Installers than expect floppies

All about the serious stuff.

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

thedavegray
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2011 2:37 pm
Location: Bedford, UK.

Installers than expect floppies

Postby thedavegray » Fri Sep 21, 2018 5:30 pm

Hello,

I have Hisoft Basic on my PC in the form of folders; disk1, disk2 & disk3 and would like to install on
my Arati STE HD (UltraSatan). I know I can copy them onto the SD on the PC then switch it to the ST and just run, however
this program is meant to be installed and the installer expects a floppy.

I'm sure this has been asked a load of times but how to I make a floppy image on my PC that I can use on the
ST without an actual floppy? My floppy drive is not working and I don't really want to replace it as I now have
the UltraSatan.

Thanks

User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2407
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: Installers than expect floppies

Postby charles » Fri Sep 21, 2018 5:34 pm

USE STEEM ? THE FIRST VERSION .. IT MAKES DISK IMAGES .
BUT TRY USING STEEM TO WORK YOUR SENERIO OUT IN VIRTUAL FORM
U CAN HAVE A C DRIVE AND THEN REMOVE THE DISK IMAGE FOR DRIVE A AND B....
ISNT THERE A SETTING IN HISOFT CONFIG WHERE TO BOOT ,???
The radioactive half-life : )
Atari is a lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! ! Im printing unreadable characters ...!

thedavegray
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2011 2:37 pm
Location: Bedford, UK.

Re: Installers than expect floppies

Postby thedavegray » Sun Sep 23, 2018 6:29 pm

charles wrote:USE STEEM ? THE FIRST VERSION .. IT MAKES DISK IMAGES .
BUT TRY USING STEEM TO WORK YOUR SENERIO OUT IN VIRTUAL FORM
U CAN HAVE A C DRIVE AND THEN REMOVE THE DISK IMAGE FOR DRIVE A AND B....
ISNT THERE A SETTING IN HISOFT CONFIG WHERE TO BOOT ,???


Hi,
Thanks for the info. Ok so I know how I can copy files from Windows into the folder that is mapped as an HD in Steem, I can then copy them
to a blank disk in Steem, however how do I use these on a real ST as if they are FDD?

Yes I think you can install Hisoft Basic from a folder and re-point when it promps for the second disk - haven't tried than yet though. I guess I'm just asking for stuff that expects to be loaded from a FDD when I have no FDD on my STE.

Thanks

User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2407
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: Installers than expect floppies

Postby charles » Sun Sep 23, 2018 10:26 pm

I had win xp a with a disk drive and would format a disk using the msdos prompt 720kb
this isn't a 100% compatible Atari disk but it lets you drag and drop within steem.

for instance
open steem

access where your files are
ex: drive a in steem
open to see files
drag and drop to HARD drive d (which you have previously assigned in steem config to desktop of pc)
then once these files from emulator are on destop of pc
close down steem and proceed to
copy them as u would normal files to your pc's floppy drive ....

must have a real floppy disk and real drive on your pc for this to work tho !!!!
The radioactive half-life : )
Atari is a lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! ! Im printing unreadable characters ...!


Social Media

     

Return to “Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests