IDE Interface for TT 030

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
Cyprian
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1464
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: IDE Interface for TT 030

Postby Cyprian » Fri Aug 14, 2015 9:16 am

AtariZoll wrote:And byte-swapped mode should be standard right from start - from simple reason: TOS supports FAT16 with Intel byte order. Unfortunately, it resulted in speed loss because need for SW byte swap when attaching DOS partitioned disks (while there is another byte swap in GEMDOS :D ) .

yep, byte-swaping is a problem on 68000 machines, but TT/Falcon easily deal with that due to barrel shift in 68030
Jaugar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Aranym / Steem / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2978
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: IDE Interface for TT 030

Postby AtariZoll » Fri Aug 14, 2015 9:43 am

Cyprian wrote:
AtariZoll wrote:And byte-swapped mode should be standard right from start - from simple reason: TOS supports FAT16 with Intel byte order. Unfortunately, it resulted in speed loss because need for SW byte swap when attaching DOS partitioned disks (while there is another byte swap in GEMDOS :D ) .

yep, byte-swaping is a problem on 68000 machines, but TT/Falcon easily deal with that due to barrel shift in 68030


That is true that barrel shifter is much faster than shift in 68000, but still, need for SW swap halves IDE transfer speed on Falcon On ST, STE it gives 1/4 speed . Blitter can be used for byte swap too, but it has no byte-swap function, so some source reread must be used, what means that can not read straight from IDE with swap.
Famous Schrodinger's cat hypothetical experiment says that cat is dead or alive until we open box and see condition of poor animal, which deserved better logic. Cat is always in some certain state - regardless from is observer able or not to see what the state is.

pakman
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:22 pm
Location: Hildesheim, Germany

Re: IDE Interface for TT 030

Postby pakman » Fri Aug 14, 2015 4:31 pm

Arne wrote:Last year I talked to Uwe Seimet and he stated that he does not need the INT line on a ST.
Did you already talk to Uwe about this feature?

I know, polling the Alternate Status Register will do the job.
But I was looking for the fastest way to get the status..

Arne wrote:So you can finalise the running bus-cycle and start a new bus-cycle while the latches still hold the data-lines to the IDE port?!?!

Yep.

Arne wrote:You might want to take a look at the 74HCT646. Its a octal bus driver with latches (for both directions).
A bit more expensive than a combi of '541/'573 but would make layout a bit easier.

I know. But layout was no big issue at all. And the 646 was not saving space, since the DIL version is using a package 15mm wide. And I didn't want to use SMD to keep the assembly easier.

AtariZoll wrote:I was thinking about same years ago. But IDE autoboot in TOS uses mode with IRQ active.

TOS is even using CHS mode. It is time to create a patch..

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2978
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: IDE Interface for TT 030

Postby AtariZoll » Fri Aug 14, 2015 4:37 pm

pakman wrote:TOS is even using CHS mode. It is time to create a patch..


That's not relevant in fact, because all what TOS does is loading IDE disk MBR - after that all is on driver. So, yes for patch, but only for twist :D
Famous Schrodinger's cat hypothetical experiment says that cat is dead or alive until we open box and see condition of poor animal, which deserved better logic. Cat is always in some certain state - regardless from is observer able or not to see what the state is.

pakman
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:22 pm
Location: Hildesheim, Germany

Re: IDE Interface for TT 030

Postby pakman » Fri Aug 14, 2015 9:40 pm

AtariZoll wrote:That's not relevant in fact, because all what TOS does is loading IDE disk MBR - after that all is on driver. So, yes for patch, but only for twist :D

Yes, you are right, TOS is reading (and executing) the root sector only.
But once the driver is loaded, does it also replace XBIOS 42/43 DMAread/write?
If not, and if any program is using DMAread/write, then we are back with the TOS internal routines..

arf
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 9:56 pm
Location: Germany

Re: IDE Interface for TT 030

Postby arf » Fri Sep 04, 2015 7:46 pm

pakman wrote:
AtariZoll wrote:That's not relevant in fact, because all what TOS does is loading IDE disk MBR - after that all is on driver. So, yes for patch, but only for twist :D

Yes, you are right, TOS is reading (and executing) the root sector only.
But once the driver is loaded, does it also replace XBIOS 42/43 DMAread/write?
If not, and if any program is using DMAread/write, then we are back with the TOS internal routines..


Which application software does use DMAread/write? I’d say with the possible exception "music software" they all just use Fopen() and so on, how it should be.

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2978
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: IDE Interface for TT 030

Postby AtariZoll » Fri Sep 04, 2015 8:44 pm

I can not say about is any SW using XBIOS 42/43 R/W functions. Usual way is to use RWABS if want direct sector access. And that goes via installed hard disk driver. My SW for video playback or ingame DMA audio music using own direct IDE or ACSI access.
Famous Schrodinger's cat hypothetical experiment says that cat is dead or alive until we open box and see condition of poor animal, which deserved better logic. Cat is always in some certain state - regardless from is observer able or not to see what the state is.

User avatar
SoundDoctor
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 287
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 7:24 pm

Re: IDE Interface for TT 030

Postby SoundDoctor » Mon Dec 07, 2015 9:07 pm

Is this IDE interface project still live? I'd like one of these if and when they become available.
TT030 4mb/16mb/1Gb, Coco. Falcon 030 Stock 14mb (Lynxman), 1Gb CF. Falcon 030 Stock 14mb (Atari) 170mb IDE. Mega 1 (mash up labelled Mega 4) 4mb (Frontier XtraRam w/ SIPPs) ICD ADSpeed ST OverScan. Mega 4 (currently dead), Mega 2, 520 STe (SIPPs), 520 STFM.

pakman
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:22 pm
Location: Hildesheim, Germany

Re: IDE Interface for TT 030

Postby pakman » Mon Dec 07, 2015 11:35 pm

SoundDoctor wrote:Is this IDE interface project still live?

Of cause!
Development is finished.
TOS 3.06 patch for IDE dual boot (both regular and twisted) is available.
qq1975b is using this interface since long..

TXG/MNX
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 129
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 10:05 am

Re: IDE Interface for TT 030

Postby TXG/MNX » Tue Dec 08, 2015 11:37 am

Where or where can it be bought ?

User avatar
SoundDoctor
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 287
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 7:24 pm

Re: IDE Interface for TT 030

Postby SoundDoctor » Sat Dec 12, 2015 1:37 am

TXG/MNX wrote:Where or where can it be bought ?


What he said ^^^^^^
TT030 4mb/16mb/1Gb, Coco. Falcon 030 Stock 14mb (Lynxman), 1Gb CF. Falcon 030 Stock 14mb (Atari) 170mb IDE. Mega 1 (mash up labelled Mega 4) 4mb (Frontier XtraRam w/ SIPPs) ICD ADSpeed ST OverScan. Mega 4 (currently dead), Mega 2, 520 STe (SIPPs), 520 STFM.

pakman
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:22 pm
Location: Hildesheim, Germany

Re: IDE Interface for TT 030

Postby pakman » Sat Dec 12, 2015 11:05 pm

TXG/MNX wrote:Where or where can it be bought ?

There is no concrete plan yet for any kind of mass production.

I have material for 2 more interfaces (PCB, ICs, connectors etc.), so I can sell these 2 at least.
Please send a PM in case you are interested.

User avatar
bladeomega
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 11:38 pm

Re: IDE Interface for TT 030

Postby bladeomega » Sun Feb 07, 2016 10:54 am

Hello pakman, looks great. All programs run smothly?

pakman
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:22 pm
Location: Hildesheim, Germany

Re: IDE Interface for TT 030

Postby pakman » Mon Feb 08, 2016 10:05 pm

bladeomega wrote:All programs run smothly?

Yes.

User avatar
edingacic
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 5:16 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: IDE Interface for TT 030

Postby edingacic » Fri Feb 23, 2018 3:06 am

what speed do you get ?

User avatar
edingacic
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 5:16 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: IDE Interface for TT 030

Postby edingacic » Fri Feb 23, 2018 3:14 am

on my TT030 with cosmosEX i messured 1500kb/sec for Rwabs transfer rate on translated USB stick and on old SD card around 1060kb/sec. I need to get faster SD card to test again.


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests