Netsurf

All about the serious stuff.

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

emcclariion
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:37 pm

Re: Netsurf

Postby emcclariion » Wed Jun 26, 2019 7:18 am

will test tonight mate.

test machine will be a TT.
Atari TT Nova card Mach64, Lightning VME, 64MB of RAM, Mega STE 4MB, Nova mach 32 and Atari STE 4MB TOS 2.06 Netusb Ultrasatan 2, Atari Falcon 14Mb

PeterS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 249
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:53 pm
Location: England, GB

Re: Netsurf

Postby PeterS » Wed Jun 26, 2019 8:23 am

LynXX wrote:Ok, Atari CI builds are working again, but noone was able to test them: https://ci.netsurf-browser.org/builds/atari/

Could someone familiar with NetSurf test it and report there or on #netsurf on Freenode?

Thanks!


Fantastic, I wasn't expecting such a quick fix. I will test tonight on a Milan.

emcclariion
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:37 pm

Re: Netsurf

Postby emcclariion » Wed Jun 26, 2019 6:02 pm

works fine on a TT :)

still slower than hell but works fine
Atari TT Nova card Mach64, Lightning VME, 64MB of RAM, Mega STE 4MB, Nova mach 32 and Atari STE 4MB TOS 2.06 Netusb Ultrasatan 2, Atari Falcon 14Mb

PeterS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 249
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:53 pm
Location: England, GB

Re: Netsurf

Postby PeterS » Wed Jun 26, 2019 6:55 pm

Working here on the Milan. Will let the netsurf users list know.

Many thanks.

Bengy
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 12:07 am

Re: Netsurf

Postby Bengy » Thu Jun 27, 2019 10:49 am

I did test this yesterday on the FireBee - it was freezing upon load, but will make sure it wasn't anything on my end today.

Are there specific features/areas to test?

ThorstenOtto
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 654
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: Netsurf

Postby ThorstenOtto » Thu Jun 27, 2019 11:22 am

Works in aranym. Seems to be slightly slower than previous versions, and i get some SSL verification errors (but maybe that is the usual problem of an outdated certficate database).

m0n0
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 425
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 3:13 am

Re: Netsurf

Postby m0n0 » Thu Jun 27, 2019 6:46 pm

There was an bug in the Makefile, so that it did not locate the strip executable:

http://git.netsurf-browser.org/netsurf. ... 7a7dff8384

Many thanks to Vincent Sanders and Michael Drake for fixing it!

Bengy
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 12:07 am

Re: Netsurf

Postby Bengy » Thu Jun 27, 2019 8:46 pm

m0n0 wrote:There was an bug in the Makefile, so that it did not locate the strip executable:

http://git.netsurf-browser.org/netsurf. ... 7a7dff8384

Many thanks to Vincent Sanders and Michael Drake for fixing it!


Great will test this out tomorrow! Nice work everyone

sety
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2017 12:42 am

Re: Netsurf

Postby sety » Fri Jun 28, 2019 9:45 am

Looking great on CT60 Falcon without SuperVidel. (TC done with bus mod and non-fussy monitor)
ATARI FALCON/CT60 @99/25Mhz 512MB - ATARI FALCON/CT60e @101.5/16Mhz 256MB - 520STF 1MB TF68020 - 520ST unmodified (my very first computer) - A couple of useless XE's - and a really cool Atari desktop calculator :)

sety
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2017 12:42 am

Re: Netsurf

Postby sety » Fri Jun 28, 2019 10:06 am

Actually, it's better than great. It's fantastic!

Netsurf.JPG


I am seriously impressed.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
ATARI FALCON/CT60 @99/25Mhz 512MB - ATARI FALCON/CT60e @101.5/16Mhz 256MB - 520STF 1MB TF68020 - 520ST unmodified (my very first computer) - A couple of useless XE's - and a really cool Atari desktop calculator :)

PeterS
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 249
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:53 pm
Location: England, GB

Re: Netsurf

Postby PeterS » Fri Jun 28, 2019 10:59 am

I've been using it for several years. It does render pages well but can be very slow with some pages taking 5-10 minutes to download on a Milan 060 at 50MHz.

I don't think it is a simple cpu horse-power issue, I get the impression that other 060 platforms do better but it would be great if someone could do a comparison.

mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1996
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Netsurf

Postby mikro » Fri Jun 28, 2019 1:33 pm

There's no way that with a decent (several hundreds KB/s) speed a webpage is downloading several minutes. I'm pretty confident that what are you seeing *is* a horse-power issue because of all that javascript, css etc nonsense. Try to fire up Chrome on a 300-400 MHz CPU.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12707
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Netsurf

Postby wongck » Sat Jun 29, 2019 1:34 am

PeterS wrote:I don't think it is a simple cpu horse-power issue, I get the impression that other 060 platforms do better but it would be great if someone could do a comparison.


A single thread on my 6 year old iCore is like several times faster than the 060 at 50Mhz.
I think most web pages developer assumes you have at least 2 of such threads to use if not more.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

ThorstenOtto
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 654
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: Netsurf

Postby ThorstenOtto » Sat Jun 29, 2019 4:09 am

Q: We've got now those superfast, hypermodern, multithreaded cores. How can we throttle them down again, so that the user is forced to buy new PCs in the future?

A: Lets use more of that funny CSS things. And while we are at it, use high-resolution images of several MBs as background, ADs etc.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12707
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Netsurf

Postby wongck » Sat Jun 29, 2019 9:34 am

ThorstenOtto wrote:A: Lets use more of that funny CSS things. And while we are at it, use high-resolution images of several MBs as background, ADs etc.

May seems like a joke, but it is true.... it is a conspiracy.

Chrome is already choking with all those hi-rez graphics that they have to implement lazy loading in the current version.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
trecool
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 133
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2016 2:49 pm
Location: Greece

Re: Netsurf

Postby trecool » Sat Jun 29, 2019 6:03 pm

A usable non-TC version would be nice to have.

m0n0
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 425
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 3:13 am

Re: Netsurf

Postby m0n0 » Sat Jun 29, 2019 11:34 pm

trecool wrote:A usable non-TC version would be nice to have.


Which/how many machines are out there that do not support TC, but offer near enough performance/resources for an application like netsurf?

Also, running under palette based systems requires pixel-value to palette-index conversion, which requires even more RAM and CPU time.

You can disable images & background images and set the font plotter to the VDI or NetSurf internal one in the configuration file, It should work under 2-256 colors then. Some details are described in the faq.txt, bundled with the netsurf ci build.

But both font plotters seem to be buggy :-( The VDI plotter fails on some strings at the UTF82VDI routine, and the internal one seems to go wild during rendering phase.

I tested the latest CI build under aranym, it seems to reflow the page layout when resizing the window, nice feature. :-)

User avatar
trecool
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 133
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2016 2:49 pm
Location: Greece

Re: Netsurf

Postby trecool » Sun Jun 30, 2019 12:45 pm

Well..not many :roll: I was hoping there would be some use on CT60 Falcon, but haven't thought that convertion would be needed.
Got it! Thanks for the educational post!

m0n0
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 425
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 3:13 am

Re: Netsurf

Postby m0n0 » Thu Aug 15, 2019 5:00 pm

There were some changes to NetSurf, the http login dialog is now embedded into the Browser-Window. Is someone willing to test this with the latest CI build:

https://ci.netsurf-browser.org/builds/atari/?C=M;O=D

I tested the build, but I do not have networking setup in my aranym installation, so I can not access a webserver (with authentication enabled) within aranym.

Also, there was a ask for help for SSL errors on the mailing list:

https://listmaster.pepperfish.net/pipermail/netsurf-users-netsurf-browser.org/2019-August/014435.html

It would be fine if someone is willing to add a translation or test the new feature. :)

emcclariion
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:37 pm

Re: Netsurf

Postby emcclariion » Fri Aug 16, 2019 8:11 am

I will test it tonight on my TT, my Falcon just will not even start the last version
Atari TT Nova card Mach64, Lightning VME, 64MB of RAM, Mega STE 4MB, Nova mach 32 and Atari STE 4MB TOS 2.06 Netusb Ultrasatan 2, Atari Falcon 14Mb

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4376
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Netsurf

Postby joska » Fri Aug 16, 2019 8:29 am

m0n0 wrote:Which/how many machines are out there that do not support TC, but offer near enough performance/resources for an application like netsurf?


Any CT60-equipped Falcon without graphics card. That's most of them I think. I don't know how many CT60's has been sold over the years, but I would assume this to be the most common "high power" Atari out there.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

vido
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 685
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:39 pm

Re: Netsurf

Postby vido » Sun Aug 18, 2019 3:13 pm

m0n0 wrote:There were some changes to NetSurf, the http login dialog is now embedded into the Browser-Window. Is someone willing to test this with the latest CI build:

https://ci.netsurf-browser.org/builds/atari/?C=M;O=D

I tested the build, but I do not have networking setup in my aranym installation, so I can not access a webserver (with authentication enabled) within aranym.

Also, there was a ask for help for SSL errors on the mailing list:

https://listmaster.pepperfish.net/pipermail/netsurf-users-netsurf-browser.org/2019-August/014435.html

It would be fine if someone is willing to add a translation or test the new feature. :)

I would like to test a web authentication but is there any web page on the net with http login enabled?

I tried the latest version of the NetSurf with my FireBee. It works but when I try to browe the acp development forun there apears dialog with the text "Unknown" and nothing else. It doesnt crash but I cant view the page.


Social Media

     

Return to “Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests