What is the latest Papyrus version?

All about the serious stuff.

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1526
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

What is the latest Papyrus version?

Postby mikro » Sat May 06, 2017 1:52 am

Hi,

just out of curiosity, do anyone still remember what kind of evolution Papyrus went through? I can see at least four different "streams" (latest known version to me):

  • Papyrus (8)
  • Papyrus Gold (7.50a)
  • Papyrus Office (7.50a)
  • Papyrus Word (8.20a)
  • Papyrus X (10.20 with some FireBee beta build based on this?)

Apart from this we can see Papyrus Autor for Mac/Win currently in 8.50 version which is supposed to be based on Papyrus Office 17.10 from 2012.

To me this is greatly confusing. It seems Papyrus and Gold and Office used to be sold parallel to each other (with totally different versioning?), I have no clue about Word and what exactly "Papyrus X" is, it's just normal Papyrus 10.x with fancy name?

User avatar
jfl
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:55 pm
Location: Liège, Belgium
Contact:

Re: What is the latest Papyrus version?

Postby jfl » Sat May 06, 2017 6:23 am

mikro wrote:just out of curiosity, do anyone still remember what kind of evolution Papyrus went through? I can see at least four different "streams" (latest known version to me):

  • Papyrus X (10.20 with some FireBee beta build based on this?)

This is news to me. Where did you read that? And by the way, that would be 10.20A :D
mikro wrote:I have no clue about Word and what exactly "Papyrus X" is, it's just normal Papyrus 10.x with fancy name?

Looks like it. The About box of the English version says "Version X! 10.20A of 25.11.2003". Maybe the "Word" version do not come with the database component? X does and I suppose so does Office.
Jean-François
GEMDict – GEMClip

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1526
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: What is the latest Papyrus version?

Postby mikro » Sat May 06, 2017 10:14 am

The information about FireBee version is taken from http://www.atariuptodate.de/en/266/papyrus but now as I'm reading it again, perhaps the "beta" word refers to FireTOS version. ;)

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 683
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: What is the latest Papyrus version?

Postby Faucon2001 » Sat May 06, 2017 11:07 am

I have papyrus X and this version was published around 2002 (if my memory is good) so, far before Firebee production date.
So I guess it's a misreading.
For me Papyrus X is Papyrus 10.x . It was very fancy in 2002 to call the version 10 -> X : OS X for example ;-)
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

vido
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 567
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:39 pm

Re: What is the latest Papyrus version?

Postby vido » Sat May 06, 2017 6:00 pm

Yes, Papyrus X is Papyrus 10.x which = Papyrus Office.
I think previous version was divided in Papyrus Word and Papyrus Office. I guess Papyrus Word was without database and Papyrus Office for the other plaform had network support for more users.

User avatar
Bikerbob
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

Re: What is the latest Papyrus version?

Postby Bikerbob » Thu Jan 25, 2018 10:13 pm

But what is the last version that will work on a 8+3 file system STE?
I have a Papyrus X and it is all long filename so I assume was ment for the Falcon (does TT do long file names?)

I need an english version that will run on my mega STE 4mb

James

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1526
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: What is the latest Papyrus version?

Postby mikro » Thu Jan 25, 2018 10:31 pm

Bikerbob wrote:I assume was ment for the Falcon (does TT do long file names?)

Long filenames do not depend on the machine but on the OS. Both MagiC and FreeMiNT run on plain ST, too. :)

penguin
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 10:43 am

Re: What is the latest Papyrus version?

Postby penguin » Thu Jan 25, 2018 10:54 pm

mikro wrote:The information about FireBee version is taken from http://www.atariuptodate.de/en/266/papyrus but now as I'm reading it again, perhaps the "beta" word refers to FireTOS version. ;)


If you compare it to other FireBee tested/compatible apps, you will see the "beta" a lot. It refers to FireTOS obviously.
AtariUpToDate - Atari ST/TT/Falcon software database and version tracker: http://www.atariuptodate.de
st-computer magazine - http://st-computer.atariuptodate.de/

User avatar
jfl
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:55 pm
Location: Liège, Belgium
Contact:

Re: What is the latest Papyrus version?

Postby jfl » Fri Jan 26, 2018 7:23 am

Bikerbob wrote:But what is the last version that will work on a 8+3 file system STE?
I have a Papyrus X and it is all long filename so I assume was ment for the Falcon (does TT do long file names?)

I need an english version that will run on my mega STE 4mb

I don't think Papyrus X will be happy with 4MB anyway. I would look for versions 4.*/5.* if I were you. If I remember correctly there were decent English releases at that time.
Jean-François
GEMDict – GEMClip

User avatar
Bikerbob
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

Re: What is the latest Papyrus version?

Postby Bikerbob » Fri Jan 26, 2018 8:02 pm

mikro wrote:
Bikerbob wrote:I assume was ment for the Falcon (does TT do long file names?)

Long filenames do not depend on the machine but on the OS. Both MagiC and FreeMiNT run on plain ST, too. :)


Sure mikro, but after running magiC or MiNT on a ST.. you have about 1mb of memory left.. that wont even start Papyrus.


As for Papyrus X I did get it copied over.. everything that was long file named was not needed to let the program run. I do have it running on the MEGA STE with 4mb @16mhz. Once loaded with NVDI5 I have about 1mb left. SO documents that I could load are also limited. as Papyrus has to keep all the images and fonts etc.. in ram.. and so there were examples of the documents that it would refuse to load.

I have not been able to find Papyrus Gold or (5) in english anywhere. I know it was out.. it was distributed in the UK.

James


Social Media

     

Return to “Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests