Page 1 of 1

Microsoft Write - TT compatible?

Posted: Sun Apr 28, 2019 8:17 pm
by EmpireAndrew
I grabbed a copy of Microsoft Writ from Atari Mania but when I ran it under MINT I got a memory violation (and the utility I use to edit flags won't let me edit this one). Under the standard TOS I got 2 bombs...

I'm using NVDI 5, not GDOS, however from looking up the manual online, it seems it didn't need GDOS despite coming with it.

Is it just a bad copy of Write or is it just incompatible?

I see the 2 bombs were reported on this thread:
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=8663&p=66375&hilit=microsoft+write#p66375

and a different copy of the program was attached (longer by 1 byte) that the OP said didn't bomb, but it still bombs for me... :shrug:

Re: Microsoft Write - TT compatible?

Posted: Fri May 03, 2019 4:51 am
by tenox
Try running without NVDI or any extensions. I use it from time to time no problem. Also you should post it in TT and not ST forum :)

Re: Microsoft Write - TT compatible?

Posted: Fri May 03, 2019 5:32 am
by Frank B
It two bombs out on me. I have fast ram in my TT. Might be that.

Re: Microsoft Write - TT compatible?

Posted: Fri May 03, 2019 10:06 am
by EmpireAndrew
tenox wrote:Also you should post it in TT and not ST forum :)


I forgot there was a 32-bit section! :oops:

Re: Microsoft Write - TT compatible?

Posted: Fri May 03, 2019 10:20 am
by Cyprian
tenox wrote:Also you should post it in TT and not ST forum :)

wouldn't be better to have one subforum forum for ST/TT/Falcon and an other for clones?
Demos, Professionals, Codings section are in most of cases common for all 16/32bit Ataris.