Problem with vertical Lines on a 520 STFM

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
ely
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 11:50 am

Problem with vertical Lines on a 520 STFM

Postby ely » Thu Jul 24, 2014 8:51 pm

I took my 520 STFM (TOS 1.2) out of the garage today (it hasn't been switched on in close to 10 years) and it appears to work okay but for vertical lines across the screen (see photo below) regardless of whether in Low or Medium resolution. It still seems to play demos and boot to TOS etc. etc. and for a brief time they disappeared but then came back :?

Anyone seen this before and know a cure?

Image

User avatar
Arne
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 400
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 10:01 am

Re: Problem with vertical Lines on a 520 STFM

Postby Arne » Fri Jul 25, 2014 4:59 am

Check your ST's memory.

mc6809e
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 10:22 pm

Re: Problem with vertical Lines on a 520 STFM

Postby mc6809e » Fri Jul 25, 2014 5:03 am

Open it up and re-seat any socketed chips.

They can creep out of their sockets over time as the ambient temperature cycles.

User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1344
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: Problem with vertical Lines on a 520 STFM

Postby paul92706 » Fri Jul 25, 2014 5:40 am

I would for sure do what Arne/Mc6809e say, also check PSU and video cables. :mrgreen:
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI

User avatar
ely
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 11:50 am

Re: Problem with vertical Lines on a 520 STFM

Postby ely » Fri Jul 25, 2014 7:20 am

Thanks for the replies, the mahcine does have an extra 512KB ram upgrade that was always a bit flakey so I'll remove that and see if it solves it. A couple of friends have suggested it could be a PSU +5 volt issue to the Shifter chip. So I'll check that also.

rockardbiker
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2017 9:48 pm

Re: Problem with vertical Lines on a 520 STFM

Postby rockardbiker » Wed Nov 22, 2017 10:00 pm

Hi Ely, Did you ever fix this issue as I have the same on my 520STFM

Tel


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests