Matrix Coco VME Video Card Problem

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
piku
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:17 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Contact:

Matrix Coco VME Video Card Problem

Postby piku » Sat Feb 01, 2014 2:45 am

Hey guys,

Since my Super Nova isn't working lately I picked up a Matrix Coco video card that was sold on ebay recently (much to the dismay of some other aggressive bidders as well as my poor wallet). Anyway, I have gotten it to work in 640x480 mono mode in the matrix driver but when I try to use another mode the screen is garbled. If I use the dual mode and run the configurator the color modes display perfect with the test pattern and I got a nice nearly 800x600 mode defined that works well with my LCD monitor. When I try to display the desktop though it is garbled. You can see the system is functioning but the display is corrupt.

I thought maybe it was just the matrix drivers on the TT but the same thing is happening with NVDI + matrix support as well. Works fine in the 640x480 mono mode but none of the other CXX definitions work properly at all. Garbled video.

Any ideas? I wonder if the card is somehow defective. I wouldn't think so since the test pattern displays properly.
piku http://www.atari-source.org http://rpmint.com/
CT60 Falcon - Dead Firebee - Some others ;)

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1664
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Matrix Coco VME Video Card Problem

Postby frank.lukas » Sat Feb 01, 2014 7:17 am

You can use NVDI 5 as Driver for the Card ...
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
piku
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:17 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Matrix Coco VME Video Card Problem

Postby piku » Sat Feb 01, 2014 3:11 pm

Right, same problem occurs with NVDI5 as driver
piku http://www.atari-source.org http://rpmint.com/
CT60 Falcon - Dead Firebee - Some others ;)

Guest

Re: Matrix Coco VME Video Card Problem

Postby Guest » Sun Feb 02, 2014 12:02 am

garbled audio
distorted video
video does not become garbled
what type of corruption goes on ie is it inside the border and frame sync etc is ok

can you post a picture jpg and spec of machine other cards etc ...

Guest

Re: Matrix Coco VME Video Card Problem

Postby Guest » Sun Feb 02, 2014 12:17 am

http://www.holleman.demon.nl/matrix/

did see this site for some notes and manuals etc

User avatar
piku
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:17 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Matrix Coco VME Video Card Problem

Postby piku » Sun Feb 02, 2014 12:55 am

simbo sync is ok, it is corruption from vdi.
piku http://www.atari-source.org http://rpmint.com/
CT60 Falcon - Dead Firebee - Some others ;)

User avatar
piku
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:17 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Matrix Coco VME Video Card Problem

Postby piku » Sun Feb 02, 2014 3:35 am

Ok it works fine with NVDI 3. Good. But now when I boot magic redirect.prg can't find the cxx file it can find just fine under TOS. Still I am happy it works.
piku http://www.atari-source.org http://rpmint.com/
CT60 Falcon - Dead Firebee - Some others ;)

User avatar
Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 473
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Matrix Coco VME Video Card Problem

Postby Kroll » Fri Jan 18, 2019 12:42 pm

Hi,

I do not want to start a new thread because my questions are very similar. I received TT for installation Matrix CoCo 1 MB graphics card, after installing NVDI5 it is possible to choose 640x480x256 colors or 688x512x256 colors, but after selecting something is wrong with the display on my LCD monitor. Maybe there is a problem with setting for this monitor.
On such a graphics card, what maximum resolution I can get, is it posibility for example be 800x600 ?, so that I can work on the calamus.
On hard drive I tjhink, there is a original driver and 640x480x256 colours is OK.

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1664
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Matrix Coco VME Video Card Problem

Postby frank.lukas » Fri Jan 18, 2019 12:56 pm

Test the CXX setting with the Matrix VMG program. I think 800x600 256 Colors is max for the card because of the RamDAC and the Master Clock.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 473
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Matrix Coco VME Video Card Problem

Postby Kroll » Mon Jan 21, 2019 12:27 pm

I use original driver from website from file Matrix.lzh and I find VGA folder , there is a setting 800x600 but LCD or CRT monitor shows out of range. Untlil now the max which settings work very well is 704x496x8 bit.
Additional I try to use CXXSetup.acc version 2.3. I have question what is is 25, 28.8 or 50 MHz and GS: 64 or 256.

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1664
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Matrix Coco VME Video Card Problem

Postby frank.lukas » Mon Jan 21, 2019 1:03 pm

The Matrix card has fixed Pixelclocks at 25, 28,8 and 50Mhz. The Matrix cards are made for normal old CRT Monitors.

LCD or TFT can use 60-75 Hz, see the monitor manual


When I set on a Nova ET4000 ...

800x600/256 Colors
Pixelclock = 50Mhz
Horizontal Frequency = 51kHz
Vertical Frequency = 81Hz

800x600/256 Colors
Pixelclock = 28,8Mhz
Horizontal Frequency = 28kHz
Vertical Frequency = 45Hz
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 473
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Matrix Coco VME Video Card Problem

Postby Kroll » Mon Jan 21, 2019 7:29 pm

Ok thanks, but I have simple or stupid question :) I have some problem to save a new CXX file from CXX stetup. I have very old but I think a good CRT VGA Monitor this is Dell Trinitron P1130, a 21 inch . I see I can change to 50 Mhz "live" parameters and set 800x 600x16 colours, Can I edit file and change parametes directly in CXX file ? Maybe somone send me CXX file for CRT VGA monitor ?

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1664
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Matrix Coco VME Video Card Problem

Postby frank.lukas » Mon Jan 21, 2019 7:49 pm

pull the edit icon over the save/file icon


Read the manual by use the google translator.

https://www.dev-docs.org/docs/
Matrix User Manual - MatGraph C32, C110, C110Z, MOCO, COCO, MICO (DE) [1991]
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 820
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Matrix Coco VME Video Card Problem

Postby 1st1 » Mon Jan 21, 2019 9:25 pm

My CoCo is just working fine in my TT at 800x600@256 colors with a NEC Multisync TFT 1990nxp. NVDI5 is also active. But that TT has no Lignung-VME USB card, there is hardware adress conflict with CoCo.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 2x Falcon 030 32GB/14MB+ScrnBlstrIII * 2x TT030 73GB/20MB+Nova * 520/1040STFM * 520/1040STE * 260/520ST/+ * some Mega ST * 2x Mega STE 500MB/4MB+M.CoCo * Stacy * STBook * SLM605 * SLM804 * SLM605 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3

User avatar
Kroll
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 473
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Matrix Coco VME Video Card Problem

Postby Kroll » Wed Jan 23, 2019 10:52 pm

@frank.lukas, thank you very much I read the manual and your sugestion. In this moment I can set on this monitor this setting
800x600/16 Colors
Pixelclock = 50Mhz
Horizontal Frequency = 53.5kHz
Vertical Frequency = 83Hz
Only the question is when I try to change to 256 colors and check I have this information:

50 Mhz Takt und 8 B/P nicht moglish !!

What do you think it it chance to set 256 colors or not ?
Below you can find a ophoto with my setting.

800x600x4.jpg


Kroll
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DarkLord and 7 guests