4096 color painting program for STE?

All about the serious stuff.

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

User avatar
Omikronman
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 530
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 12:13 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

4096 color painting program for STE?

Postby Omikronman » Tue Jan 24, 2006 6:10 am

Many years ago I have read a article about a painting program wich was able to display all 4096 STE colors together. I don´t remember the name of this program. The article said this painting software was very very slow and difficulty to use compared with spectrum 512. Does anyone know more about this software?

User avatar
ggn
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1244
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 4:49 pm

Postby ggn » Tue Jan 24, 2006 6:48 am

Quantum Paint
is 73 Falcon patched atari games enough ? ^^

User avatar
Omikronman
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 530
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 12:13 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Postby Omikronman » Tue Jan 24, 2006 6:58 am

Ah, where can I get a image file of it?

User avatar
ggn
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1244
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 4:49 pm

Postby ggn » Tue Jan 24, 2006 7:12 am

A version is here... http://skyscraper.fortunecity.com/module/371/qpaint.zip

Dunno if it's the latest. I have it somewhere on my diskbox (I think version 2??).

George
is 73 Falcon patched atari games enough ? ^^

User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11385
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Postby Mug UK » Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:26 am

Photochrome was (I think) the last of the super colour picture editing programs on the ST before everything headed in the direction of the Falcon.

Quantum Paint was one of the earlier ones along with Spectrum 512.
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk

User avatar
ggn
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1244
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 4:49 pm

Postby ggn » Tue Jan 24, 2006 10:39 am

Yep, but photochrome didn't have any painting tools
is 73 Falcon patched atari games enough ? ^^

User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11385
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Postby Mug UK » Tue Jan 24, 2006 3:40 pm

Oops .. :oops:

Apologies :(
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk

User avatar
Marcer
Atarilegend
Atarilegend
Posts: 4173
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:21 pm
Location: sweden
Contact:

Postby Marcer » Tue Jan 24, 2006 5:43 pm

Neo Chrome Master

put a raster on every scanline.. then you can have atleast 200*16 colours.

// Marcer
- Atari ST/FM/E - Mega sTe - Portfolio - Falcon 030 FX 3 in 1 -- Atari 7800/Lynx/Jaguar -
- FTP... Ask for info
- Atari Legend (Games all-a-round)
- Paradize (Chip Music)
- Elite (Atari Softs)
- The Legion (Demos)
- Alive Maggie Team
_/|\_YM-RockerZ_/|\_

User avatar
prog99
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 8:08 pm
Location: Edinburgh
Contact:

Postby prog99 » Tue Jan 24, 2006 6:27 pm

ggn wrote:Quantum Paint

Yes but it was umm, not very good.

Spectrum 512 was much better.
All my real skills are undervalued

User avatar
Omikronman
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 530
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 12:13 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Postby Omikronman » Tue Jan 24, 2006 6:44 pm

I remember Spectrum 512 used 49 colors per line. I have the original disk and manual here. Let´s have a look inside. =)

3 minutes later...

Oh, I did something wrong with the manual. It seems that I have replaced it by my coding tricks. I can´t remember what happened to the original pages mh. =(

another 3 minutes later...

5 found the manual pages of Spectrum 512 =D

It says:

"Up to 48 colors can be used in one scanline. If you use color number 49 in a scanline, one color will be killed and replaced by the most similar existing one in this line."

It also says:

"Spectrum 512 needs about 80 percent of CPU time to display all 512 colors at the same time. To avoid slowing down several operations we turn off the color view in the meantime."

User avatar
CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1136
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Postby CiH » Thu Feb 02, 2006 8:28 pm

"Spectrum 512 needs about 80 percent of CPU time to display all 512 colors at the same time. To avoid slowing down several operations we turn off the color view in the meantime."


I seem to remember a similar restriction for Quantum Paint. You couldn't see what you were doing, colourwise, until you actually did it.

And yes, it was a pig to use!
"Where teh feck is teh Hash key on this Mac?!"

User avatar
Dark Willow
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 676
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 10:59 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby Dark Willow » Sat Feb 04, 2006 8:32 am

Spectrum 512 was one of the best applications for full colour palette painintg. It does actually support all 4096 cols as well, not 512 as the name suggests. I tried it once and was quite impressed, but gods, it is damned slow if you used to using a modern mac or pc paint program
TT030, 10mb/16mb, 3.5" SCSI multi-card reader (2gb CF/512mb SD), Matrix TC1006 gfx card, EtherNEC, Epson GT scanner, VanillaMint | 1040STe, 4mb, TOS 1.62, MegaFile 60, SM125 | Lynx II | 800XL, 64k, 1050 disk drive, XC12 tape deck, MicroLink parallel adapter

PuppySoft:Projects & More


Social Media

     

Return to “Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests