New board: MonSTer

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

dbsys
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 384
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 6:11 am
Location: Germany

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby dbsys » Mon Jun 22, 2015 4:49 pm

alanh wrote:
dbsys wrote:Great work.

Do I get it right, that I will need to remove the 68000 CPU in my 1040STE and plug in this board instead?

Will MonSTer come with a new 68000 CPU?


No CPU with the MonSTer.

With the pricier board, you unplug the CPU from your STE and pop it into the MonSTer board, then the MonSTer plugs into your old CPU location.


OK, got it.

I wonder how the existing CPU can be removed - without damaging the socket of course.

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1731
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby frank.lukas » Mon Jun 22, 2015 4:55 pm

This tool will do the job ...

Image
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

dbsys
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 384
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 6:11 am
Location: Germany

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby dbsys » Mon Jun 22, 2015 7:42 pm

frank.lukas wrote:This tool will do the job ...

Image


OK, looks expensive.

Where do I get one?

User avatar
Kirkman
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 2:29 am

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby Kirkman » Tue Jun 23, 2015 2:35 am

dbsys wrote:OK, looks expensive.

Where do I get one?


I have no idea if they are any good, but Amazon lists a couple PLCC extractors for around $2 - $6.

User avatar
Fujiyama
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 640
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Norway

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby Fujiyama » Tue Jun 23, 2015 2:46 am

I've used a tiny screwdriver to pop up the CPU. As far as I remember there's room in two of the socket's corners for this. Just wiggle a little bit on one side and continue wiggling a little bit from the other side so as not to bend the pins.
Mega STe | MonSTer (Mega STe) with dual IDE-CF memory card adapter | STe | SM-144 |NEC Multisync 1990SXi | IDE doubler | ST_ESCC | RSVE | ICD Link II | Link '97 | HD floppy drive/AJAX | HD floppy module | Minolta PCMCIA card-drive | Realtime Clock module | Discovery cartridge | Unitor-2 | Export | Combiner | Steady Eye | Human Touch | Unicorn USB

Are you a good person?

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1077
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby qq1975b » Tue Jun 23, 2015 5:01 am

dbsys wrote:
frank.lukas wrote:This tool will do the job ...



OK, looks expensive.

Where do I get one?


It is not: http://www.ebay.de/sch/i.html?_from=R40 ... or&_sop=15
Trying to learn...

Lumpy01
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 28, 2015 5:40 pm

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby Lumpy01 » Tue Jun 23, 2015 10:37 am

Hi Alan,

I'm in for a PLCC STE board. I'd PM you but apparently I have to post 3 times on this site before being granted that right.

Lump
1040STE(TOS 2.06, 4MB), 800(Incognito), 800XL(32-in-1), 1200XL(32-in-1), 130XE, 2600 Heavy 6, 2600 Light 6(S-video), 5200 2 port, 5200 4 port(S-video), 7800(S-video), ColecoVision(S-Video), Intellivision II

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1383
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby alanh » Tue Jun 23, 2015 11:36 am

And with that post it's 3. You are granted :D
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

User avatar
MCal27
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon May 06, 2013 3:05 pm
Location: Stoke on Trent. UK
Contact:

New board: MonSTer

Postby MCal27 » Wed Jun 24, 2015 7:18 am

I want the £80 version for ste plz. Will pm shortly


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

dbsys
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 384
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 6:11 am
Location: Germany

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby dbsys » Wed Jun 24, 2015 7:34 am

Are there any kind of instructions available on how to upgrade an extsing 1040STE with MonSTEr? I would like to take a look.

What will be price for the needed parts?

How can I place an order?

Sorry if I missed anythiung here, but I checked the following website and could not find any answers to my questions above:
http://www.atarikit.co.uk/

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1383
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby alanh » Wed Jun 24, 2015 7:41 am

dbsys wrote:Are there any kind of instructions available on how to upgrade an extsing 1040STE with MonSTEr? I would like to take a look.

What will be price for the needed parts?

How can I place an order?

Sorry if I missed anythiung here, but I checked the following website and could not find any answers to my questions above:
http://www.atarikit.co.uk/


There are no instructions at this time, but it's pretty simple....

For 80GBP version....

1. Remove CPU with CPU extraction tool. You can get the extraction tool from ebay for a few $$$
2. Pop the CPU into the socket on the monSTEr board.
3. Pop the monSTEr board into the old CPU location.
4. Connect the interrupt cable to DMA port.
5. Remove your old TOS ROMs.
6. Attach your IDE devices.
7. Boot up, and install the software, play around.

For 50GBP version.

1. Insert monSTEr into the PLCC pins with the pin headers. Can be a little harder for people to align pins and possibly damages the PLCC socket if you have a bad installation.
2. Follow step 4 and beyond above.

I've not yet updated the MonSTer web page.

Alan.
Last edited by alanh on Thu Jul 16, 2015 2:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1383
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby alanh » Thu Jun 25, 2015 8:20 pm

O.k. I'm getting enquiries about the board directly via the webpage.

So instead of PM'ing me, I'll set up the order page at

http://www.atarikit.co.uk/monster/monster.html

this weekend, so it'll end up on first come first served for those to order.

So keep an eye on the webpage folks.

I'll post back here when I've updated the site.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1383
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby alanh » Sun Jun 28, 2015 7:31 pm

Ordering is open.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

User avatar
ely
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 11:50 am

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby ely » Mon Jun 29, 2015 7:43 am

Alan, how does the installation work for an STFM, does it involve any soldering or is it similar to how you described for STEs? Also what is meant by the 'and for ST it's best to get a socket' on the order form? Thanks
Last edited by ely on Mon Jun 29, 2015 8:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

dbsys
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 384
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 6:11 am
Location: Germany

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby dbsys » Mon Jun 29, 2015 8:27 am

alanh wrote:
dbsys wrote:Are there any kind of instructions available on how to upgrade an extsing 1040STE with MonSTEr? I would like to take a look.

What will be price for the needed parts?

How can I place an order?

Sorry if I missed anythiung here, but I checked the following website and could not find any answers to my questions above:
http://www.atarikit.co.uk/


There are no instructions at this time, but it's pretty simple....

For 80GBP version....

1. Remove CPU with CPU extraction tool. You can get the extraction tool from ebay for a few $$$
2. Pop the CPU into the socket on the monSTEr board.
3. Pop the monSTEr board into the old CPU location.
4. Connect the interrupt cable to DMA port.
5. Attach your IDE devices.
6. Boot up, and install the software, play around.

For 50GBP version.

1. Insert monSTEr into the PLCC pins with the pin headers. Can be a little harder for people to align pins and possibly damages the PLCC socket if you have a bad installation.
2. Follow step 4 and beyond above.

I've not yet updated the MonSTer web page.

Alan.


Hi Alan,

thank you for providing instructions.

Do you also have pictures taken from the solder side of both board versions? I would like to take a look.

Thanks!

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1383
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby alanh » Mon Jun 29, 2015 9:29 am

Yes, I'll do that this week.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

dbsys
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 384
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 6:11 am
Location: Germany

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby dbsys » Mon Jun 29, 2015 7:48 pm

alanh wrote:Yes, I'll do that this week.



Thanks. I will appreciate that.

dbsys
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 384
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 6:11 am
Location: Germany

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby dbsys » Mon Jun 29, 2015 7:57 pm

I just opened up my 1040STE to look for the location of the MonSTEr board.

As for the proper orientation of the MonSTEr board, is it exactly corresponding to the orientation of the CPU?

Meaning, the IDE connector will face to the back panel of the STE and the jumper block will go to the right (towards the floppy drive)?

Will MonSTEr fit properly underneath the metal shielding of the 1040STE?


1040STE CPU.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1383
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby alanh » Mon Jun 29, 2015 9:41 pm

Yes, that's the correct orientation and it does fit under the metal sheilding.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1383
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby alanh » Sun Jul 05, 2015 9:11 pm

I've updated the picture for the STE pin version on the website.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

dbsys
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 384
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 6:11 am
Location: Germany

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby dbsys » Mon Jul 06, 2015 1:58 pm

alanh wrote:I've updated the picture for the STE pin version on the website.


Thanks. Do you also have a picture for the PLCC version (solder side)?

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1383
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby alanh » Mon Jul 06, 2015 4:43 pm

Sure, just uploaded now. Hover over the pictures to see the underside.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

dbsys
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 384
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 6:11 am
Location: Germany

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby dbsys » Thu Jul 09, 2015 9:24 am

alanh wrote:Sure, just uploaded now. Hover over the pictures to see the underside.


Thanks, so I want the PLCC version.

However I am unable to finally place an order and pay. I can add the item and the worldwide shipping to the shopping cart, but when I check out I get an error message saying "The item you selected is unavailable at this time".

I tried several times and will always end up with that error message.

HuggyOne76
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 9:40 pm

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby HuggyOne76 » Thu Jul 09, 2015 11:37 am

Impossible for me to let any order. For PLCC, I think the "sold out" can be explained, but for the other version, I can't make any payment whereas my paypal account is ok with other website (I bought item on Steam yesterday with paypal).
No other possibility ? Like send paypal to an email ?

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1383
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: New board: MonSTer

Postby alanh » Thu Jul 09, 2015 12:23 pm

I need to catch up with existing orders and send those out, I'll re-open ordering on Monday.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests