seems to lie in the overscan settings.

User avatar
calimero
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1973
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Falcon 15KHz (TV, RGB) capable flatscreen monitors

Postby calimero » Fri Jan 29, 2016 4:33 pm

belzrebuth wrote:I got the same monitor (1970nxp) and I get the same vertical lines missing problem with my amiga 1200.
Any updates on this?!
It's really annoying because it's *almost* there so it should just be a matter of settings to make it work..
The problem seems to lie in the overscan settings.

you talk about interlace mode?
This monitor does not support proper interlace mode - it simple, on same vertical line (same pixels), draw one frame odd and another even line from interlaced picture. It is how monitor works, you can not change this.
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

User avatar
belzrebuth
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 5:02 am

Re: Falcon 15KHz (TV, RGB) capable flatscreen monitors

Postby belzrebuth » Fri Jan 29, 2016 4:51 pm

Interlaced modes don't work properly.
I'm talking about hi res non interlaced at 640x240 or 256 or 512.
The bottom of the screen does not show whole at overscan.
The lower rectangles are cut at about 3/4.
I'll post some photos later when I get home.
It similar to the problem you post at the first page with your a500.

User avatar
calimero
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1973
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Falcon 15KHz (TV, RGB) capable flatscreen monitors

Postby calimero » Fri Jan 29, 2016 5:56 pm

ah, yes... "The bottom of the screen does not show whole at overscan." this is another problem (separate from bad interlacing...)

I am not sure how this could be solved. Internal logic of monitor decide what resolution to use depending of input signal - if Amiga could produce slice different signal maybe Nec would use some other resolution and display image properly? (my Amiga currently does not have permanent setup on my table so I can not experimenting :()

btw did you try both, PAL and NTSC signals (resolutions)?
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

User avatar
belzrebuth
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 5:02 am

Re: Falcon 15KHz (TV, RGB) capable flatscreen monitors

Postby belzrebuth » Fri Jan 29, 2016 8:12 pm

My 1200 is European so I thought that it only supports PAL but I'll check again and post back.

Here is a not so good photo of what I get:

https://www.dropbox.com/home/Camera%20U ... .48.57.jpg

Workbench stuff works fine but applications are cut off when in full screen.

User avatar
belzrebuth
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 5:02 am

Re: Falcon 15KHz (TV, RGB) capable flatscreen monitors

Postby belzrebuth » Fri Jan 29, 2016 8:16 pm

Ηmm,I'm not sure where I can change PAL to NTSC..

But I don't think there will be a difference.

Maybe using some kind of workbench replacement could solve the issue?

It's a shame because I just bought this monitor for my 1200 specifically only to find out that it isn't really flawless as I thought it could be..

User avatar
Estrayk
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 113
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 2:52 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Falcon 15KHz (TV, RGB) capable flatscreen monitors

Postby Estrayk » Wed Mar 22, 2017 7:14 pm

Hello, Anyone have test BENQ BL912 or BENQ BL702A Monitors in Falcon 15Khz PAL modes? The Amiga community uses them in Amiga native PAL and seems them works perfectly.
・Falcon 030+FPU 14mb CosmosEX・Atari MegaSTE 4Mb CosmosEX・Atari STe 4Mb GotekHxC+Satan・Amiga A600 Vampire V2・Amiga A1200 030/50・MIST・

User avatar
calimero
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1973
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Falcon 15KHz (TV, RGB) capable flatscreen monitors

Postby calimero » Wed Mar 22, 2017 7:31 pm

Estrayk wrote:Hello, Anyone have test BENQ BL912 or BENQ BL702A Monitors in Falcon 15Khz PAL modes? The Amiga community uses them in Amiga native PAL and seems them works perfectly.


http://www.atari-wiki.com/index.php/Main_Page is currently down :( but there are infos about monitors...
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

Maeke
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 287
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:54 pm

Re: Falcon 15KHz (TV, RGB) capable flatscreen monitors

Postby Maeke » Wed Mar 22, 2017 8:06 pm

calimero wrote:
Estrayk wrote:Hello, Anyone have test BENQ BL912 or BENQ BL702A Monitors in Falcon 15Khz PAL modes? The Amiga community uses them in Amiga native PAL and seems them works perfectly.


http://www.atari-wiki.com/index.php/Main_Page is currently down :( but there are infos about monitors...


It's not down,it's a bug, and all the pages are affected, the datas are still here, just look the source, but the bug prevent them to be displayed.
proof with the monitors page: http://www.atari-wiki.com/index.php/Flat_Panel_Displays

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 642
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Falcon 15KHz (TV, RGB) capable flatscreen monitors

Postby leech » Tue May 09, 2017 7:45 am

Estrayk wrote:Hello, Anyone have test BENQ BL912 or BENQ BL702A Monitors in Falcon 15Khz PAL modes? The Amiga community uses them in Amiga native PAL and seems them works perfectly.


I have a BL912, and it works great on my TT030 and 1040STe. Haven't tried the Falcon on it, I will mod the vga cable I have and see how well it works.


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests