XBoot 3 question !

All about the serious stuff.

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

nagual
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 306
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 10:15 am

XBoot 3 question !

Postby nagual » Mon Jan 22, 2018 1:41 pm

Well, as a lot of Atari users I also use XBoot 3 and, generally, it works..
But...

When I try to use XBoot on some emulators which use native host file system (NTFS/FAT32 mostly), I can make almost everything unless changing PRG order - busy bee is show and that's it, nothing happend - I can wait for hours without success :-\
Of course, I can manually edit PRG order via SETS.DAT file.

In a same time, all emulators working with images installing by HDDriver (like Aranym) works like charm.

So, my question is - is it problem with file system Xboot don't understand (NTFS/FAT32) , or something else ?


Cheers! :cheers:

itaboy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 6:24 pm

Re: XBoot 3 question !

Postby itaboy » Mon Jan 22, 2018 4:06 pm

Well the fact is that on an Atari file system the program order is respected because the programs are executed in the order they were written.. reordering means deleting them and rewriting them in the wanted order. On a NTFS/FAT32 this is simply not possible. The only order being the alphabetical order...

nagual
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 306
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 10:15 am

Re: XBoot 3 question !

Postby nagual » Mon Jan 22, 2018 7:17 pm

Thanks for explanation:-)

So, I can make order manually:-)

MetalCruncher
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2011 6:34 pm
Location: Dk

Re: XBoot 3 question !

Postby MetalCruncher » Tue Jan 23, 2018 1:29 am

No, not really: NTFS "presorts" everything its own way. Booting the EMU from a host-folder will always give the the sequence
Windows wants - not what you or the EMU/XBoot want!!!
There is a trick though: Rename all auto-prgs with numbers; but that's running on thin ice, if any of the autos expect to find
itself in the auto-folder, the ice is broken and you and the EMU will be in deep waters!
Really always boot from a disk-image, mind that many autos do quite a lot of file manipulation on start-up expecting to find
a gemdos filesystem.
Cubase, (Mega)ST(e)(fm), TT, Falcon, Jaguar, MiST.

nagual
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 306
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 10:15 am

Re: XBoot 3 question !

Postby nagual » Tue Jan 23, 2018 9:20 am

Yep, my Geneva boot sequence was made with this trick - so far so good:-)
Because, from unknown reason, even manually edited SETS.DAT file refuse to boot Geneva files in proper order:-)

Thank you MetalCruncher for response and this trick:-)


Cheers! :cheers:

MetalCruncher
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2011 6:34 pm
Location: Dk

Re: XBoot 3 question !

Postby MetalCruncher » Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:11 pm

The reason is the same.
All boot-managers do the same: Change the auto-extentions between PRG and PRX, after which they terminate.
The "sets" are just preset lists for the renaming. The booting itself is made by TOS, only MiNT can actively execute
autos; but then it's not TOS anymore!
Cubase, (Mega)ST(e)(fm), TT, Falcon, Jaguar, MiST.


Social Media

     

Return to “Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest