1040STF 2.06/1.04 TOS Switcher

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

Stfmmer
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 6:09 am

1040STF 2.06/1.04 TOS Switcher

Postby Stfmmer » Tue Apr 09, 2013 9:28 pm

Hi all... as you may have guessed im posting quite a bit (not without good reason mind)

Ok here we go...

I have an Atari 1040STF (NOT FM) and am wondering how far I can take it?

I was hoping to get the TOS upto 1.4.

There are quite a few documents flying around the net that indicate that its NOT a simple case of taking out the old ones and replacing?

Can I get an HD Floppy drive into it?
I plan on using this machine a LOT and am finding the TOS gets in the way...
I only have 1mb of RAM and NEODESK 3, TOS 1.04 and hopefully in the future a 2.06 TOS switcher... (is it even possible?)

Thanks for the advice!!

User avatar
Zogging Hell
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 879
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 12:08 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Re: 1040STF 2.06/1.04 TOS Switcher

Postby Zogging Hell » Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:38 pm

TOS 1.04 is a straight swap as long as you get an upgrade with the right amount of chips. Open the ST and count them, then go on ebay or to Best in the US and get the version that corresponds with the amount of chips you have. If you get an upgrade with different amount of chips it is slightly more involved. You can get a HD upgrade for the STFM but it is slightly more complicated, there are docs to do it online. Personally a Ultrasatan would be a better purchase though, unless like me you like treating your machines..

Frankly I'd get a 4mb upgrade and an Ultrasatan and then use something like Magic or Geneva if your are finding things limited. :)
Firebee, Falcon CT60, Milan 040, Falcon MkI, TT, Mega STe, Mega ST + Lots of STs of various flavours

User avatar
AnakiMana
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 7:56 am
Location: Richland, WA, USA

Re: 1040STF 2.06/1.04 TOS Switcher

Postby AnakiMana » Wed Apr 10, 2013 7:35 am

I was also wondering about 2.06 on an STF.

There's been some IDE add-on boards that come with 2.06 and say they'll work with STFs. But then, most places I read say 1.04 is the highest TOS version for the STF. Is that simply a reference to the highest version of TOS that originally shipped in STF models?

I'd also like to get all my Atari's running switches w/newer TOS versions. I'd feel better about upgrading, knowing I can flip a switch and go back to my original known-working config.

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4329
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: 1040STF 2.06/1.04 TOS Switcher

Postby DarkLord » Wed Apr 10, 2013 11:36 am

Yes, TOS v1.04 is usually mentioned because its the highest version of TOS that
you can just plug into those machines, with no mods if you're using the same
chip set, or very few mods if you're switching from the 2 chip to 6 or vice-versa.

AFAIK, many of the TOS switcher boards would work with ST's.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

Stfmmer
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 6:09 am

Re: 1040STF 2.06/1.04 TOS Switcher

Postby Stfmmer » Wed Apr 10, 2013 1:16 pm

Hopefully? TOS 1.4 should be a straight switch (He says..)
But i'll climb into the machine later tonite and have a peek.

If TOS 1.4 is a straight switch then great.

i keep coming across articles that mention more pins than the TOS sockets have, using EPROMS and then making reference to bending the pins?
Were the larger size EPROMS cheaper or something?

Stfmmer
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 6:09 am

Re: 1040STF 2.06/1.04 TOS Switcher

Postby Stfmmer » Wed Apr 10, 2013 1:17 pm

Re: HD Drive...

My internal Floppy is on its way out unfortunately...

Trust me, after years of using ST's you just know..... :(

User avatar
Zogging Hell
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 879
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 12:08 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Re: 1040STF 2.06/1.04 TOS Switcher

Postby Zogging Hell » Wed Apr 10, 2013 5:12 pm

Stfmmer wrote:Hopefully? TOS 1.4 should be a straight switch (He says..)
But i'll climb into the machine later tonite and have a peek.

If TOS 1.4 is a straight switch then great.

i keep coming across articles that mention more pins than the TOS sockets have, using EPROMS and then making reference to bending the pins?
Were the larger size EPROMS cheaper or something?


Some of the upgrades you see on ebay are on ROM chips with more pins than the ones in the ST (at least the STF(M)s), they can be adapted fairly easily, but there is some faffing involved. I think someone like Best would provide chips in the correct format though. The larger size eproms are just a lot more common and cheap now I guess.
Firebee, Falcon CT60, Milan 040, Falcon MkI, TT, Mega STe, Mega ST + Lots of STs of various flavours

User avatar
Zogging Hell
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 879
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 12:08 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Re: 1040STF 2.06/1.04 TOS Switcher

Postby Zogging Hell » Wed Apr 10, 2013 5:17 pm

Stfmmer wrote:Re: HD Drive...

My internal Floppy is on its way out unfortunately...

Trust me, after years of using ST's you just know..... :(


There was a thread on Atariage (and here now I mention it) about repairing them recently, it can just be a case of swapping some capacitors (two iirc). Either that or re-aligning the drive heads or cleaning them. Might be worth having a look before switching to a new drive (and cutting case).

BTW if you are using TOS 1.02 it is fairly easy to get it to be nice, you can use something like FAT Speed, Pinhead or Big DOS to really speed up disk access (in the case of the latter it also allows you to use larger hard drives and be properly PC compatible. Other than the file selector (which is a bit nicer on TOS 1.04, but still no substitute for a replacement like UIS III) those are pretty much the only noticeable improvements you'll get. TOS 1.04 doesn't always play nice with some of the really early games as well (although most were fixed), and I've not found it to be quite as compatible as TOS 1.02 on that front (others may disagree :wink: )
Firebee, Falcon CT60, Milan 040, Falcon MkI, TT, Mega STe, Mega ST + Lots of STs of various flavours

Guest

Re: 1040STF 2.06/1.04 TOS Switcher

Postby Guest » Wed Apr 10, 2013 8:11 pm

why place tos 2.06 on an st???

a big debate what use is it really
why???

get an ste or better

User avatar
AnakiMana
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 7:56 am
Location: Richland, WA, USA

Re: 1040STF 2.06/1.04 TOS Switcher

Postby AnakiMana » Thu Apr 11, 2013 6:21 am

I don't know if there's much reason for 2.06 over 1.04... but if it costs the same, is there any reason NOT to?

I agree an STE or better would be great, but they aren't common. At least not around here.

Here's an excerpt from the wiki on features added after 1.04 (of course many of these relate to the hardware differences in the STE line and wouldn't affect a standard ST)

  • TOS Atari 1.6 1040STE As 1.(0)4 plus support for the enhanced STe. (Up to 4,096 colours; 8-bit stereo DMA sound; light-gun/paddle; external Genlock; hardware scrolling; 68030 processor; etc.) Mouse support in "show file to screen" function; 4-bit colour values; disk boot-up delay. Bug fixes. AKA "STE TOS".
  • TOS Atari 1.62 1040STE As 1.6 plus bug-fixes, including of 1.6's failure to save selection of medium resolution correctly in DESKTOP.INF.
  • TOS Atari 2.02, 2.05, 2.06 MegaSTE Last version of Atari TOS for the 68000 line. Many bug fixes. Atari logo display at boot-up; automatic cold boot memory test. Supports higher resolutions, 1.4MB diskettes, 6ms step rate, better media-change detection. Adds GTP program support (GEM-Takes-Parameters)

Stfmmer
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 6:09 am

Re: 1040STF 2.06/1.04 TOS Switcher

Postby Stfmmer » Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:36 pm

With 1MB of mem and any largish program to start running desk accs or auto progs is asking for trouble lol. Im on of of those mad people that uses RAM disks quite a lot for copying.

1 case in point re: file selector...

You have to TYPE B:\*.* in the filename at the top if you wanna access drive B: there is NO option for selecting Drive B: on the right hand side. VERY annoying lol. :x

The HD drives would cut my collection of disks in half! (Roughly) .. mind you so would an UltraSatan ...
Storing MSA disks with 80/10 can still go over 726k then your into the realm of splitting :?

Stfmmer
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 6:09 am

Re: 1040STF 2.06/1.04 TOS Switcher

Postby Stfmmer » Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:45 pm

i would have put 2.06 into my machine alone but just too much stuff doesn't work properly....

TOS 1.4 is the happy medium between recent/old TOS imo.

TOS 2.06 would be used when doing the serious 'stuff' whereby i need access to the High Density side of the floppy
a switcher box doesn't seem that far fetched tbh?

with 1mb mem, an HD drive and TOS 1.04/2.06 switcher... it then just becomes a more sinister machine :twisted: ...

User avatar
Zogging Hell
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 879
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 12:08 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Re: 1040STF 2.06/1.04 TOS Switcher

Postby Zogging Hell » Thu Apr 11, 2013 6:13 pm

Stfmmer wrote:With 1MB of mem and any largish program to start running desk accs or auto progs is asking for trouble lol. Im on of of those mad people that uses RAM disks quite a lot for copying.

1 case in point re: file selector...

You have to TYPE B:\*.* in the filename at the top if you wanna access drive B: there is NO option for selecting Drive B: on the right hand side. VERY annoying lol. :x

The HD drives would cut my collection of disks in half! (Roughly) .. mind you so would an UltraSatan ...
Storing MSA disks with 80/10 can still go over 726k then your into the realm of splitting :?


Maybe a lightweight file selector like the Hisoft or Little Green File Selector ones might make life more comfortable (and not use too much RAM).. I've been using UIS III for donkeys years :)

The main more difficult to solve problem with anything prior to TOS 1.04 IMO is the lack of ability to rename a folder. Endless frustation.. although Kobold and UIS can solve it at a memory cost.
Firebee, Falcon CT60, Milan 040, Falcon MkI, TT, Mega STe, Mega ST + Lots of STs of various flavours

Stfmmer
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 6:09 am

Re: 1040STF 2.06/1.04 TOS Switcher

Postby Stfmmer » Thu Apr 11, 2013 9:42 pm

Ok, been inside the machine...

6 CHIP TOS I presume.... Which is kinda sucky!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Stfmmer on Fri Apr 12, 2013 7:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4329
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: 1040STF 2.06/1.04 TOS Switcher

Postby DarkLord » Fri Apr 12, 2013 4:37 am

I'll be honest here, these tired 'ole eyes can't hardly make anything out in that
picture.

Any chance for another one, a little bit better quality? Thanks...
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
ST-Freakz
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 3:07 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 1040STF 2.06/1.04 TOS Switcher

Postby ST-Freakz » Fri Apr 12, 2013 1:00 pm

i have UK 6 x chip TOS 1.04 if you want them which will be a straight swap with your exsisting roms

£15 plus shipping

Stfmmer
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 6:09 am

Re: 1040STF 2.06/1.04 TOS Switcher

Postby Stfmmer » Fri Apr 12, 2013 3:16 pm

DarkLord: You Got it.. the flash wasnt used and its a pretty naff camera! Its Rev.B board with TOS 1.0 :'(

AtariFreakz... Thats a pretty good deal... If they're original ones I'll take you up on the offer but not until next week im afraid, can you hold them in the out-tray for me ;)

Stfmmer
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 6:09 am

Re: 1040STF 2.06/1.04 TOS Switcher

Postby Stfmmer » Fri Apr 12, 2013 3:20 pm

lol AtariFreakz....

I'm looking for DevPac 3 as well ... ?? with manual ... a REAL version so to speak... wouldn't happen to have one?

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4329
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: 1040STF 2.06/1.04 TOS Switcher

Postby DarkLord » Fri Apr 12, 2013 8:14 pm

Yes, take ST-Freakz up on that deal - then its just a straight swap out, minding
the orientation of the chips and all.

TOS 1.04 is a big step up from the original TOS. Speed improvement alone makes
it worth it, IMHO. You'll like all the added features as well.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

Stfmmer
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 6:09 am

Re: 1040STF 2.06/1.04 TOS Switcher

Postby Stfmmer » Sat Apr 13, 2013 8:10 pm

lol, Darklordz.... without having Tos 1.04 i like its features :wink:


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests