ST and STE files

All about the serious stuff.

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

rthorntn
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat May 19, 2018 3:50 am
Location: Sydney

ST and STE files

Postby rthorntn » Thu Jun 28, 2018 8:17 am

Hi,

I'm a newbie please be gentle.

I have some files with *.ST *.STX and some HD zips that have all sorts of files with a bunch of different extensions inside, can these run on my MSTE?

Thanks.

Richard
MSTE (4MB, 2.06) + Lightning VME + SCSI2SD 5.1

User avatar
Atarieterno
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 785
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 3:40 pm
Location: Spain

Re: ST and STE files

Postby Atarieterno » Thu Jun 28, 2018 9:21 am

These extensions are diskette images, for the emulator function of floppy drive that have devices like Gotek, CosmosEx, etc. I do not work with disk images and what I do is convert them into simple directories with their files, using the Peter Putnik's excellent program:

http://atari.8bitchip.info/floimgd.php

I copy the content of those images on hard disk, CF, Pendrive, SD, etc; even on real floppy disks.

FloIMG (Peter Putnik).png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
ST/fm/e, STacy, Mega ST/e, TT, Falcon, C-Lab MKX... and more music tools.

rthorntn
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat May 19, 2018 3:50 am
Location: Sydney

Re: ST and STE files

Postby rthorntn » Fri Jun 29, 2018 4:37 am

Thanks!
MSTE (4MB, 2.06) + Lightning VME + SCSI2SD 5.1

rthorntn
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat May 19, 2018 3:50 am
Location: Sydney

Re: ST and STE files

Postby rthorntn » Fri Jun 29, 2018 5:58 am

OK so I used floimage to extract the program file and 41 data files and put them in a directory on c: the program runs but the game never starts, is there something special I have to do, the PRG file was in an AUTO folder?

Do games have to be further adapted (patched for a hard disk install), it also sounds like 2.06 and/or 16Mhz can cause issues also, are these adaptions something I can do??

The "Atari ST game adaptated" site seem to provide versions that overcome all of the above problems and it does, the same game from there works perfectly.
MSTE (4MB, 2.06) + Lightning VME + SCSI2SD 5.1

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2684
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: ST and STE files

Postby alexh » Fri Jun 29, 2018 8:53 am

Your MegaSTe has a hard drive (You've got a SCSI2SD?) so first thing to look at is HDD installs from PPera, DBug and many others.

rthorntn
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat May 19, 2018 3:50 am
Location: Sydney

Re: ST and STE files

Postby rthorntn » Fri Jun 29, 2018 11:50 pm

Thanks alexh, I created a signature :D
MSTE (4MB, 2.06) + Lightning VME + SCSI2SD 5.1


Social Media

     

Return to “Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests