TOS, Roms and ROM Fixes...any GUIDE?

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1064
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: TOS, Roms and ROM Fixes...any GUIDE?

Postby qq1975b » Thu May 31, 2012 2:04 pm

Here it is a resume about burning TOS roms. When I receive my EEPROMs I will make a visual one adding screenshots as examples

About TOS burning EPROMS/EEPROMS:
Atari STFM:
6 ROM
EPROMs needed: 27C256 x6 (200 or less speed. 150 recommended).
Be sure they are erased or erase them using an UV Eprom eraser (40 min.).
EPROM Programmer (like Willem)
TOS 1.4 (or other but it has to be lower than 1.6)
You can load the image in this program and split it in 6 parts as you can see: http://atari.8bitchip.info/astopensw.php (ROMSPLIT.ZIP)
Burn the eproms using your burn program (windows?)
Plug them in the ST as it is indicated in attached file:

Using Flash ROMs is the same but you need 29C256' 32kx8 ATMEL (28pin) FLASH ROMS instead of 27C256 ones. This options is better because flash roms are newer technology.

Atari STe and Mega STe
2 ROMS
EPROMs needed: 27C010 x2 (less than 200 speed. 120-150 recommended)
Be sure that the eproms are erased. You can erase them using an UV Eprom eraser (40 min.)
EPROM Programmer
TOS 1.62 or 2.06 (or other but it has to be 1.6X or 2.XX)
You can load the image in this program and split it in 2 parts as you can see
http://atari.8bitchip.info/astopensw.php (ROMSPLIT.ZIP).
In TOS 2.06 it is necessary to check to correct CRC ROMs
Burn the eproms using your usual program (winHex?)

Plug them in the ST as it is indicated here: download/file.php?id=12702
And here:
http://atari-forum.com/wiki/index.php?t ... rs#jumpers

In an Ste HI/LO is located as follows:
HI
|
LO
Don't forget you have to configure some jumpers

In a MegaSTe HI/LO is located as follows:
HI - LO
Using Flash ROMs is the same but you need '29F010' 128k x 8 FLASH ROMS instead of 27C010 ones. This option is better because EEPROMS are newer than EPROMS.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Trying to learn...

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1064
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: TOS, Roms and ROM Fixes...any GUIDE?

Postby qq1975b » Fri Jun 01, 2012 8:30 am

Hi Mark,

So making a custom TOS is really difficult, isn't it? this could be the epilogue of the thread when we have wrote about multiple TOS :)

I will start writting what we have done in a .doc and upload it here so we can work on it.

I was thinking about writing 2 of them: one for Atari STfm and Mega St and another for a STe and a Mega STe following more or less the index I proposed.

Easy:
Best Official TOS
Best Custom already made TOS
Burning EPROMs and EEPROMs
Advanced/PhD :P :
Multiple TOS
Own custom TOS in a multiple TOS

Atari TT and Falcon can be later works.

I will try later to write about multitos. I am searching around Atari-Forum posts and collecting info :P
EEPROMs needed,hardware mod (switch) or can be by a prg in a floppy disk that ables you to change TOS?

But now I am not able (not enough knowledge) about making custom TOS in a STfm and STe... :(
Trying to learn...

User avatar
Tronic
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 537
Joined: Wed May 19, 2004 10:37 am
Location: West Sussex, England
Contact:

Re: TOS, Roms and ROM Fixes...any GUIDE?

Postby Tronic » Mon Jun 04, 2012 9:06 am

This is all interesting stuff. I recently took it upon myself to source and digest information on the net about TOS v2.06 burning, and Atari ST ROM burning in general.

There seems to be little Information about compatibility and hardware modification requirements of TOS v2.06 ROMS and v1.62 ROMS for an Atari STFM system - how is it possible to get these ROMS to work on an Atari STFM?

Has this been covered on this forum - I couldn't find it :(
Atari 4Mb STE, Falcon 030 4Mb, Mega STE 4Mb, Atari 1Mb STFM, Atari 2.5Mb STFM, Atari 2Mb TT 030, UltraSatan, Satan Disk, BBC Micro B, Playstation 1, Amiga 600 and Amiga 1200.

Proud owner of http://www.ataristsales.com and http://stores.ebay.co.uk/Atari-Computer-Sales.
Atari ST demoscener active in Effect^Elite^Checkpoint as a coder and disk packer.

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1064
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: TOS, Roms and ROM Fixes...any GUIDE?

Postby qq1975b » Tue Jun 05, 2012 3:12 pm

Trying to learn...

User avatar
Methanoid
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 240
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 2:41 pm
Location: England.. where else?

Re: TOS, Roms and ROM Fixes...any GUIDE?

Postby Methanoid » Thu Sep 27, 2012 11:21 am

I have to confess I am surprised after all this time that "fixed" TOS for each ST model haven't be prepared and released

eg

ST/STF/STFM TOS 1.04 with all fixes - Languages xx/yy/zzz
STE TOS 2.06 with all fixes - Languages xx/yy/zz

Or are they lurking somewhere?

Just found this thread when wondering about putting 2.06 in a "new" 520STM I just bought.... :angel:

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: TOS, Roms and ROM Fixes...any GUIDE?

Postby exxos » Thu Sep 27, 2012 3:33 pm

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/tos/index.htm

Maybe of some help for people. I have got a few EPROM to STFM boards coming this week if anyone wants one they are in my store. I have not got many made as I only really needed a couple myself and no interest from anyone else.

NikiforosST
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 7:04 am
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: TOS, Roms and ROM Fixes...any GUIDE?

Postby NikiforosST » Sat Oct 06, 2012 5:46 am

Hi! i have an Atari 1040STfm with TOS 1.02. My motherboard has 6 sockets for 28 pins chips, but only 2 chips by SHARP. I bought from Ebay UK 2 chips eproms 32pins with TOS 1.04, what i can do to fit them on my Atari? i think that i must do this that exxos told! this is the same as exxos site? i mean cable connections on eproms. http://www.adsb.co.uk/bbc/adaptor.html and some photos from mine ST.

Image

Image

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: TOS, Roms and ROM Fixes...any GUIDE?

Postby exxos » Mon Oct 08, 2012 12:35 pm

I do have some pcbs in my store to adapt the EPROM to 2 chip TOS set. I plan to build some up this week as I have not yet had chance to test them. I should have pcb only in the store next week.

104rompcb30.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

NikiforosST
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 7:04 am
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: TOS, Roms and ROM Fixes...any GUIDE?

Postby NikiforosST » Mon Oct 08, 2012 1:51 pm

What can i do now to fit the eproms on my atari? this? http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/tos/index.htm
i want to buy some eproms sockets with 32pins.

User avatar
exxos
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: TOS, Roms and ROM Fixes...any GUIDE?

Postby exxos » Fri Oct 19, 2012 4:37 pm

one thing to note here, you have to fit the eproms direct into the sockets (hardware only) otherwise the ST metalwork will not sit flush, and this could prevent you from screwing the case back together and even cause the keyboard to be at the wrong angle. Note the metalwork rests directly ontop of the first TOS chip towards the edge of the board. So any additional sockets or such will cause a problem. While my TOS adapter PCB is a simple plugin, you will not be able to reassemble back into the ST case. So doing the wiring direct on the chip as I show on my pages is the only other "easy" solution.

NikiforosST
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 7:04 am
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: TOS, Roms and ROM Fixes...any GUIDE?

Postby NikiforosST » Sun Oct 21, 2012 11:10 am

ok! thank you for your answer! :D :D :D :D

NikiforosST
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 7:04 am
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: TOS, Roms and ROM Fixes...any GUIDE?

Postby NikiforosST » Fri Nov 02, 2012 4:09 pm

Ready at last! working perfectly!
Original SHARP chips with TOS 1.02 (28 pins)
Image
New eprom Chips with TOS 1.04 (32pins)
Image

Image

Image

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4166
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: TOS, Roms and ROM Fixes...any GUIDE?

Postby DarkLord » Fri Nov 02, 2012 4:19 pm

Congratulations, and thanks for the pics. I really like the "this way up" part. :lol:
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

NikiforosST
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 7:04 am
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: TOS, Roms and ROM Fixes...any GUIDE?

Postby NikiforosST » Fri Nov 02, 2012 4:34 pm

Thank you! all games and programs i have tried works ok with TOS 1.04! :D :D :D :D
The machine is 1040STfm.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11926
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: TOS, Roms and ROM Fixes...any GUIDE?

Postby wongck » Sat Nov 03, 2012 3:53 am

great to see another issued fixed :D

DarkLord wrote: I really like the "this way up" part.

There's no two ways about it, no ?
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1064
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: TOS, Roms and ROM Fixes...any GUIDE?

Postby qq1975b » Wed Mar 27, 2013 11:14 pm

I have an Atari STe with spanish TOS 1.62.
This version can't be found on internet (I haven't found it).
If anyone is interested, I can send the .bin files (I do not know how to merge them to make it work on hatari or steem).
Trying to learn...

User avatar
krupkaj
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Olomouc/Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: TOS, Roms and ROM Fixes...any GUIDE?

Postby krupkaj » Thu Mar 28, 2013 3:30 pm

please could you send me the files. I will merge them to the img.

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1064
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: TOS, Roms and ROM Fixes...any GUIDE?

Postby qq1975b » Fri Mar 29, 2013 12:16 am

EDIT:
Here it is the .IMG file too got using romimage.tos and corrected to work on PAL mode:

TOS v1.62 (1990)(Atari Corp)(STE)(Sp)[STE TOS, Rev 2].rar



http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=24843


by the way...does anybody have the 2.06 and 3.06 spanish TOS version?? (do they exist?)

Thank you
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by qq1975b on Mon Apr 01, 2013 5:52 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Trying to learn...

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1064
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: TOS, Roms and ROM Fixes...any GUIDE?

Postby qq1975b » Fri Mar 29, 2013 2:45 pm

exxos wrote:one thing to note here, you have to fit the eproms direct into the sockets (hardware only) otherwise the ST metalwork will not sit flush, and this could prevent you from screwing the case back together and even cause the keyboard to be at the wrong angle. Note the metalwork rests directly ontop of the first TOS chip towards the edge of the board. So any additional sockets or such will cause a problem. While my TOS adapter PCB is a simple plugin, you will not be able to reassemble back into the ST case. So doing the wiring direct on the chip as I show on my pages is the only other "easy" solution.



So, if I have an Atari Mega 4 with german 1.4 TOS and I want to replace it for an spanish 1.4 TOS I have to do this soldering stuff, is that right? isn't there any 28 pin compatible EPROM that can handle this update? :roll: :(

About the rom image... Do I have only to split the 1.4 spanish TOS .img file into two files? like with the 1.62 TOS?

Mega 4b.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by qq1975b on Fri Mar 29, 2013 7:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Trying to learn...

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4166
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: TOS, Roms and ROM Fixes...any GUIDE?

Postby DarkLord » Fri Mar 29, 2013 7:51 pm

Coincidentally, there is another thread about this same subject (daughterboard on
the CPU):

viewtopic.php?f=15&t=24849

HTHs.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1064
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: TOS, Roms and ROM Fixes...any GUIDE?

Postby qq1975b » Fri Mar 29, 2013 8:01 pm

DarkLord wrote:Coincidentally, there is another thread about this same subject (daughterboard on
the CPU):

viewtopic.php?f=15&t=24849

HTHs.


Yes, I am asking here only about the TOS ROMS. I still have the idea of writing a guide about TOS upgrade...but these 2x 28 PIN...it seems to me that it won't be so easy if there is not any 28 pin compatible eprom or eeprom :(
It will only be possible through adapters or making that soldering bridges...is that right?

By the way...does anybody know where I can find (if it exists) the Atari TOS 2.06 and 3.06 Spanish?

EDIT: 1.62 spanish TOS uploaded again in a previous post with the PAL patched version.
Trying to learn...

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1064
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: TOS, Roms and ROM Fixes...any GUIDE?

Postby qq1975b » Sun Apr 21, 2013 12:09 am

By the way...is there a more or less simple way to translate a TOS rom? I mean, I have TOS 3.05 spanish...but there isn't a 3.06 one. Can I get the UK 3.06 and translate it to Spanish using 3.05 spanish rom code?
Trying to learn...

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1064
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: TOS, Roms and ROM Fixes...any GUIDE?

Postby qq1975b » Sat Apr 27, 2013 7:07 pm

NikiforosST wrote:Ready at last! working perfectly!
Original SHARP chips with TOS 1.02 (28 pins)

New eprom Chips with TOS 1.04 (32pins)



I have tried to do it for my Mega 4 but I only achieve a white screen with slightly yellow borders.

I have done the following:

TOS 1.04SP burnt in 2 27C010 EPROMS. The original TOS .IMG file had been splitted in two files (HI and LO) using Hatari and Ppera ROMSPLIT.
Because it will be in a Mega ST and there is lot of free space I have used two 32 PIN socket per chip. So the images are here:

Mega 4 orignal roms (1.04 German)
IMG_1029.JPG


Sockets modded:

IMG_1031.JPG


IMG_1032.JPG


But it doesn't work....What I have done wrong???
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Trying to learn...

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1064
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: TOS, Roms and ROM Fixes...any GUIDE?

Postby qq1975b » Sat May 25, 2013 4:34 pm

Is the 27C010 Ok for this update or I need the 27C1000 ones?
Trying to learn...

User avatar
Arne
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 397
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 10:01 am

Re: TOS, Roms and ROM Fixes...any GUIDE?

Postby Arne » Sun May 26, 2013 6:35 am

Yes, 27C010 are fine, but there are no 28pin 1MBit EPROMs, just PROMS (Atari) as the EPROMs need more pins for programming purposes. Like 12.5V programming voltage.
If you want to put a TOS1.04 into two 32pin EPROMs you will need some kind of PCB adaptor. Take the schematics of your Mega ST and the datasheet of a 27C010. Compare the pinout. Either you design your own PCB or you may use wiring.


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests