Daisy Chaining ST+zip drive+ akai s1100

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
d0us
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 6:22 pm
Location: London UK

Daisy Chaining ST+zip drive+ akai s1100

Postby d0us » Wed Jan 28, 2015 5:01 pm

Hello all,

I read somewhere of someone successfully daisy chaining an iomega zip drive and a sampler in such as way that he could access both the sampler and the zip drive from the ST.

I was wondering how I should link them for this to work and would I need a scsi terminator?

Thanks.

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 861
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Daisy Chaining ST+zip drive+ akai s1100

Postby 1st1 » Thu Jan 29, 2015 6:08 pm

That is easy, just follow the standard rules of SCSI

1. each device has to have it's unique SCSI ID
2. termpower only supplied by one device, usually the hostadapter
3. terminator resistors or active terminators only at the cable ends, mostly hostadapter & last device on the cable. Ideally don't mix passive and active terminators.
4. ideally no open cable end (where nothing is connected, this would work like an antenna...)
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

User avatar
d0us
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 6:22 pm
Location: London UK

Re: Daisy Chaining ST+zip drive+ akai s1100

Postby d0us » Mon Feb 02, 2015 5:06 pm

Ah cheers,

So Atari -> s1100 ->zip drive with terminator switch to 'on'?

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 861
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Daisy Chaining ST+zip drive+ akai s1100

Postby 1st1 » Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:15 pm

Yes, for example.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

User avatar
d0us
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 6:22 pm
Location: London UK

Re: Daisy Chaining ST+zip drive+ akai s1100

Postby d0us » Tue Feb 03, 2015 2:47 pm

Thanks!


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests