Page 1 of 1

XBOOT III 3.20 ENG - Patched!

Posted: Sun Apr 30, 2017 8:11 am
by Gaiyan
Hey,

Please find attached what I believe is the latest version of XBOOT III in English. Trouble is, it crashes when trying to save a set and the date is wrong.

Joska posted a working patched version here: viewtopic.php?f=97&t=31425&p=315338&hilit=bootmanager#p315338. It's an older version and in German. TheNameOfTheGame posted a translation. Both versions work for me.

Can someone take a look at this please? Thanks. Never mind, I had a go at it.

Not patched:
xboot.prg.zip


Edit: Patched (Can't test on a CT60. Let me know if it doesn't work and I'll try a couple of things)
xboot32E.zip


XBOOT III Manual is here (bad quality but I enhanced it)

Atarian Computing downloads section launched!

Re: XBOOT III 3.20 ENG - Needs Patching

Posted: Sun Apr 30, 2017 10:30 am
by Gaiyan
Here's a manual for XBOOT III as a small contribution on my part. It's really crap quality as you can see from the source I used (attached below). I removed attachment to avoid confusion.

Re: XBOOT III 3.20 ENG - Needs Patching

Posted: Sun Apr 30, 2017 1:09 pm
by Faucon2001
You'll find a patched English translated Xboot here : viewtopic.php?f=97&t=31425
Thanks for the manual, I was looking for it :-)

Re: XBOOT III 3.20 ENG - Needs Patching

Posted: Sun Apr 30, 2017 1:13 pm
by Gaiyan
Faucon2001 wrote:You'll find a patched English translated Xboot here : viewtopic.php?f=97&t=31425
Thanks for the manual, I was looking for it :-)


That's the link I linked on the top. That's version 3.02.

Re: XBOOT III 3.20 ENG - Needs Patching

Posted: Sun Apr 30, 2017 1:19 pm
by Faucon2001
What patched version are you looking for?
This one is patched for CT60 and allows to save sets without crashing.
It also works ok in 030 mode. That's the one I use.

Re: XBOOT III 3.20 ENG - Needs Patching

Posted: Sun Apr 30, 2017 2:02 pm
by Gaiyan
Patched version of the 3.20 version I linked in the OP. It's the latest version no one seems to have yet. I have a working 3.02 ENG version. That's not the problem. I'd like to use the latest version.

Re: XBOOT III 3.20 ENG - Needs Patching

Posted: Sun Apr 30, 2017 2:08 pm
by Faucon2001
Opps I mixed 3.02 with 3.2

Re: XBOOT III 3.20 ENG - Needs Patching

Posted: Sun Apr 30, 2017 3:16 pm
by Gaiyan
Here's the Y2K Patcher for 3.1. I wonder if it can be modded to patch 3.2?

xb_patch.zip

Re: XBOOT III 3.20 ENG - Patched!

Posted: Sun Apr 30, 2017 6:08 pm
by Gaiyan
I had a go at patching and it seems to work. Had to do it on a Hex editor as the patcher expected version 3.1. I ended up patching XBOOT.PRG directly. Took a few efforts. Here it is, enjoy!

xboot32E.zip

Re: XBOOT III 3.20 ENG - Patched!

Posted: Mon May 01, 2017 3:17 am
by Faucon2001
Thanks a lot Gaiyan. I have tested it in CT60 mode and it works good ; no crash when saving sets. Well done.

Re: XBOOT III 3.20 ENG - Patched!

Posted: Mon May 01, 2017 3:18 am
by Gaiyan
Faucon2001 wrote:Thanks a lot Gaiyan. I have tested it in CT60 mode and it works good ; no crash when saving sets. Well done.


Good to hear. Thank you.

Re: XBOOT III 3.20 ENG - Patched!

Posted: Mon May 01, 2017 4:34 am
by itaboy
Thank you from me as well... but I'm curious... do you have any idea of what is changed between 3.10 and 3.20?

Re: XBOOT III 3.20 ENG - Patched!

Posted: Mon May 01, 2017 4:36 am
by Gaiyan
itaboy wrote:Thank you from me as well... but I'm curious... do you have any idea of what is changed between 3.10 and 3.20?


You're welcome. No idea. Haven't found any change logs.

Re: XBOOT III 3.20 ENG - Patched!

Posted: Mon May 01, 2017 5:19 pm
by Estrayk
I've a better quality manual, check it.

https://mega.nz/#!7U9XQJCK!AaI8yjJ-qdkl ... hMQLiYN02M

Re: XBOOT III 3.20 ENG - Patched!

Posted: Mon May 01, 2017 5:35 pm
by Gaiyan
Estrayk wrote:I've a better quality manual, check it.

https://mega.nz/#!7U9XQJCK!AaI8yjJ-qdkl ... hMQLiYN02M


Cheers. That's not for version III though.

Re: XBOOT III 3.20 ENG - Patched!

Posted: Tue May 02, 2017 10:32 am
by Atari030
Rock solid on CT2b, fantastic. Thanks.

Re: XBOOT III 3.20 ENG - Patched!

Posted: Tue May 02, 2017 12:24 pm
by wongck
Estrayk wrote:I've a better quality manual, check it.

https://mega.nz/#!7U9XQJCK!AaI8yjJ-qdkl ... hMQLiYN02M



Thank you

Re: XBOOT III 3.20 ENG - Patched!

Posted: Tue May 02, 2017 12:25 pm
by wongck
Gaiyan wrote:I had a go at patching and it seems to work. Had to do it on a Hex editor as the patcher expected version 3.1. I ended up patching XBOOT.PRG directly. Took a few efforts. Here it is, enjoy!

xboot32E.zip



Thank you

Re: XBOOT III 3.20 ENG - Patched!

Posted: Tue May 02, 2017 2:01 pm
by Estrayk
Gaiyan wrote:
Estrayk wrote:I've a better quality manual, check it.

https://mega.nz/#!7U9XQJCK!AaI8yjJ-qdkl ... hMQLiYN02M


Cheers. That's not for version III though.


Ops, sorry, you´re right. :roll:

Re: XBOOT III 3.20 ENG - Patched!

Posted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 6:07 pm
by Bikerbob
Going to add this here rather than a new thread.

I am using this.. Xboot III 3.2 eng patched.

I am following everything as far as I can tell.

I have multi sets. But I want to have a newdesk.inf for each or options anyway.

I have a VME ET4000 / Multisync so I can run low/med/hi..

SO I create a desktops folder (just because) in my root. I create 3-4 different .inf files there..

I boot xbootIII and I choose the .inf file for the set I want.. I boot.. make changes and when I reboot.. it is loading the NEWDESK.inf from the root OR ????

I think I am not saving the changes to the .. save VME.inf file? but to the newdesk.inf? I know xboot copies VME.inf to newdesk.inf before it drops to desktop.. but how do I save changes to VME.inf??? do I have to manually copy over newdesk.inf to VME.inf before I turn the machine off??? because there is nothing in the program that is pointing the desktop to vme.inf when I go to options save desktop .. correct???

James

Re: XBOOT III 3.20 ENG - Patched!

Posted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 8:31 pm
by tuxie
Did someone test it on TT ? for me its not working, my TT crashes when i try to save a set ..