uip-tool

All about the serious stuff.

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

User avatar
sqward
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:47 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: uip-tool

Postby sqward » Tue Mar 10, 2015 8:54 am

No, sorry. It's Netusbee only.

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2906
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: uip-tool

Postby AtariZoll » Tue Mar 10, 2015 9:31 am

Just a rough idea: wouldn't it be better and simpler to use via some Total Commander plugin ? Yes, it's not so universal as some WEB browser, but as I see there are problems with MAC browsers ...
Not to mention that there is already ftp access in Total Commander :D
Negative feedback has usually positive effect.

User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 854
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: uip-tool

Postby shoggoth » Tue Mar 10, 2015 9:34 am

AtariZoll wrote:Just a rough idea: wouldn't it be better and simpler to use via some Total Commander plugin ? Yes, it's not so universal as some WEB browser, but as I see there are problems with MAC browsers ...
Not to mention that there is already ftp access in Total Commander :D


I think the current solution is great. And I'm on a mac.
Ain't no space like PeP-space.

User avatar
catmando
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 929
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: uip-tool

Postby catmando » Sun Aug 02, 2015 7:10 pm

Any more progress on this tool, like the ability to create a directory?

Will it be possible to drag and drop directories also?
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking

User avatar
sqward
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:47 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: uip-tool

Postby sqward » Sun Aug 09, 2015 3:24 pm

Hi Catmando

I plan to put some more work soon. As for drag and drop of directories, this is possible and already supported only Chrome which provides APIs capable of that.

In the meantime I've posted a maintenance release which fixes a problem with odd files like "AE" showing in the listings.

Please find V43 in the usual place:
https://bitbucket.org/sqward/uip-tools/downloads

User avatar
catmando
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 929
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: uip-tool

Postby catmando » Tue Nov 17, 2015 10:35 am

Does UIP have any issues transferring zero byte files? Tried to dump Anarcho Ride over to my Falcon the other day and UIP kept tripping up on the zero byte files in the DATA folder
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking

User avatar
simoncam
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 1:26 pm

Re: uip-tool

Postby simoncam » Tue Nov 17, 2015 1:26 pm

catmando wrote:Does UIP have any issues transferring zero byte files? Tried to dump Anarcho Ride over to my Falcon the other day and UIP kept tripping up on the zero byte files in the DATA folder


Hi! Just stumbled over this. Wow... I was not aware that Zero Byte Files could be a problem for any file transfer. If you have not solved your problem until now: Yes, these zero byte files are essential for ANARCHO Ride. But it is just their existence or non existence that flags out information to the game. So if you cant transfer them, you may just create files in the target "DADA" folder with the same name. It actually does not matter what is in these files... they just must be there to help the game to know if it is running from a floppy, or a harddrive. Hope that helps...

It does of course not solve the basic question why the tool is not transferring the files.

User avatar
catmando
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 929
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: uip-tool

Postby catmando » Tue Nov 17, 2015 1:53 pm

simoncam wrote:
catmando wrote:Does UIP have any issues transferring zero byte files? Tried to dump Anarcho Ride over to my Falcon the other day and UIP kept tripping up on the zero byte files in the DATA folder


Hi! Just stumbled over this. Wow... I was not aware that Zero Byte Files could be a problem for any file transfer. If you have not solved your problem until now: Yes, these zero byte files are essential for ANARCHO Ride. But it is just their existence or non existence that flags out information to the game. So if you cant transfer them, you may just create files in the target "DADA" folder with the same name. It actually does not matter what is in these files... they just must be there to help the game to know if it is running from a floppy, or a harddrive. Hope that helps...

It does of course not solve the basic question why the tool is not transferring the files.


It is a bit of a problem because I prefer to unarchive the files on a PC (easier/faster) and then drop the unarchived folder over to the Falcon, when UIP gets to the zero-byte files it appears to hang. I need to test on another machine to see if its the same problem.
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking

User avatar
simoncam
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 1:26 pm

Re: uip-tool

Postby simoncam » Tue Nov 17, 2015 4:55 pm

Hi! I have just uploaded an update addressing your problem V1.00a! (downloadable from game page: www.hd-videofilm.com/anarcho)
Check it out!
I have given these flag files a minimum size. They now just hold a "0". This does not change anything to the Game, but might help with this transfer tool.
Other than that, there are only some typos fixed. The game is identical.

Maybe you could let me know if it works now! If not, the problem must come from somewhere else.

Of course this does not answer the question, why there is a problem copying a zero byte file in the first place.

Have fun!

User avatar
simoncam
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 1:26 pm

Re: uip-tool

Postby simoncam » Wed Nov 18, 2015 9:40 pm

Any news? Did it work with the "NOT ZERO SIZE" files?

User avatar
catmando
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 929
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: uip-tool

Postby catmando » Thu Nov 19, 2015 9:58 am

simoncam wrote:Any news? Did it work with the "NOT ZERO SIZE" files?
Haven't had the time to try yet, maybe this evening
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking

User avatar
catmando
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 929
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: uip-tool

Postby catmando » Sun Nov 22, 2015 6:16 pm

Okay so tried transferring the new version of anarcho using UIP, the good news is the transfer no longer bugs out on the zero byte files, and the transfer completes all the way to the end but I did get multiple file transfer errors for other files, so not sure whether this a UIP issue?
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking

User avatar
sqward
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:47 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: uip-tool

Postby sqward » Sat Nov 28, 2015 10:38 am

Hi there,
Zero size files issue is a bug I'll fix in a new release. Hopefully this weekend.

User avatar
catmando
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 929
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: uip-tool

Postby catmando » Mon Dec 28, 2015 9:48 pm

Trying v43 on my STE with TOS 2.06 tonight, almost impossible to transfer anything, keeps 3 bombing during transfers
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking

User avatar
sqward
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:47 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: uip-tool

Postby sqward » Wed Dec 30, 2015 8:53 pm

That's strange. Can someone else confirm this? I'll try to test it on STE on Saturday.

User avatar
iceman
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 178
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 11:03 pm

Re: uip-tool

Postby iceman » Thu Dec 31, 2015 12:23 am

sqward wrote:Image


Holy crap, how many tabs have you got open? :lol:
Atarian since 1989. Atari 1040STFM, 4MB 520STe with UltraSatan and Unitor N, A dodgy 1 MBSTe that bombs out after a few minutes, and a 14MB 48MHz Falcon 030 with NetUSBee and Soundpool 8 channel DAC. Plus my new MiST!

User avatar
sqward
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:47 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: uip-tool

Postby sqward » Fri Jan 01, 2016 10:31 pm

Just bare necessities...

User avatar
sqward
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:47 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: uip-tool

Postby sqward » Fri Jan 01, 2016 11:52 pm

catmando wrote:Trying v43 on my STE with TOS 2.06 tonight, almost impossible to transfer anything, keeps 3 bombing during transfers

I've hooked up my STE with TOS 2.06 and UltraSatan and it seems to be working OK. Are you sure you have a stable system? What harddrive do you use? Is the previous version working OK?

User avatar
catmando
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 929
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: uip-tool

Postby catmando » Sat Jan 02, 2016 9:32 am

sqward wrote:
catmando wrote:Trying v43 on my STE with TOS 2.06 tonight, almost impossible to transfer anything, keeps 3 bombing during transfers

I've hooked up my STE with TOS 2.06 and UltraSatan and it seems to be working OK. Are you sure you have a stable system? What harddrive do you use? Is the previous version working OK?


I'm pretty sure I do yes, my machine has alanh's ide board, which I have an SD Card attached to.

I will try the previous version and see what happens
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking

User avatar
catmando
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 929
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: uip-tool

Postby catmando » Sat Jan 02, 2016 10:13 am

Also, after the failed attempts with UIP I used PARCP-USB instead to transfer the same files to the same system and had no problems.
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking

User avatar
sqward
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:47 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: uip-tool

Postby sqward » Sat Jan 02, 2016 3:02 pm

You can still help me debug the problem for everyone's benefit :)

User avatar
catmando
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 929
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: uip-tool

Postby catmando » Sat Jan 02, 2016 6:21 pm

sqward wrote:You can still help me debug the problem for everyone's benefit :)


Whatever I can do to help
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking

User avatar
sqward
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:47 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: uip-tool

Postby sqward » Sat Jan 02, 2016 7:22 pm

Can you try the previous version? Can you check if there was enough disk space (being alpha quality software there are no error messages yet) on your Atari. What is the size of the file that is causing the crash? I assume your STE has 4MB of memory?

User avatar
catmando
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 929
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: uip-tool

Postby catmando » Sat Jan 02, 2016 9:31 pm

sqward wrote:Can you try the previous version? Can you check if there was enough disk space (being alpha quality software there are no error messages yet) on your Atari. What is the size of the file that is causing the crash? I assume your STE has 4MB of memory?


Yep fails in the previous version also.

I was trying to transfer the RTYPE game that appeared on the forum recently, the first file it fails on is GAME.RTP which is 201KB

My STE has 4MB memory
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking

User avatar
sqward
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 4:47 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: uip-tool

Postby sqward » Sun Jan 03, 2016 1:16 am

Can you point me to the archive? Thanks.

I've downloaded RTYPE from STNICC web page and it uploads OK to my STE with 4MB and UltraSatan. Which browser did you use?


Social Media

     

Return to “Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests