Page 2 of 3

Re: Texel sources available

Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2020 3:32 am
by 8bitguy1
so is there a full english version of 2.3?

Re: Texel sources available

Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2020 7:29 am
by Cyprian
mikro wrote:
ThorstenOtto wrote:using different names for the functions makes it impossible to load sheets created by the german version with the english app, or vice versa. I think only the descriptions should be translated there, but not the function names.

IIRC this is "normal" - MS Excel works the same way, at least I remember seeing translated function names for SUM(), AVERAGE() etc in its Slovak flavour (and yes, it looked super weird).


ms excel shows function's name in local language but internally still uses its own function ID.
It means when I open foreign (e.g. created in German) document I'll see local (Polish in my case) function names.

Re: Texel sources available

Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2020 12:37 pm
by TheNameOfTheGame
That's the right way to do it imo.

Re: Texel sources available

Posted: Sat Mar 21, 2020 7:55 pm
by sashapont
Is it possible to compile it for firebee?

Re: Texel sources available

Posted: Sat Mar 21, 2020 10:00 pm
by ragnar76
imho: i dont think that pure pascal has a coldfire target but i could be wrong but i would be happy to see it to :)

Re: Texel sources available

Posted: Sun Mar 22, 2020 6:09 am
by gstoll
sashapont wrote:Is it possible to compile it for firebee?

Not with Pure Pascal. It support only 68000, 020/03.

8bitguy1 wrote:so is there a full english version of 2.3?

Not full english, but the most text are also in english.

Re: Texel sources available

Posted: Sun Mar 22, 2020 7:39 am
by vido
sashapont wrote:Is it possible to compile it for firebee?

Old versions of Texel works ok with 68kemu on the FireBee.
I believe new versions of Texel will work the same.

Did you try with 68kemu?

Re: Texel sources available

Posted: Sun Mar 22, 2020 8:17 am
by sashapont
no :( New version is hang

Re: Texel sources available

Posted: Sun Mar 22, 2020 8:49 am
by vido
sashapont wrote:no :( New version is hang


It works on my FireBee really nice!

Re: Texel sources available

Posted: Sun Mar 22, 2020 10:01 am
by PeterS
Many years ago I switched from NAES to Xaaes and the Texel radio buttons and some other dialogue box things don't work properly.

I think it is a clash between ObjectGEM and Xaaes but it would be nice to see a fix somewhere.

Re: Texel sources available

Posted: Sun Mar 22, 2020 9:41 pm
by ragnar76
so, someone has build a release yet?

Re: Texel sources available

Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2020 9:51 am
by vido
ragnar76 wrote:so, someone has build a release yet?

Yes you can find link to the binnaries in this thread.

Re: Texel sources available

Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2020 10:47 am
by ragnar76
vido wrote:
ragnar76 wrote:so, someone has build a release yet?

Yes you can find link to the binnaries in this thread.

Oh, yes. Didnt See it

Re: Texel sources available

Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2020 12:14 pm
by vido
sashapont wrote:no :( New version is hang

Did you try again?
If it still dont work copy 68kemu into texel directory and drop texel binaries to 68kemu with the mouse.
That way it works in my case.

Re: Texel sources available

Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2020 2:00 pm
by ragnar76
vido wrote:
sashapont wrote:no :( New version is hang

Did you try again?
If it still dont work copy 68kemu into texel directory and drop texel binaries to 68kemu with the mouse.
That way it works in my case.

I've tested it a few times and it's not working reliable on my firebee. Without 68kemu it just crashes and gives me an alertbox. with 68kemu it sometimes work but very often the firebee just hangs and in worst cases i get a black screen and i have to turn it off, wait a few seconds and start it again.

Re: Texel sources available

Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2020 2:04 pm
by joska
Looks like vido is using MyAES and not XaAES. As Peter pointed out, Texel does not work properly under XaAES.

Re: Texel sources available

Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2020 2:20 pm
by vido
joska wrote:Looks like vido is using MyAES and not XaAES. As Peter pointed out, Texel does not work properly under XaAES.

Oh, yes. As Joska says ... I am using MyAES mostly.
And I dont use Texel much but for now I dont have problems with it under 68kemu.

Re: Texel sources available

Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2020 5:46 pm
by PeterS
I just tried the download of Vn 2.3 on the Milan with XaAES and it looks like the dialogue issues have been fixed. They look more like normal OS radio buttons and check boxes. This is good news.

I had opened a few files from the menu but when I hit ctrl-O it locked up. Mouse movement only.

Re: Texel sources available

Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2020 6:50 pm
by gstoll
PeterS wrote:I had opened a few files from the menu but when I hit ctrl-O it locked up. Mouse movement only.

Do you see the fileselector or when it locked up?

Re: Texel sources available

Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2020 10:21 pm
by PeterS
Hmm good question. I can't remember.

I tried to repeat it but couldn't get it to happen again.

Previously I had been testing the behaviour with ctrl-insert and ctrl-shift-insert.

Re: Texel sources available

Posted: Tue Mar 24, 2020 7:06 am
by sashapont
vido wrote:
sashapont wrote:no :( New version is hang

Did you try again?
If it still dont work copy 68kemu into texel directory and drop texel binaries to 68kemu with the mouse.
That way it works in my case.

Yes it works with 68kemu. Thank you!

Re: Texel sources available

Posted: Tue Mar 24, 2020 6:28 pm
by PeterS
PeterS wrote:Hmm good question. I can't remember.

I tried to repeat it but couldn't get it to happen again.

Previously I had been testing the behaviour with ctrl-insert and ctrl-shift-insert.



There was no file selector on the screen when it froze.

Re: Texel sources available

Posted: Wed Mar 25, 2020 11:37 am
by ThorstenOtto
The system unit of PP seems to have a similar problem in _fillchar than the memset() function of PureC:

Code: Select all

_fillchar:
[0000083a] 4a80                      tst.l      d0
[0000083c] 6f00 00cc                 ble        $0000090A
[00000840] d1c0                      adda.l     d0,a0
[00000842] 1f01                      move.b     d1,-(a7)
[00000844] 341f                      move.w     (a7)+,d2
[00000846] 1401                      move.b     d1,d2
[00000848] 3202                      move.w     d2,d1
[0000084a] 4841                      swap       d1
[0000084c] 3202                      move.w     d2,d1


That pushes a byte on the stack, then pops a word. The 68k decreases the SP by 2 when pushing a byte on the stack, so this is essentially the same as shift left by 8. However, iirc this gives problems when run on coldfire. At least, for Pure-C, i'm using a patched version of pcstdlib.lib.

It could be patched by replacing

Code: Select all

1f01                      move.b     d1,-(a7)
341f                      move.w     (a7)+,d2
1401                      move.b     d1,d2


by

Code: Select all

1401                      move.b     d1,d2
e18a                      lsl.l      #8,d2
1401                      move.b     d1,d2

Re: Texel sources available

Posted: Wed Mar 25, 2020 12:48 pm
by vido
ThorstenOtto wrote:That pushes a byte on the stack, then pops a word. The 68k decreases the SP by 2 when pushing a byte on the stack, so this is essentially the same as shift left by 8. However, iirc this gives problems when run on coldfire. At least, for Pure-C, i'm using a patched version of pcstdlib.lib.

Just theoretical question Otto.
Is such way possible to replace coldfire unfriendly asm commands?

Re: Texel sources available

Posted: Wed Mar 25, 2020 2:13 pm
by gstoll
PeterS wrote:
PeterS wrote:Hmm good question. I can't remember.
I tried to repeat it but couldn't get it to happen again.
Previously I had been testing the behaviour with ctrl-insert and ctrl-shift-insert.

There was no file selector on the screen when it froze.

Now I am a bit confused. Did ist happen all time or only sometimes.


ThorstenOtto wrote:At least, for Pure-C, i'm using a patched version of pcstdlib.lib.

I patched my SYSTEM.PPU. We will see, when I make a new version.