TOS Apps unstable in Aranym?

All about the serious stuff.

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

epoch32
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 7:43 am

TOS Apps unstable in Aranym?

Postby epoch32 » Mon Mar 19, 2018 10:08 am

I have a problem when running tos apps like qed, mxplay and st-zip in freemint inside aranym. Whenever I open one of these apps, close them, and open them again, I could not open them anymore causing a crash. But that's not all, once a single app crashes and refuses to open, I can't open others anymore. Causing a reboot of the emulator. It's incredibly annoying especially when exiting stuff with File selectors like st-zip because other apps won't open anymore. Is there any solution to this? Please help.

FreeMiNT 1.18.0 + EASE v5 + FVDI + MyAES 0.96 is what i'm using atm.

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2357
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: TOS Apps unstable in Aranym?

Postby lp » Mon Mar 19, 2018 1:45 pm

I use araynm for hours coding asm with multiple test crashes and it never goes down. I am using NAES/Thing Desktop. Only problem I have is with QED. QED will freeze up after several hours of heavy editing with cut/paste. I have to kill QED twice and then QED won't run after that, forcing me to restart.

epoch32
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 7:43 am

Re: TOS Apps unstable in Aranym?

Postby epoch32 » Mon Mar 19, 2018 1:50 pm

What? Mine if one app crashes, I cant open up other apps anymore resulting in a hard reboot.

epoch32
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 7:43 am

Re: TOS Apps unstable in Aranym?

Postby epoch32 » Mon Mar 19, 2018 1:56 pm

What? Mine if one app crashes, I can't open up others anymore. Sometimes that's not the case. What's causing these instabilities? AES? FS? Desktop? Or App?

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2357
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: TOS Apps unstable in Aranym?

Postby lp » Mon Mar 19, 2018 3:18 pm

You are using different components, AES and Desktop. Perhaps try swap them out, one at a time and see if the problem goes away.

epoch32
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 7:43 am

Re: TOS Apps unstable in Aranym?

Postby epoch32 » Tue Mar 20, 2018 6:53 am

lp wrote:You are using different components, AES and Desktop. Perhaps try swap them out, one at a time and see if the problem goes away.


I seemed to have solved the problem by doing 2 things: Update myAES to 0.97 and make FVDI boot from mint.CNF. My guess is that fvdi is causing the problem since people have said that FVDI is causing issues when being opened from the AUTO folder.

I have two problems/questions now:
1. Why won't sound work in Aranym? Even after installing zmagxsnd.prg, playing mp3 files still result in a garbled mess.
2. How do I add icons for apps for EASE v5?

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2357
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: TOS Apps unstable in Aranym?

Postby lp » Tue Mar 20, 2018 8:43 am

Make sure its the latest version of zmagxsnd.prg from http://didierm.pagesperso-orange.fr
It works for me on my mac, although samples have a bit of a snap/pop at the end.
Last edited by lp on Sat May 05, 2018 1:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

epoch32
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 7:43 am

Re: TOS Apps unstable in Aranym?

Postby epoch32 » Tue Mar 20, 2018 8:51 am

lp wrote:https://www.dev-docs.org/docs/htm/search.php?find=Ease+desktop -> manuals

As for the sound , make sure its the latest version of zmagxsnd.prg from http://didierm.pagesperso-orange.fr
It works for me on my mac, although samples have a bit of a snap/pop at the end.


Thanks! Will try later. Another thing, I couldn't get tap networking in windows 10. I installed the tap driver from openvpn.org and configured it to share internet with my main nic. The problem is that aranym doesn't detect it despite having correct values in cfg file and it renamed to tap0 in the control panel. It leaves me with this:

WinTap: ERROR: Could not find Windows tap device: The operation completed successfully.

I have this in my config file:

[ETH0]
Type = ptp
Tunnel = tap0
HostIP = 192.168.0.13
AtariIP = 192.168.0.14
Netmask = 255.255.255.0
MAC = 00:41:45:54:48:30

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2357
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: TOS Apps unstable in Aranym?

Postby lp » Tue Mar 20, 2018 9:23 am

I have the the mac version online, but it doesn't require the tap driver. Maybe some windows 10 user will chime in.

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1729
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: TOS Apps unstable in Aranym?

Postby mikro » Tue Mar 20, 2018 9:36 am

lp wrote:As for the sound , make sure its the latest version of zmagxsnd.prg from http://didierm.pagesperso-orange.fr
It works for me on my mac, although samples have a bit of a snap/pop at the end.

Actually you don't need this anymore if using a fairly recent EmuTOS.

epoch32
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 7:43 am

Re: TOS Apps unstable in Aranym?

Postby epoch32 » Tue Mar 20, 2018 10:07 am

But why does it still trail prev sounds?

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 718
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: TOS Apps unstable in Aranym?

Postby Faucon2001 » Tue Mar 20, 2018 11:30 am

You have to set the sample rate and if the sound is going to be mono or stereo in Aranym config file manually. Try to decrease the sample rate (from 44100 to 22050) and choose mono may help.
In fact it depends on the power of your processor, on interactions with the system, and if your are using Aranym in standard or in JIT mode. I don’t use windows, but sounds works great in JIT with Linux and OSX on a low power setup @44,1khz , but needs to be decreased at 22,05khz in standard mode.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/

epoch32
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 7:43 am

Re: TOS Apps unstable in Aranym?

Postby epoch32 » Tue Mar 20, 2018 11:41 am

Thanks i'll have to try that later. Also I had to replace ease as my desktop because it didn't have av server functionality.

epoch32
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 7:43 am

Re: TOS Apps unstable in Aranym?

Postby epoch32 » Tue Mar 20, 2018 11:42 am

*replaced it with thing 1.27e

epoch32
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 7:43 am

Re: TOS Apps unstable in Aranym?

Postby epoch32 » Tue Mar 20, 2018 2:15 pm

How do I set trucolor backgounds for jinnee? I've been seeing screenshots of jinnee with really nice backdrops online however when I do it, the icon labels disappear. I really want to use jinnee but this problem annoys me to no end

User avatar
jfl
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 860
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:55 pm
Location: Liège, Belgium
Contact:

Re: TOS Apps unstable in Aranym?

Postby jfl » Wed Mar 21, 2018 10:18 am

epoch32 wrote:How do I set trucolor backgounds for jinnee? I've been seeing screenshots of jinnee with really nice backdrops online however when I do it, the icon labels disappear. I really want to use jinnee but this problem annoys me to no end

I don't use MyAES but I seem to remember it's a known issue with Jinnee, relating to the way it draws its icons. You might find info about this in the MyAES threads on the forum.
Jean-François
GEMDict – GEMClip


Social Media

     

Return to “Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests