GFA Debugger

All about the serious stuff.

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

tcat
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 6:00 am

GFA Debugger

Postby tcat » Wed Nov 23, 2016 11:48 am

Hi,

I am looking for GFA Debugger, files>>
`gfa-dbg.prg'
`gfa-dbga.prg'

These are part of GFA Assembler disk, which I have, but debugger is missing on it.

The versions may be around v1.2 (1988) / v1.5 (1989), at least that's what the assembler version is.

Can anyone please point me where to look at?

Many thanks in advance.
Tomas

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2357
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: GFA Debugger

Postby lp » Wed Nov 23, 2016 3:06 pm

They should be on this disk: http://www.emuparadise.me/Atari_ST_ROMs ... leur_(1989)(GFA_Systemtechnik)(fr)[m_Atariforce]/118526

The forum doesn't want to display the link quite right, alternately you can visit: http://www.emuparadise.me/
and use the search field and enter "gfa assembler". ;)

You will need some emulator to get to the files as its an *.st disk image.

tcat
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 6:00 am

Re: GFA Debugger

Postby tcat » Wed Nov 23, 2016 6:57 pm

Hi Lonny,

Thank you, image contains French version v1.2 1988, taht is good.
Unfortunatlley I am getting a row of bombs on starting it in HATARI.
GFA Assembler works fine though.

I have an English manual to the GFA debugger to follow.
I will try to run on real Atari ST, just in case it needs a really real H/W.

Any ideas?
Many thanks so far.
Tomas
Last edited by tcat on Wed Nov 23, 2016 7:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2357
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: GFA Debugger

Postby lp » Wed Nov 23, 2016 7:06 pm

Unfortunately I don't use GFA Assembler or the debugger. I did noticed the *.st has some boot sector code on it that did something. I would insert the disk after booting hatari just in case that is the source of the bombs.

tcat
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 6:00 am

Re: GFA Debugger

Postby tcat » Wed Nov 23, 2016 7:13 pm

Hi Lonny,

Many thanks, will do.

BTW also many thanks for Atari SDK your second upload at document archive, Disk#2 is now perfect, all files intact no corruption.

Tomas

tcat
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 6:00 am

Re: GFA Debugger

Postby tcat » Sat Nov 26, 2016 4:49 pm

Hi,

I have been curious what's wrong with `GFA-DBG.PRG', so I created a floppy image with ATARI `DB.PRG' + `COMMAND.TOS' and put GFA one on it too.

Problem is, I have never debugged anything on ATARI, and I do not have much understanding of it.

EDIT
`GFA-DBG.PRG' loaded with DB>>>
ATARI - Debugger.png


Error -1 exception occures after instruction `JMP $715A2' on `TRAP #6'>>>
Trap #6.png


I do not understand why in the code there is JMP (jump) to absolute address, also what is TRAP #6, and why it fails with an exception???

EDIT
Exception a row of Bombs after tracing over TRAP #6>>>
BOMBS - exception `-1'.png


According to the manual, GFA Debugger makes use of TRAP #6 for internal memory access>>>
GFA - Debugger - Manual.png


Any ideas???
Many thanks in advance.

Tomas
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by tcat on Sun Nov 27, 2016 2:46 pm, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2357
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: GFA Debugger

Postby lp » Sat Nov 26, 2016 8:01 pm

tcat wrote:BTW also many thanks for Atari SDK your second upload at document archive, Disk#2 is now perfect, all files intact no corruption.


My pleasure.

As for the debugger problem. I have not used the GFA debugger, but I have used some other one, from Devpac I believe. I put it in the auto folder, rebooted and it sat dormant until some bomb occurs. So then I ran the offending program. When it crashed the debugger popped open and showed me where it went wrong. In that particular case it was quite handy. I don't know what you are trying to debug though.

I've also used sysmon to monitor system calls. That can be used to catch less severe problems, assuming its an bad system call, ones that don't take the system down.

tcat
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 6:00 am

Re: GFA Debugger

Postby tcat » Sun Nov 27, 2016 3:07 pm

Hi Lonny,

I have made two EDITs above, one screen modified, one added.
The idea is to debug GFA-DBG.PRG with onother debugger, I took ATARI one from SDK.

It really bombs over TRAP #6, as I learnt from various docs (@your site), this is how system is set up

Code: Select all

Trap #0 - unused
Trap #1 - GEMDOS
Trap #2 - GEM
Trap #3..12 - unused
Trap #13 - BIOS
Trap #14 - XBIOS
Trap #15 - unused


Trap #6 is then user defined by GFA, and it's vector should point to a memory allocating handler routine, and I wish to see its code, but how can see it???

I will also post the question to `Coding' section, in hope I may also get some help there.
EDIT, posted, link here>>>
viewtopic.php?f=68&t=30781&p=307745#p307745

Tomas
Last edited by tcat on Sat Jan 07, 2017 3:10 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2357
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: GFA Debugger

Postby lp » Sun Nov 27, 2016 4:13 pm

Debuggers are strange animals and tend to hook plenty of vectors. I would think starting a second one would conflict and most likely unhook the first one in most cases and make things a lot worse. You might be able to dis-assemble the debugger and find the trap 6 handler, but that could be a needle in a haystack approach.

There's also a built in debugger in Hatari from what I've heard.
Last edited by lp on Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

tcat
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 6:00 am

Re: GFA Debugger

Postby tcat » Thu Dec 01, 2016 12:25 pm

lp wrote:I've also used sysmon to monitor system calls. That can be used to catch less severe problems, assuming its an bad system call, ones that don't take the system down.


Hi Lonny, can you please help me. Just looking for `SYSMON', cannot find it, is it part of some s/w package?

Many thanks.
Tomas

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2357
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: GFA Debugger

Postby lp » Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:03 pm

tcat wrote:Hi Lonny, can you please help me. Just looking for `SYSMON', cannot find it, is it part of some s/w package?


http://gfa.atari-users.net/atari/files/smon109c.zip


Social Media

     

Return to “Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests