ST's and Hard Drives

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

User avatar
galvatron1983
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 12:30 pm
Location: East London, UK
Contact:

ST's and Hard Drives

Postby galvatron1983 » Sun Apr 15, 2012 4:49 pm

Adding a hard drive to an Amiga wasnt too much trouble, it was getting software on the bloody thing that problems began. Back in the day most games wouldnt install to a HD and you needed to get hacked versions or a another version completely to install to HD.

Does the ST have these issues? Is it a simple case of copying the data from the floppy straight to the internal HD or do you need special installable/modified versions for it to work.

Im looking at putting a hard drive into my STe, the idea being to store a ton of games on it! Just curious as to how many hoops I need to jump through to get there!
Image

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4089
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: ST's and Hard Drives

Postby nativ » Sun Apr 15, 2012 5:14 pm

early games yes fine for HD install until about 1987 lol then protection was used. MicroProse were supporting hard drives till Microsoft bought them out and shut down the ST / Amiga side of things

Stuff from 1994 onwards is mostly back on for HD.

Some but not all old cracks work from Hard drive..... Klaz, Dbug and PPera are increasing the numbers constantly!

I don't think there is an Image Runner for the ST so you could load MSA/ST/ STX from a Hard Drive and play... that's 'the' missing utility currently.

edit: Though you might be able to use DBUG's ULS... I only part read the documentation on that one so far
Last edited by nativ on Sun Apr 15, 2012 7:20 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

User avatar
galvatron1983
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 12:30 pm
Location: East London, UK
Contact:

Re: ST's and Hard Drives

Postby galvatron1983 » Sun Apr 15, 2012 5:30 pm

Ive seen the UltraSatan talked about on here, I understand its an SD card interface, that the ST sees as a hard drive?

Is it straightforward to get going? Can you run ST disk images from it?
Image

User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11321
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Re: ST's and Hard Drives

Postby Mug UK » Sun Apr 15, 2012 7:23 pm

galvatron1983 wrote:Ive seen the UltraSatan talked about on here, I understand its an SD card interface, that the ST sees as a hard drive?


Yes, with a decent driver such as HDDriver running, it's dead easy. Also allows you to tweak a PC-formatted SD cards as "TOS/DOS" hybrid so the same card will work in both machines. Much easier to transfer files from PC <-> ST.

galvatron1983 wrote:Is it straightforward to get going? Can you run ST disk images from it?


As above, stick to the Klaz / Dbug patched games. Much easier than trying to get normal hacked games running off a h/drive.
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12457
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: ST's and Hard Drives

Postby wongck » Sun Apr 15, 2012 11:12 pm

This problem of installing games on the hard disk is also an headache where the original games does not offer to install it on hard disk.
This is common for earlier home computers as they do not have hard disk as stanndard hardware from the beginning.
:lol: Same as for Apple ][, diskette swapping to play an adventure game.

The PC, OTOH, came from the Commercial side and thus have as standard a small (20MB) hard disk. So programs came with installer to install them on HDD.
Likewise to what Native said, some of the older games on PC can also just be copied over to the HDD without an installer as they are not protected in any serious way.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

squidbass
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 1:28 pm

Re: ST's and Hard Drives

Postby squidbass » Wed Apr 25, 2012 6:28 am

More to the point - (and correct me if I'm wrong) but is it even possible to get an UltraSatan anymore? Indeed, is there an off the shelf HD solution anywhere that can be purchased (rather than diy built) for STs?

Rgds
squidbass
STe1040,TT030, some amigas, C64s, RiscPC700, IBM Netvista, Mac 475

Kriegor
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 7:23 pm

Re: ST's and Hard Drives

Postby Kriegor » Tue May 01, 2012 8:42 pm

squidbass wrote:More to the point - (and correct me if I'm wrong) but is it even possible to get an UltraSatan anymore? Indeed, is there an off the shelf HD solution anywhere that can be purchased (rather than diy built) for STs?

Rgds
squidbass


There's the original Atari SH204 (20MB) and the Megafile (20/30/60MB) HDs.

User avatar
teh3pwner
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 505
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 9:31 pm
Location: Slovenia, Ptuj
Contact:

Re: ST's and Hard Drives

Postby teh3pwner » Tue May 01, 2012 11:16 pm

nativ wrote:I don't think there is an Image Runner for the ST so you could load MSA/ST/ STX from a Hard Drive and play... that's 'the' missing utility currently.


What about this: http://atari.8bitchip.info/imgrun.php :D :D
Image
Image

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2700
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: ST's and Hard Drives

Postby alexh » Wed May 02, 2012 3:20 am

If all you want to do is play games. And you're going to invest in a "hard drive" then you may as well get a HxC floppy disk emulator. About the same price as an UltraSatan and you can store and boot disk images on an SD card.

The device works with most floppy based hardware (Amiga, Amstrad etc.)

http://www.lotharek.pl/product.php?pid=13

oehansen
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 291
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:05 pm

Re: ST's and Hard Drives

Postby oehansen » Wed May 02, 2012 7:48 am

squidbass wrote:More to the point - (and correct me if I'm wrong) but is it even possible to get an UltraSatan anymore? Indeed, is there an off the shelf HD solution anywhere that can be purchased (rather than diy built) for STs?

Rgds
squidbass


Rare, and most are expensive.

A hard drive is not as big a deal, as it sounds. Mostly, you'll have to decide what you want ... but almost under all circumstances, you'll have to use a DIY kit at some point. Atari is not in production anymore. An UltraSatan does require you to etch your own board, and it requires a BlackFin CPU. They aren't that expensive either. You'll end up with a kit, somewhere around $100. If you buy a hard disk, you'll end up with a semi functional hard drive, which is getting old and therefore unstable ... and for the most part, is a collectors item.

If you want a hard drive, built the UltraSatan, it's not that complicated. Or look at Pera Putniks work, some of those are pretty good and easy to make.

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2700
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: ST's and Hard Drives

Postby alexh » Wed May 02, 2012 1:07 pm

squidbass wrote:More to the point - (and correct me if I'm wrong) but is it even possible to get an UltraSatan anymore?

Zaxxon was selling them ready built for £90 inc delivery.

http://www.zaxon.eu/usatan.html

He's just bringing up production again after a hiatus.


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: joska and 10 guests