68020 booster

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

rpineau
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 511
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 6:39 am
Location: California / USA
Contact:

Re: 68020 booster

Postby rpineau » Mon May 30, 2016 2:39 am

Probably because I didn't think about it :) .. and also because most of the people I know who worked with PLL spent their time complaining about it :)
Now if you have good PLL references we can look into it.
There might also be an issue with the MegaSTE that switch between 8 and 16 MHz at which point the PLL input clock would also switch.. this can be an issue.
With a set oscillator you have less to worry about.
But we're always open to suggestions.
Rodolphe
Falcon + AB040 + Eclipse PCI + ATI Rage VGA card + NE2000 Ethernec + HxC Floppy Emulator
MegaSTE 4MB + CosmosEx / 1040 STF for hardware dev
http://www.rti-zone.org/atari.php

User avatar
Arne
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 443
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 10:01 am

Re: 68020 booster

Postby Arne » Mon May 30, 2016 5:00 am

Good point. I totally forgot about clock switching on the MSTE. That will probably mess up the clock during switching.
Image

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1620
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: 68020 booster

Postby frank.lukas » Mon May 30, 2016 6:09 am

I Love to see a 68020 Speeder card with Fastram for the Atari ST ...
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

rpineau
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 511
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 6:39 am
Location: California / USA
Contact:

Re: 68020 booster

Postby rpineau » Mon May 30, 2016 7:42 am

Once we have a working one for STE/MSTE we will make one for STF/ Mega ST. We started with what we had.. I have a MSTE an Juliusz has a STE and a MSTE.
As for the FastRam, we plan on making an add-on card with RAM on it (either SRAM or Dram+controller).... in the future.
We want to have something working before trying to add a bunch of thing to the project.

Rodolphe
Falcon + AB040 + Eclipse PCI + ATI Rage VGA card + NE2000 Ethernec + HxC Floppy Emulator
MegaSTE 4MB + CosmosEx / 1040 STF for hardware dev
http://www.rti-zone.org/atari.php

User avatar
Greenious
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1239
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:39 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: 68020 booster

Postby Greenious » Sun Jun 05, 2016 3:44 pm

rpineau wrote:Sort of.
As you can see on the picture above it uses standard pins on a normal pitch with all the 68020 signals.
I can publish the pinout but this might evolve.
IT has 2 connectors, one 56 pins at the top and one 40 pin t the bottom.
But I'm open to suggestion if you have better ideas. The advantage of this expansion is that it's cheap.
Rodolphe


If I may make a suggestion, if it is possible, try to follow the same pinout the F030 is using. After all, it is the closest thing to a "standard" that we got.
Updated my guides as of june 28th, 2016. Check'em out and feedback!
viewtopic.php?t=5040

rpineau
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 511
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 6:39 am
Location: California / USA
Contact:

Re: 68020 booster

Postby rpineau » Sun Jun 05, 2016 6:29 pm

the Falcon bus is only a 68K bus, not a fur 68030 bus so not very suitable for 68020.
I also tried to make the bus signal distributed in a way that makes it easier to route it.
I appreciate your suggestion but I don't see the point of using a similar pinout as card can't be compatible.
Falcon + AB040 + Eclipse PCI + ATI Rage VGA card + NE2000 Ethernec + HxC Floppy Emulator
MegaSTE 4MB + CosmosEx / 1040 STF for hardware dev
http://www.rti-zone.org/atari.php

rj1
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2015 8:01 pm

Re: 68020 booster

Postby rj1 » Thu Sep 01, 2016 9:56 pm

We finally have now a working simple 16MHz card in Mega STE, after we switched to Xilinx CPLD.
The card works fine with blitter enabled.
It has its own oscillator clock so it's running asynchronous from Mega STE.
Next step is try to increase the frequency and later add a fast ROM to it (it will be placed on the same PCB as 020).

User avatar
jvas
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 447
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 4:30 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: 68020 booster

Postby jvas » Fri Sep 02, 2016 6:32 am

Great news! Thanks for keeping up informed!

rj1
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2015 8:01 pm

Re: 68020 booster

Postby rj1 » Sat Sep 03, 2016 6:03 am

This is how it looks now, TOS ROMs not there yet 8)

Image

User avatar
jvas
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 447
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 4:30 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: 68020 booster

Postby jvas » Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:24 pm

Can't wait to have on in my hands :)

rj1
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2015 8:01 pm

Re: 68020 booster

Postby rj1 » Sat Sep 17, 2016 7:11 pm

It's progressing - the STE prototype in a MSTE machine (because I have issues with DMA in my STE...) now works at 25MHz and the next goal is 32MHz.

User avatar
jvas
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 447
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 4:30 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: 68020 booster

Postby jvas » Sun Sep 18, 2016 11:44 am

Good news indeed! Thanks for keeping us updated!

rj1
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2015 8:01 pm

Re: 68020 booster

Postby rj1 » Fri Sep 23, 2016 5:53 pm

Good news again - thanks to Rodolphe's review of our code, we now have stable 35MHz operation.
We tried 030 through an adapter, but that doesn't seem to work - it freezes after the memory test.

rj1
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2015 8:01 pm

Re: 68020 booster

Postby rj1 » Sun Oct 09, 2016 9:32 pm

Below results for 32MHz 68020 STE.

STE32.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4249
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: 68020 booster

Postby DarkLord » Mon Oct 10, 2016 3:34 am

Looks pretty dang good from here. The hard work is paying off.

Congratulations!
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

LuigiThirty
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 12:20 am

Re: 68020 booster

Postby LuigiThirty » Mon Oct 10, 2016 3:48 am

Awesome!

rj1
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2015 8:01 pm

Re: 68020 booster

Postby rj1 » Mon Oct 10, 2016 8:07 am

Thanks :)

There are still some issues on STE to fix, where it's not 100% stable, but I'm working on it.
We cross-check in 2 MSTE machines and 1 STE.
I have plans to do an adapter board so I can also check in Mega ST.

rpineau
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 511
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 6:39 am
Location: California / USA
Contact:

Re: 68020 booster

Postby rpineau » Sat Oct 15, 2016 9:33 pm

Here is the MegaSTE version of the board :)
68020_2.jpg

68020_1.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Falcon + AB040 + Eclipse PCI + ATI Rage VGA card + NE2000 Ethernec + HxC Floppy Emulator
MegaSTE 4MB + CosmosEx / 1040 STF for hardware dev
http://www.rti-zone.org/atari.php

User avatar
jvas
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 447
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 4:30 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: 68020 booster

Postby jvas » Sun Oct 16, 2016 12:20 pm

Definitely want one! :)

rpineau
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 511
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 6:39 am
Location: California / USA
Contact:

Re: 68020 booster

Postby rpineau » Wed Oct 19, 2016 12:08 am

So as we made good progress I started routing a Mega ST version and a STFM version.
The MegaST version did route properly without to many issues (took a few tries). It has the same expansion bus as the MegaSTE and STE version.

The STFM version is more problematic because of the space constraint. I'm routing a board for this type of mother board :
http://www.atari-wiki.com/images/7/76/S ... _Rev_C.jpg
http://www.atari-wiki.com/index.php/Fil ... sh2fit.jpg
You get the idea.

Now the issue is of course space, not just around the board but also on top. As we have an expansion bus.. it makes it almost impossible to fit in the original case (and will make it impossible to put a card on it). So.. should we remove the expansion bus for STFM ?
I need some input. I'll print the board on paper and lay it down in the STFM I have for testing so that people can see what I'm talking about :).

Rodolphe
Falcon + AB040 + Eclipse PCI + ATI Rage VGA card + NE2000 Ethernec + HxC Floppy Emulator
MegaSTE 4MB + CosmosEx / 1040 STF for hardware dev
http://www.rti-zone.org/atari.php

User avatar
jvas
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 447
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 4:30 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: 68020 booster

Postby jvas » Wed Oct 19, 2016 7:04 am

Or you can use some kind of inter-connection board that helps to displace your board to a better place (hope you get what I mean).

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4249
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: 68020 booster

Postby DarkLord » Wed Oct 19, 2016 2:14 pm

I think I do. I used a ribbon cable to move the internal P/S on my STacy from the middle
to the rear battery compartment, just so I'd have room for the Pak 68/3 accelerator.

Something along those lines? Moving horizontal instead of vertical in the ST's smaller
space?
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

rpineau
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 511
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 6:39 am
Location: California / USA
Contact:

Re: 68020 booster

Postby rpineau » Wed Oct 19, 2016 2:34 pm

Hum.. So flat ribbon cable from 68000 socket to .. somewhere in the ST. Which mean making a small board for the CPU socket and a 64 pin connector on the 68020 board. I need to check if 64 pin headers are easy to find (or anything with at least 64 pins).
Then we need to see of that works as there will be more signal noise issues... I'll see what I can come up with.
We need to figure out where to put it in the ST after that.
Rodolphe
Falcon + AB040 + Eclipse PCI + ATI Rage VGA card + NE2000 Ethernec + HxC Floppy Emulator
MegaSTE 4MB + CosmosEx / 1040 STF for hardware dev
http://www.rti-zone.org/atari.php

User avatar
jvas
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 447
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 4:30 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: 68020 booster

Postby jvas » Wed Oct 19, 2016 3:41 pm

I think, with a pcb, you could get better signals, but not as flexible as ribbon cable. Something like the CTEX for the CT60

http://nature.atari.org/Pics/IMG_0619.JPG (the white board)

rpineau
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 511
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 6:39 am
Location: California / USA
Contact:

Re: 68020 booster

Postby rpineau » Wed Oct 19, 2016 4:30 pm

I agree but PCB can be expensive. And when you see the STFM board, knowing that we need space around AND on top of the board, where would we put the 68020 card and how to we get there with a relocation PCB ?
I'm open to suggestion, drawing, pictures,....
Falcon + AB040 + Eclipse PCI + ATI Rage VGA card + NE2000 Ethernec + HxC Floppy Emulator
MegaSTE 4MB + CosmosEx / 1040 STF for hardware dev
http://www.rti-zone.org/atari.php


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests