Atari Works and PageStream on Falcon with Mint/XaAes?

All about the serious stuff.

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1112
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Atari Works and PageStream on Falcon with Mint/XaAes?

Postby leech » Mon Dec 19, 2016 11:27 pm

So I decided I wantef to do more than watch demos and play games on the Falcon, so installed pagestream.. can't even get it to not crash.

Installed Atari Works. It loads up well enough, but then text input appears right under the menu bar, not in the editing window (only tried the word processor). I booted without MiNT, and it seems to work just fine. Any ideas?

I have NVDI 5.03 and SpeedoGDOS 5.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4040
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Atari Works and PageStream on Falcon with Mint/XaAes?

Postby joska » Tue Dec 20, 2016 8:18 am

leech wrote:So I decided I wantef to do more than watch demos and play games on the Falcon, so installed pagestream.. can't even get it to not crash.


Pagestream does AFAIK not work on anything else than plain TOS.

leech wrote:Installed Atari Works. It loads up well enough, but then text input appears right under the menu bar, not in the editing window (only tried the word processor). I booted without MiNT, and it seems to work just fine. Any ideas?


I have Atari Works running fine under MiNT/XaAES here, it has been working since 1995. Try deleting it's configuration files.

leech wrote:I have NVDI 5.03 and SpeedoGDOS 5.


Not at the same time I hope? Atari Works is working just fine with NVDI 5.03 under MiNT/XaAES.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1112
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Atari Works and PageStream on Falcon with Mint/XaAes?

Postby leech » Tue Dec 20, 2016 10:00 pm

Hmm, well I only barely installed Atari Works, and thought nvdi was for printing and speeding up drawing on the desktop, while gdos was for scalable fonts. I am guessing by your statement that nvdi also does what gdos does, which could be why there is a notice saying I am running gdos 4.1?

I am pretty sure I tried PageStream under straight TOS 4.04 as well, and it crashed the same way, but I will verify that when I get home.

Thanks for the input.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4040
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Atari Works and PageStream on Falcon with Mint/XaAes?

Postby joska » Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:49 am

leech wrote:I am guessing by your statement that nvdi also does what gdos does, which could be why there is a notice saying I am running gdos 4.1?


Yes, NVDI has it's own GDOS with font support.

leech wrote:I am pretty sure I tried PageStream under straight TOS 4.04 as well, and it crashed the same way, but I will verify that when I get home.


Sounds like a conflict between NVDI and SpeedoGDOS.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 701
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: Atari Works and PageStream on Falcon with Mint/XaAes?

Postby Faucon2001 » Wed Dec 21, 2016 10:23 am

Pagstream doesn't use gdos nor nvdi for fonts and printing. It uses it's own font and printing layer.
Page stream 2.2B is working good on TOS 4.04 and also Magic 6, so your problem seems to be linked to your setup.
As said previously don't use Nvdi 5 and Speedo Gdos at the same time, they will be conflicting.
Try to boot on a clean system without nvdi and gdos on Plain Tos, it should work. If not, your page stream install may be corrupted.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1112
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Atari Works and PageStream on Falcon with Mint/XaAes?

Postby leech » Wed Dec 21, 2016 9:36 pm

Hmm, interesting. I know I tried pagestream before I installed speedogdos, and I will see what other auto thing I have that could be mucking up my pagestream.

Atari Works seems to me to be and issue with something else, since it types the text outside of the window, as if it doesn't know where it should go. I should have some time today to test out the suggestions. Thanks for the heads up about the conflicts.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2166
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Atari Works and PageStream on Falcon with Mint/XaAes?

Postby calimero » Thu Dec 22, 2016 7:54 am

Why would you use PageStream when you have Calamus?
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4040
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Atari Works and PageStream on Falcon with Mint/XaAes?

Postby joska » Thu Dec 22, 2016 10:20 am

leech wrote:Hmm, interesting. I know I tried pagestream before I installed speedogdos, and I will see what other auto thing I have that could be mucking up my pagestream.


Running NVDI 5 and SpeedoGDOS at the same time may very well mess up the VDI which PageStream is using to output graphics to the screen.

leech wrote:Atari Works seems to me to be and issue with something else, since it types the text outside of the window, as if it doesn't know where it should go. I should have some time today to test out the suggestions. Thanks for the heads up about the conflicts.


Same here. NVDI is messing it up for Speedo or Speedo is messing it up for NVDI. Disable SpeedoGDOS and run only NVDI.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1112
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Atari Works and PageStream on Falcon with Mint/XaAes?

Postby leech » Thu Dec 22, 2016 8:37 pm

I think it's the version of Pagestream I have installed, was going to try another one, but unfortunately my NFS mount decided to stop working last night (no clue why, I'm only guessing it's due to my debian unstable system updating nfs somewhere). Once I fix that, I'll try it out again.

On the upside yes it was speedogdos that was mucking up Atari Works, disabled that and now it works fine in MiNT.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12388
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Atari Works and PageStream on Falcon with Mint/XaAes?

Postby wongck » Fri Dec 23, 2016 12:20 pm

I used speedoGDOS when I was working on my PDF maker. I did not get any writing/overwrite issues.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 701
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: Atari Works and PageStream on Falcon with Mint/XaAes?

Postby Faucon2001 » Fri Dec 23, 2016 12:52 pm

Yes Wongck ,speedoGDOS works great with Atari Works, but Leech issue is using both NVDI 5 and speedoGDOS at the same time.
It's possible to use use both at the same time once you have deactivated GDOS functions in NVDI but it has not a lot of meaning to do so excepted for testing your excellent PDF driver, and the running order in Auto folder is critical to achieve it.
So my recommendation for Leech is to use only NVDI for the time being and forget speedo GDOS.

Now thinking more about it, I remember in this forum somebody having issues with Works and Speedo due to bad fonts, and if you remember I had issues with NVDI and FVDI on Aranym due to a corrupted NVDI install, that you helped me to solve. So another reco would be to reinstall NVDI 5.03 with a fresh clean install which can be found easily googling around, and avoid installing exotic fonts until it works.

By the way and out of topic have you solved the clipping issue with your PDF driver and NVDI?
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12388
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Atari Works and PageStream on Falcon with Mint/XaAes?

Postby wongck » Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:53 pm

No I have not solve the issue with NVDI5 clipping.
I may have a crack at it in 1st Q next year.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1112
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Atari Works and PageStream on Falcon with Mint/XaAes?

Postby leech » Sat Dec 31, 2016 6:21 pm

Atari Works is definitely happier with just NVDI. So, out of curiosity, if NVDI provides GDOS 4.1 (which is what the SpeedoGDOS start up said was already loaded) is that an API version thing and maybe SpeedoGDOS 5.0 has newer features / bug fixes? Or is that really just irrelevant and I'm just asking for headaches messing around with it?
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 927
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Atari Works and PageStream on Falcon with Mint/XaAes?

Postby shoggoth » Sat Dec 31, 2016 6:52 pm

Just stop mixing SpeedoGDOS and NVDI. They're not supposed to be mixed, you're causing trouble for yourself.
Ain't no space like PeP-space.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12388
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Atari Works and PageStream on Falcon with Mint/XaAes?

Postby wongck » Sun Jan 01, 2017 3:25 am

leech wrote:Ais that an API version thing and maybe SpeedoGDOS 5.0 has newer features / bug fixes? Or is that really just irrelevant and I'm just asking for headaches messing around with it?

Bug fixes are for itself... ie SpeedoGDOS.
IMHO, NVDI provides more features and richer API.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63/CTPCI+ATI+RTL8139+USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1112
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Atari Works and PageStream on Falcon with Mint/XaAes?

Postby leech » Sun Jan 01, 2017 4:20 am

Cool, thanks for the info. It's been a long time since I had ran any of this stuff, and I never had NVDI or gdos setup ball in the day, since Pagestream doesn't really use them, and I mostly only started playing with more advanced stuff shortly before the hard drive in my Mega STe died back in the day.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)


Social Media

     

Return to “Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests