New board: MonSTer

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby alanh » Mon Dec 14, 2015 8:59 pm

What about EmuTOS 0.9.4 ? Maybe 0.9.5 is broken ?
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1801
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby frank.lukas » Mon Dec 14, 2015 9:09 pm

I try 0.94 ...

It will also not work. Can EmuTOS start from 0xFC0000 or from 0xE00000 ?
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby alanh » Mon Dec 14, 2015 9:13 pm

The 192K images are set to boot from 0xFC0000 and the 256k images boot from 0xE00000.

Maybe the images are corrupt ?
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby alanh » Mon Dec 14, 2015 9:14 pm

Which ones are you using ?
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1801
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby frank.lukas » Mon Dec 14, 2015 9:21 pm

192k Version from 0.95 and 0.94 ...

I try the Ram Version first to see that is works.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4443
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby joska » Mon Dec 14, 2015 9:34 pm

EmuTOS is working fine on my STM. Have tried both 192kb (fc0000) and 256kb (e00000) versions.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1801
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby frank.lukas » Mon Dec 14, 2015 9:51 pm

For me it will not work, I do not know why ?
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4443
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby joska » Tue Dec 15, 2015 7:25 am

frank.lukas wrote:For me it will not work, I do not know why ?


Have you tried to download the image(s) again? And have you tried the 256kb version?
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
grobda
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 2:04 pm

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby grobda » Tue Dec 15, 2015 9:06 am

I also have issues with emutos 9.5 256k. it will work but only after booting to atari tos (whichever) then changing jumper while still powered on (crashing machine) and doing a warm reset; then emutos boots. probably not a recommended action ;p

from cold boot emutos results in white screen and no boot.

tried on 1040stf 520stfm and 4mb STFM mobos with same results.

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby alanh » Tue Dec 15, 2015 9:35 am

Have you reported to EmuTOS folks ? or tried 0.9.4 ?
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1801
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby frank.lukas » Tue Dec 15, 2015 10:11 am

joska wrote:
frank.lukas wrote:For me it will not work, I do not know why ?


Have you tried to download the image(s) again? And have you tried the 256kb version?


Yes.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby alanh » Tue Dec 15, 2015 10:56 am

Did the RAM version work ?

And if not, did it work even without the MonSTer ?
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1801
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby frank.lukas » Tue Dec 15, 2015 12:01 pm

The Ram / Bootfloppy Version 0.95 works.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby alanh » Tue Dec 15, 2015 12:16 pm

Looks like you could have the same problem as grobda, i.e. EmuTOS not initializing something correctly from a coldboot.

The MonSTer doesn't treat TOS 1.x/2.x any differently from EmuTOS 192k/256k, so it's got to be a problem in EmuTOS.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1801
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby frank.lukas » Tue Dec 15, 2015 1:50 pm

My Monitor says (ST to VGA cable) 640x200 H:15,7kHz V: 59,9Hz and via RGB cable there is a white screen, no boot nothing ...
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1801
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby frank.lukas » Wed Dec 16, 2015 6:48 pm

As Test I burn EmuTOS 0.95 on six 32kB Eproms and it works fine in an another Mega ST4 Mainboard ...
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby alanh » Wed Dec 16, 2015 6:52 pm

Might be IDE detection in EmuTOS ? The white screen means that EmuTOS initialized the shifter, so it's partially working.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1801
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby frank.lukas » Wed Dec 16, 2015 7:25 pm

... good to know, but that brings me not further.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby alanh » Wed Dec 16, 2015 8:11 pm

What about putting the MonSTer in your MegaST4 with the FLASH disabled to see if it boots ?
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby alanh » Wed Dec 16, 2015 8:19 pm

Also, how long do you leave it for. Maybe it's timeout is long for IDE. See if leaving the machine a little longer helps.

Or disconnecting any IDE devices too.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1801
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby frank.lukas » Wed Dec 16, 2015 10:21 pm

EmuTOS is be done/finished for me bacause it do not run with my ET4000 Card an NVDI, no longer interesting ...
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
piku
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 191
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:17 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Contact:

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby piku » Sun Dec 27, 2015 3:35 am

Does anyone else have issues with 3/4 bombs? I get address errors and illegal instructions now and again. It's consistent but unexpected. lzhshell is very unreliable now but used to work perfectly. A different lharc.ttp version works fine. The most significant thing I've found is that eiffelcf.app does not work. Does the eiffel configurator work for anyone else? This is with Tos 2.06 with or without alt ram configured.
piku http://www.atari-source.org http://rpmint.com/
CT60 Falcon - Dead Firebee - Some others ;)

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby alanh » Sun Dec 27, 2015 9:30 am

EiffelCF is compiled for 68030 from Didier. Only works on the Falcon. I have a version compiled for 68000.

As for LZHSHELL. Do you have ALT-RAM enabled ? Maybe it has problems with ALT-RAM ?
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

User avatar
piku
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 191
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:17 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Contact:

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby piku » Sun Dec 27, 2015 2:46 pm

Alan, do you have that posted for download anywhere? I really need that as my colon key is producing a 4 for some reason and I have to fix it somehow. I tried flashing the eiffel v1.10.hex with the version on Lyndon's site but it's still not working properly (for a US keyboard anyway).

I also have the problem with stzip and it happens with or without alt ram enabled. For instance I start extracting the easymint zip and it gets an address error and the address is 0. If I use the command line unzip.ttp it is working fine. Perhaps it is an old version of stzip but it's interesting that both the gem version of lzhshell and stzip seem to have the same issues. aFTP also slows down and eventually stops on large files while litchi works fine. These may be issues with monster or maybe not... I'm still trying to figure all that out.
piku http://www.atari-source.org http://rpmint.com/
CT60 Falcon - Dead Firebee - Some others ;)

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby alanh » Sun Dec 27, 2015 10:51 pm

Download the 68000 version from....

http://www.atarikit.co.uk/eiffel/eiffel.zip

As for your program issues. Have you removed the old TOS ROMs ?

Is this on a MegaSTE or just ST/STE ?
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests