Install MagiC alongside Mint ?

All about the serious stuff.

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

User avatar
Sturm
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 144
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2016 1:51 pm
Location: France

Install MagiC alongside Mint ?

Postby Sturm » Tue Mar 27, 2018 2:48 pm

Hello,

I would like to install MagiC on my Falcon, but i’m not sure where to start.
It seems it will install into C:/Gemsys, but there are a lot of files already in there (probably from Mint?), is there’s a risk to mess everything?
I will use xboot to choose the OS, but are there specific files to put in the auto folder or a special version for the ct60e?
It seems Jinnee is a good UI for MagiC, but how to install it ?

I’ve been unable to find the MagiC 6.2 version, could anyone provide a link please?
Thank you !

User avatar
Sturm
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 144
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2016 1:51 pm
Location: France

Re: Install MagiC alongside Mint ?

Postby Sturm » Tue Mar 27, 2018 9:37 pm

I managed to intall MagiC, and it works quite fine in 030 mode, but i got some errors if i try to change an icon.
In CT60e mode (I installed the patches provided by Didier Mequignon), i got an eror message at startup :

"Offscreen-Treiber nicht gefunden
MCMD wird gestartet
System wird angehalten"
Any ideas ?

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 741
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: Install MagiC alongside Mint ?

Postby Faucon2001 » Tue Mar 27, 2018 10:19 pm

I have installed on the same falcon CT60, Mint 1.19m and Magic 6.2, and select which system I want to boot on with Xboot. It works well.
Install your 2 systems as normal from TOS in 030 mode. Apply the necessary patches. Magic should be started first after Xboot, and Mint generally last in the list after nvdi. Try to start first as clean as possible with the less auto prg and accessories
Check that everything is working in 030 mode before booting in 060 mode.
The only issue I have is that Magic crashes on SCSI disk transfer in 060 mode with extended resolutions (Bus saturation). Mint doesn't crash but you need to activate the videl screen saver during SCSI disk transfer to free up some bus bandwith. IDE transfers are working great.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/

mzry
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 512
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: Install MagiC alongside Mint ?

Postby mzry » Wed Mar 28, 2018 3:40 am

I had that problem when I tried to install the English patch and then the 060 patch. Next time I tried with just the 060 patch and it worked, then I installed Jinee in English mode and that made it my language anyway.
Falcon ct60e 060 - 256mb ram - phantom bus and dsp accel // Atari TT - Thunder and Storm IDE 64mb ram - Lightning VME - USB LAN - Ati Mach64 2mb // Atari STM 4160 - 4MB ram - 16Mhz exxos 1.5 booster - Ultrasatan

User avatar
Sturm
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 144
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2016 1:51 pm
Location: France

Re: Install MagiC alongside Mint ?

Postby Sturm » Wed Mar 28, 2018 6:27 am

Can I just overwrite everything when reinstalling, (with the installer) or should I remove every single file one by one first ?

mzry
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 512
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: Install MagiC alongside Mint ?

Postby mzry » Wed Mar 28, 2018 6:48 am

Just overwrite, should be fine.
Falcon ct60e 060 - 256mb ram - phantom bus and dsp accel // Atari TT - Thunder and Storm IDE 64mb ram - Lightning VME - USB LAN - Ati Mach64 2mb // Atari STM 4160 - 4MB ram - 16Mhz exxos 1.5 booster - Ultrasatan

Playmobil
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 7:40 pm

Re: Install MagiC alongside Mint ?

Postby Playmobil » Wed Mar 28, 2018 10:44 am

Take a look here : viewtopic.php?f=14&t=32323

I'have posted a French version of Magic 6.20

User avatar
Sturm
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 144
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2016 1:51 pm
Location: France

Re: Install MagiC alongside Mint ?

Postby Sturm » Wed Mar 28, 2018 5:33 pm

mzry wrote:I had that problem when I tried to install the English patch and then the 060 patch. Next time I tried with just the 060 patch and it worked, then I installed Jinee in English mode and that made it my language anyway.


I reinstalled the german version only, and then the 060 patch. Only got 4 bombs at startup.
Only thing i could not do was the "MagiC shutdown" part, where it asks to find and replace a hex sequence in "shutdown prg", as the sequence is too long and exceeds what you can search with Diskdoctor.
Also, I don't know where to put the .src folder

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 741
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: Install MagiC alongside Mint ?

Postby Faucon2001 » Wed Mar 28, 2018 7:18 pm

Sturm wrote:In CT60e mode (I installed the patches provided by Didier Mequignon)

You have not used the latest official patch : please use this one : https://github.com/mikrosk/ct60tos/releases/tag/1.03c
There is a topic talking about Magic 6.2 and CT60e : http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?t=31313
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/

User avatar
Sturm
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 144
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2016 1:51 pm
Location: France

Re: Install MagiC alongside Mint ?

Postby Sturm » Wed Mar 28, 2018 8:22 pm

I did try with this patch too, but no luck either.

But thank you for the link :-)
And yes, I will use to this topic from now on.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12497
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Install MagiC alongside Mint ?

Postby wongck » Wed Mar 28, 2018 10:54 pm

Sturm wrote:It seems it will install into C:/Gemsys, but there are a lot of files already in there (probably from Mint?), is there’s a risk to mess everything?

I used to have such a configuration on my Atari, but now I only use Mint.
Mint seems more fun to "play" with for trying new stuff and software development, for me anyway.

That GEMSYS folder is full of stuff because both MagiC and NVDI stores stuff in it by default.
And if you get MyAES, you get even more in the GEMSYS folder :lol: :lol:
Mint does not store anything in GEMSYS unless you knowingly put it there like your SDL, LDG etc.
I don't think it will mess up anything as each major software uses different filenames, and you should be able to note & deduce each.
It's not like Windoze DLL hell, where you have different versions of DLL with different API/parameter calls that crashes applications. :wink:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
Sturm
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 144
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2016 1:51 pm
Location: France

Re: Install MagiC alongside Mint ?

Postby Sturm » Thu Mar 29, 2018 4:49 pm

It works now. I disabled XBoot III, and MagiC now boots in 060 mode !


Social Media

     

Return to “Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests