NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:22 pm

joska wrote:My experience is that CF-cards are troublesome on Falcon/ST IDE. I prefer to use IDE->SD adaptors and SD cards instead.


There shouldn't be any problem with mine, and I've researched IDE a lot now, so I pretty sure I'll know the problem if I see if first hand.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

waltermixxx
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:14 pm

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby waltermixxx » Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:54 pm

alanh wrote:This could be a tolerance issue on one of the ICs I use and I've bumped into this before with older CF cards like the 32MB ones.

Does AHDI work with your 4GB one ?

I'll PM you as you might need to send it back so I can fix the tolerance issue.


what kind of tolerance issue? is it something I could replace? A chip? or is it more involved... :)
I'm handy with a soldering iron if you can discribe the issue, or point me to a discussion about it?
I can compare the issue... :)

having more trouble with the 4 gig card than the 32. so I thought we could attack the 32meg card first...
i just did a long format on my pc hoping that will help... going to put it in my st now, and see if i can format it, or partition it...

say if you have a link to a CBHD.st so i can just drop it on a blank and go from there...
i did do some looking for it, and foound source code... (in a self extracting .tos file?) it was odd, but no driver... :)
i will try again :)
Last edited by waltermixxx on Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:56 pm

Do you have the rev2 or rev3 board?
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:57 pm

CBHD is available here....

http://www.atari-wiki.com/?title=CBHD
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4405
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby joska » Mon Feb 02, 2015 10:01 am

alanh wrote:
joska wrote:My experience is that CF-cards are troublesome on Falcon/ST IDE. I prefer to use IDE->SD adaptors and SD cards instead.


There shouldn't be any problem with mine, and I've researched IDE a lot now, so I pretty sure I'll know the problem if I see if first hand.


Maybe your adapter is better at this than the Falcon's, but I do have a 4Gb card that does not work in either but works fine in my Milan.

I've used this IDE->SD adapter in all my IDE-equipped retro machines and it works perfectly with all of them. All SD cards I've tested works fine, from 32Mb to 16Gb.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Mon Feb 02, 2015 10:04 am

joska wrote:
alanh wrote:
joska wrote:My experience is that CF-cards are troublesome on Falcon/ST IDE. I prefer to use IDE->SD adaptors and SD cards instead.


There shouldn't be any problem with mine, and I've researched IDE a lot now, so I pretty sure I'll know the problem if I see if first hand.


Maybe your adapter is better at this than the Falcon's, but I do have a 4Gb card that does not work in either but works fine in my Milan.


Interesting. Which 4Gb card is it ?

Having said what I said, I have come across a CF card that doesn't work, but it also doesn't work on the Falcon which is a HAMA 2GB which seems to stop the machine from powering on at all. So I'm not sure what's going on there.

Can you explain what happens with your 4Gb one ?
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4405
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby joska » Mon Feb 02, 2015 10:10 am

alanh wrote:Interesting. Which 4Gb card is it ?


Can't remember the make, but I will check tonight.

alanh wrote:Can you explain what happens with your 4Gb one ?


HD-Driver reports nonsense when scanning the bus, and is not able to partition the card. The card works fine in my Milan, but as you know the Milan's IDE is completely different from the Falcon.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Mon Feb 02, 2015 10:12 am

joska wrote:
alanh wrote:Interesting. Which 4Gb card is it ?


Can't remember the make, but I will check tonight..


Great. Thanks for checking as I want to make sure I've got maximum compatibility for later revs.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

waltermixxx
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:14 pm

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby waltermixxx » Mon Feb 02, 2015 2:00 pm

I verified my board is Rev 2, serial number I moved my CF card over to Secondary, and I moved the two jumpers from standard over to REV.
I will format both CF cards on my windows machine and try this all again using AHDI latest version. I also purchased Peter Putnik's driver hoping to have some luck with that as well. The position of the secondary ide on the ste ide board is not as convenient for my tiny 44pin ide cable, but not a big deal with the case apart, I can test it.

I will go up the thread to find the post with the information on repairing primary ide.

Cheers. :)

Image

Image

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1751
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby frank.lukas » Mon Feb 02, 2015 5:07 pm

I change my Atari Mega ST setup ...

mega_0.jpg


I build in a Epson SMD-340 Floppy from a Mega STE as HD Floppy ...

mega_1.jpg


mega_2.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1077
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby qq1975b » Mon Feb 02, 2015 5:19 pm

Looks nice! In my Mega 4 I have installed Alan's IDE board with one SD card on port 1 and 2 devices IDE cable on the second port that goes outside the Mega through the back panel (for Megabus cards) So I can connect another SD reader or a CF reader+ slim CDROM. It has also the 8 Alt RAM add-on. If I have time, I will post some picture too.
Trying to learn...

waltermixxx
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:14 pm

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby waltermixxx » Tue Feb 03, 2015 1:06 am

Happy to report that all along it was the two cards i was testing with.
unfortunately neither liked being auto boot. I pulled the card and cable and CF holder out of my Amiga 600 and ran Peter Putnik's partitioner and installer,
(I purchased it because, none of the free ones were working...) now that i am setup, ... I dont think i'm going to bother with the free ones....)

I think i will order the following:

an external mount so I dont have to take my ste appart...
a longer 44 pin ide cable.
another kingston 4 gig card so I can put it in my Amiga 600 ( I may try the card holder and lexar card with the 600 incase it's less finicky... )

Thanks Allen, i will continue to use secondary ide swap for now. :) and not it's time to have some fun. :)
I have another STe so I think you said in March you would have more ide adapters available? cound me in for one. :)

i always envied the way amiga 600 and 1200 had built in ide... :)

Cheers and thanks again...

P.S. the driver and install software i got from Peter is very good as well, and only 10 Euros... :)

Cheers. :)

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:36 am

Hi. That's great. Let me know which cards have been causing trouble. I want to ensure things like this don't happen.

But didn't you say it worked with the free HDDriver version ?

Maybe it's just AHDI ??

I'd try CBHD too. That's really the best free one in my eyes.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4405
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby joska » Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:59 am

Alan, this is the card that's not working correctly with my Falcon and your STE IDE interface.

2015-02-02 17.15.34-1.jpg


I'm using HD-Driver 8.16.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Tue Feb 03, 2015 10:14 am

Thanks.

Do you have a picture of the front so I can ensure I get the same one ?
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4405
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby joska » Tue Feb 03, 2015 10:29 am

I can take a picture of it tonight.

Edit: It looks exactly like this one:
Image
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

waltermixxx
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:14 pm

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby waltermixxx » Tue Feb 03, 2015 2:18 pm

Oddly enough the Kingston one above is the one I got mine working with. :)
( it was originally in my A600, worked fine there, and worked on the first try with the IDE interface Alan created. :) )

:)

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1751
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby frank.lukas » Tue Feb 03, 2015 2:23 pm

I use a Kingston 4GB CF Card with the Interface from Alan without problems ...

cf.jpg


ppera told me that his IDE Interface has problems with cheap CF Cards, SanDisk are the best choice he say !?!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Tue Feb 03, 2015 2:29 pm

Interesting that joska's fails yet two others work.

Any chance I can "borrow" yours joska ?

Frank - just checking that all of those cards work ?
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4405
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby joska » Tue Feb 03, 2015 2:44 pm

alanh wrote:Interesting that joska's fails yet two others work.


Yes, "interesting" as in "weird" :) Maybe my card is faulty. It appears to work correctly on my Milan but I have never tested it properly. I will do that tonight.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1751
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby frank.lukas » Tue Feb 03, 2015 2:46 pm

alanh wrote:Frank - just checking that all of those cards work ?


I do not know exactly what you mean ?

All the Cards on the picture are working. I have on it "MiNT/XaAES" other one with EasyMiNT, other for testing (freemint trunk etc.pp) other with MagiC+MagiCNet and other for Transfer (256MB Cards) with my Apple Mac ...
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Tue Feb 03, 2015 2:48 pm

That's what I wanted to know. Cool. Thanks.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

User avatar
Arne
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 523
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 10:01 am

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby Arne » Tue Feb 03, 2015 7:50 pm

Got the same 4GB Kingston CF-card as Joska. Checked it with my 16MHz 520 and a c't 2.06/IDE interface with SCSI Tools 6.56: partitioning, driver install and booting without problems. SCSI Tools Benchmark gives me 1800+ KB/s. :D

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4405
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby joska » Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:03 pm

Tested the card again, same results as last time. Works (apparently) fine in my Milan, HD-Driver reports nonsense when I try it in my Falcon. My STE is unfortunately a bit unavailable at this time so I didn't test it there. Then it occured to me that I should test it in the card reader in my PC as well, and guess what - it doesn't recognise the card... So there's obviously something wrong with it.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1384
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: NEW IDE Controller & TOS 2.06 board (with extras)

Postby alanh » Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:04 pm

Ooh. Thanks for sharing anyway.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests