Atari st series computers conversion PC

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
aacheron
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Postby aacheron » Wed Dec 07, 2011 11:24 pm

does anyone have a diagram for the pinout of the Mega keyboard lead ?

cheers :)


take a look at this website : http://old.pinouts.ru/Inputs/atari_mega ... nout.shtml
also, I'm pretty sure that it can be located circa page 7 of this thread
Atari 520STE 1.62 UK Upgraded to 4MB - 2GB SatanDisk - Protar Profile 40 - Atari Monitor SC1224
2.05 Spanish TOS, NetUSBee and HxC SD rev.C I really need an external floppy drive
Family grows : Atari 1040STF, Atari 1040STFM, and Atari FALCON 030

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12789
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Postby wongck » Thu Dec 08, 2011 12:20 am

spiny wrote:does anyone have a diagram for the pinout of the Mega keyboard lead ?


Can the Mega ST use a TT keyboard ?
I have a TT keyboard RJ11 pin out on my website, but remember this is the other way round.
http://phsw.110mb.com/hw-stkbd.html
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2637
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Postby spiny » Thu Dec 08, 2011 10:08 am

ok, i have the mega keyboard attached like this:

Pin Description
1 +5V DC
2 +5V DC
3 Transmit Data
4 Receive Data
5 Ground
6 Ground

but it isn't -quite- working properly

i'm typing on it now and quite often key prees will be missed , as you can probably read here

back on win keyboard - it seems that some of the keypresses are 'missed' somehow, even if i type slowly. if i connect an ST keyboard, all is well. any ideas ?

is it due to there being no reset line ? or is the second 5v taking care of that ?

User avatar
aacheron
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Postby aacheron » Thu Dec 08, 2011 10:25 am

spiny wrote:ok, i have the mega keyboard attached like this:

Pin Description
1 +5V DC
2 +5V DC
3 Transmit Data
4 Receive Data
5 Ground
6 Ground

but it isn't -quite- working properly

i'm typing on it now and quite often key prees will be missed , as you can probably read here

back on win keyboard - it seems that some of the keypresses are 'missed' somehow, even if i type slowly. if i connect an ST keyboard, all is well. any ideas ?

is it due to there being no reset line ? or is the second 5v taking care of that ?


This can be dangerous :

Connect 5 and 6 (ground) to teensy ground, and try to power only one of the two +5V (pins 1 and 2) alternatively. Better if you disconnect the atari mouse.
Atari 520STE 1.62 UK Upgraded to 4MB - 2GB SatanDisk - Protar Profile 40 - Atari Monitor SC1224
2.05 Spanish TOS, NetUSBee and HxC SD rev.C I really need an external floppy drive
Family grows : Atari 1040STF, Atari 1040STFM, and Atari FALCON 030

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2637
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Postby spiny » Thu Dec 08, 2011 11:36 am

yep, i have both grounds to teensy ground.

which +5 should i disconnect, does it matter ? (both are connected to vcc on teensy)

I just need to work this step out, then I can finish the enclosure for it all :)

edit: no atari mouse connected.

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4426
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Postby joska » Thu Dec 08, 2011 12:59 pm

spiny wrote:i'm typing on it now and quite often key prees will be missed , as you can probably read here

back on win keyboard - it seems that some of the keypresses are 'missed' somehow, even if i type slowly. if i connect an ST keyboard, all is well. any ideas ?


Have you tested the keyboard on a real computer?

spiny wrote:is it due to there being no reset line ? or is the second 5v taking care of that ?


There is no hardware reset on Mega/TT keyboards. Only software reset. The "second" 5v is the same as the first one, they are connected together internally in the Mega/TT.

You might want to compile the firmware without support for the reset-line.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2637
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Postby spiny » Thu Dec 08, 2011 1:51 pm

cool, i'll check on my mega that the keyboard works properly, then try a recompile if needed :)

User avatar
aacheron
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Postby aacheron » Thu Dec 08, 2011 2:42 pm

spiny wrote:cool, i'll check on my mega that the keyboard works properly, then try a recompile if needed :)


I think that user Majere has its mega-st keyb working with the teensy and joska code, he is a very kind person and i'm sure he could help you (my mega-st keyb was broken, but I can not remeber any problem with reset pin, but I'm sure I recompiled joska code without modifications). May be Majere had same problems that you are having...
Atari 520STE 1.62 UK Upgraded to 4MB - 2GB SatanDisk - Protar Profile 40 - Atari Monitor SC1224
2.05 Spanish TOS, NetUSBee and HxC SD rev.C I really need an external floppy drive
Family grows : Atari 1040STF, Atari 1040STFM, and Atari FALCON 030

redhawk668
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 4:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Postby redhawk668 » Fri Dec 09, 2011 10:18 am

Hello There,

I've been reading through this forum thread and it's given me the idea to do a conversion too, I still have some components lying around, and an empty Atari 1040 STE casing. I need to get a socket 775 mini itx board though,to use a dualcore Celeron E1500... Should give performance enough for Atari emulation... :D. The STE casing is completely empty, i.e. no keyboard, etc. Already got a keyboard from Ebay, so that's already sorted out. What I like to know, how do I mount the stuff in the Atari ST case? I will get myself one of those Teensy boards so I can convert the keyboard to usb... Therefore I will need pinouts and schematics, etc. Should be a nice challenge :D Will post pictures from the work in progress... :)
Total Retro Nut, my collection:

Atari 130XE, stock
Atari 800XL, stock
Atari 600XL, Ultimate 1 MB
Atari 1050 FloppyDrive
SIO2SD
Atari 520 STfm, 4 Mb, TOS 1.04
Atari 520 STfm, 4 Mb, TOS 1.04, Blitter, Cosmos Ex with Raspberry Pi2, 2 GB ACSI/SD
Atari 1040 STe, 4 Mb, TOS 2.06, Cosmos Ex with Raspberry Pi3, 2 GB ACSI/SD
Atari Lynx I
Commodore Amiga 500 + ACA500
Commodore Amiga 1200, Blizzard1220/4, 4 GB CF HDD

gilles504
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 4:17 pm

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Postby gilles504 » Mon Dec 12, 2011 10:45 am

hotglue is your friend ;)

you can also use more conventional standoff like this one
http://www.kiatronics.com/media/catalog ... le_9_5.jpg

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2637
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Postby spiny » Tue Dec 13, 2011 11:22 pm

aacheron wrote:
spiny wrote:cool, i'll check on my mega that the keyboard works properly, then try a recompile if needed :)


I think that user Majere has its mega-st keyb working with the teensy and joska code, he is a very kind person and i'm sure he could help you (my mega-st keyb was broken, but I can not remeber any problem with reset pin, but I'm sure I recompiled joska code without modifications). May be Majere had same problems that you are having...


well, I was round my friends house this evening (GND, the coder in torment :) ) and I tested my teensy using one of his Mega keyboards and it worked perfectly. Even the mouse and joystick worked a treat, which was a little surprising :D So it could be my keyboard at fault, I will be stripping and cleaning it to make sure it's in as good condition as possible.

We alos scoured ebay for suitable mini itx boards for a 'pc in an st case' project and ordered some parts :)

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4426
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Postby joska » Wed Dec 14, 2011 8:12 am

spiny wrote:Even the mouse and joystick worked a treat, which was a little surprising :D


I guess the mouse worked by accident, because it really doesn't work properly. Some serial packets are lost and the whole thing becomes a mess which requires you to reset the Teensy.

Joystick works by emulating cursor keys. I can easily change this to emulate a real joystick if there's any interest in that.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2637
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Postby spiny » Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:57 pm

joska wrote:
spiny wrote:Even the mouse and joystick worked a treat, which was a little surprising :D


I guess the mouse worked by accident, because it really doesn't work properly. Some serial packets are lost and the whole thing becomes a mess which requires you to reset the Teensy.

Joystick works by emulating cursor keys. I can easily change this to emulate a real joystick if there's any interest in that.



we tested it on Linux, not sure if that makes a difference ? but it did work really well, though we only used it for a few minutes :)

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4426
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Postby joska » Wed Dec 14, 2011 1:27 pm

This is interesting. I'm using Linux too but the mouse is not working correctly. After a little usage the adapter will miss a byte, and the stream from the mouse will incorrectly be interpreted as keypresses. If you have built the firmware yourself, which version of Teensyduino did you use? Maybe there is a bug in the rxtx library that has been fixed recently.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2637
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Postby spiny » Wed Dec 14, 2011 2:06 pm

i'm using arduino 0023 I think :)

redhawk668
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 4:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Postby redhawk668 » Mon Dec 19, 2011 11:36 pm

More components are coming in, my keyboard which I got from Ebay has arrived. It is in good condition, nice :D.. A 80 GB 2.5" SATA drive nicked from a HP laptop is going to be the harddrive and if I can fit it in the case, a slimline DVD/CDR drive. A 120 watt powersupply nicked from an old Tulip Pentium III system is going to power the system, should be enough power. It hasn't got a Pentium IV powersupply connector, but that can be easily added.... Now I need a mainboard, etc. and some mounting stuff to start working on it... :D
Total Retro Nut, my collection:

Atari 130XE, stock
Atari 800XL, stock
Atari 600XL, Ultimate 1 MB
Atari 1050 FloppyDrive
SIO2SD
Atari 520 STfm, 4 Mb, TOS 1.04
Atari 520 STfm, 4 Mb, TOS 1.04, Blitter, Cosmos Ex with Raspberry Pi2, 2 GB ACSI/SD
Atari 1040 STe, 4 Mb, TOS 2.06, Cosmos Ex with Raspberry Pi3, 2 GB ACSI/SD
Atari Lynx I
Commodore Amiga 500 + ACA500
Commodore Amiga 1200, Blizzard1220/4, 4 GB CF HDD

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2637
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Postby spiny » Wed Dec 21, 2011 1:18 pm

I just got one of these:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/180776976728? ... 1423.l2649

and am currently 'fitting' it :)

atari-pc.jpg


I'm going to use a 'power brick' psu as the board came with a neat little 12v powersupply.

It looks like i'm also going to need low profile RAM so that the keyboard will fit properly ...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

redhawk668
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 4:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Postby redhawk668 » Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:16 pm

This is what I'm working on:

IMG_0243.JPG


IMG_0244.JPG


Soon I will get myself the motherboard and some other stuff and then I'm going to put the stuff together :D
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Total Retro Nut, my collection:

Atari 130XE, stock
Atari 800XL, stock
Atari 600XL, Ultimate 1 MB
Atari 1050 FloppyDrive
SIO2SD
Atari 520 STfm, 4 Mb, TOS 1.04
Atari 520 STfm, 4 Mb, TOS 1.04, Blitter, Cosmos Ex with Raspberry Pi2, 2 GB ACSI/SD
Atari 1040 STe, 4 Mb, TOS 2.06, Cosmos Ex with Raspberry Pi3, 2 GB ACSI/SD
Atari Lynx I
Commodore Amiga 500 + ACA500
Commodore Amiga 1200, Blizzard1220/4, 4 GB CF HDD

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12789
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Postby wongck » Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:25 pm

Is that a STE or Falcon you gutted?
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

31336haxx0r
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 7:14 pm

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Postby 31336haxx0r » Tue Dec 27, 2011 4:52 pm

Judging from the case's colour it's an STE.

Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Postby Shredder11 » Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:17 pm

...and the large external floppy connector port hole!

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12789
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Postby wongck » Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:04 am

what I mean that it's a waste to do that to a STE.
A ST/STFM is OK.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

redhawk668
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 4:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Postby redhawk668 » Wed Dec 28, 2011 11:34 am

what I mean that it's a waste to do that to a STE.
A ST/STFM is OK.


Well, the insides of this STE are now in another case, this one is badly yellowed and showing signs of heavy use. I got a good looking case of Ebay and I've put the whole machine in this case, because it is better looking and still has the Atari badge on it. This one doesn't anymore, so it was completely empty and I decided to do a conversion on this case and give it a nice paintjob.... The STE is now getting a slight mod in its video circuit, so I can connect it to 17" TFT VGA monitor through a video to VGA adapter... :) My father is doing this mod for me, as my soldering skills are not so great :mrgreen: Well, my soldering skills are more like soldering a wire or two, besides I don't own a professional soldering iron, my father does...
Total Retro Nut, my collection:

Atari 130XE, stock
Atari 800XL, stock
Atari 600XL, Ultimate 1 MB
Atari 1050 FloppyDrive
SIO2SD
Atari 520 STfm, 4 Mb, TOS 1.04
Atari 520 STfm, 4 Mb, TOS 1.04, Blitter, Cosmos Ex with Raspberry Pi2, 2 GB ACSI/SD
Atari 1040 STe, 4 Mb, TOS 2.06, Cosmos Ex with Raspberry Pi3, 2 GB ACSI/SD
Atari Lynx I
Commodore Amiga 500 + ACA500
Commodore Amiga 1200, Blizzard1220/4, 4 GB CF HDD

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12789
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Postby wongck » Wed Dec 28, 2011 11:47 am

redhawk668 wrote:Well, the insides of this STE are now in another case, this one is badly yellowed and showing signs of heavy use..

:thumbs:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

redhawk668
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 4:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Postby redhawk668 » Wed Dec 28, 2011 3:48 pm

And to add something more, the STE is getting a checkup on it's motherboard for loose connections so it will function as new... At this moment it sometimes 'bombs out' with 2 bombs or sometimes 4 bombs on screen, sometimes it doesn't want to boot... :( It just shows a white rolling screen, I think something is loose and needs some resoldering, so that's taken care of :thumbs:
Total Retro Nut, my collection:

Atari 130XE, stock
Atari 800XL, stock
Atari 600XL, Ultimate 1 MB
Atari 1050 FloppyDrive
SIO2SD
Atari 520 STfm, 4 Mb, TOS 1.04
Atari 520 STfm, 4 Mb, TOS 1.04, Blitter, Cosmos Ex with Raspberry Pi2, 2 GB ACSI/SD
Atari 1040 STe, 4 Mb, TOS 2.06, Cosmos Ex with Raspberry Pi3, 2 GB ACSI/SD
Atari Lynx I
Commodore Amiga 500 + ACA500
Commodore Amiga 1200, Blizzard1220/4, 4 GB CF HDD


Social Media

     

Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests