Announcing ready to use freemint sd card images for the ST

All about the serious stuff.

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

User avatar
marcello
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 9:23 pm

Announcing ready to use freemint sd card images for the ST

Postby marcello » Thu Oct 09, 2014 7:50 am

For people with a 68000 ST, and a ultrasatan card reader: I have made a ready to use Freemint Distribution called MKMD, in the form of a sd card image. You just need to burn the image on a fresh sd card, put it in your Ultrasatan device, and hop, you have the full Freemint, in the form of a standard Unix environnement.

I am focusing on the 68000 because it is well, what I have, and Unix-like because, it is well, what I like :)

Downloads and details are here: http://subsole.org/mkmd

Nb: if you have a TT or Falcon, EasyMint or NetBSD are a much better start !

Edited:

MKMD has been replaced by ST Mint, based on Freemint 1.15 which will allow much more interesting stuff to work ( ethernet card !)
Get the new sd card image at http://subsole.org/st_mint.
Last edited by marcello on Wed Feb 25, 2015 11:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
STMint, try Unix on your 68000 Atari http://subsole.org/st_mint

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4080
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: Announcing ready to use freemint sd card images for the

Postby Dal » Thu Oct 09, 2014 6:49 pm

Interesting. Is this just a the Freemint shell or the full xaaes and desktop? If it's the latter, then have you optimised it at all? In my experience, Freemint on a stock ST wasn't particularly pleasant or much use.
TT030: 4MB/16MB + Crazy Dots, Mega"SST" 12, MegaSTE, STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
marcello
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 9:23 pm

Re: Announcing ready to use freemint sd card images for the

Postby marcello » Fri Oct 10, 2014 7:15 am

I Included a copy of the Mulltitos AES (last time I tried Freemint 1.16 + xaaes on a 68000 ST it was crashing )
The whole of it is not superfast, but it is workable, after starting MKMD you usually have 2MB of FreeRAM.
STMint, try Unix on your 68000 Atari http://subsole.org/st_mint

User avatar
AdamK
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 241
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 8:44 am

Re: Announcing ready to use freemint sd card images for the

Postby AdamK » Fri Oct 10, 2014 10:46 am

Nice, but the environment is very old.

On the other hand, with modern environment, 4MB is just enough for kernel and Xaaes + desktop, nut much left.
Atari: FireBee, Falcon030 + CT60e + SuperVidel + SvEthlana, TT, 520ST + 4MB ST RAM + 8MB TT RAM + CosmosEx + SC1435, 1040STFM + UltraSatan + SM124, 1040STE 4MB ST RAM + 8MB TT RAM + CosmosEx + NetUSBee + SM144 + SC1224, 65XE + U1MB + VBXE + SIDE2, Jaguar, Lynx II, 2 x Portfolio (HPC-006)

Adam Klobukowski [adamklobukowski@gmail.com]

User avatar
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4860
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Announcing ready to use freemint sd card images for the

Postby simonsunnyboy » Sat Oct 11, 2014 4:23 pm

Sounds quite interesting and like a good compromise.

Is the Ultrasatan a real requirement or will the old Satandisk do aswell?
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/ - STOT: http://www.npoi.de/stot/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee

Jabber: simonsunnyboy@atari-jabber.org

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2945
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Announcing ready to use freemint sd card images for the

Postby AtariZoll » Sun Oct 12, 2014 7:00 am

It should work from Satandisk too, as uses basic ACSI command set and AHDI hard disk driver. In Steem works.
There is way to stop global warming.

User avatar
marcello
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 9:23 pm

Re: Announcing ready to use freemint sd card images for the

Postby marcello » Wed Oct 15, 2014 8:44 am

AdamK wrote:Nice, but the environment is very old.

On the other hand, with modern environment, 4MB is just enough for kernel and Xaaes + desktop, nut much left.


Actually, I just retried freemint 1.17 with Xaaes and it crashes before loading the desktop Xaaes with some KMEM error message ...
And Multitos crashes too with freemint 1.17.

So I am sticking at the moment with the very old 1.12 kernel.
STMint, try Unix on your 68000 Atari http://subsole.org/st_mint

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1378
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: Announcing ready to use freemint sd card images for the

Postby alanh » Fri Oct 17, 2014 11:19 am

Why haven't you tried 1.18 ?
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

User avatar
marcello
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 9:23 pm

Re: Announcing ready to use freemint sd card images for the

Postby marcello » Fri Oct 17, 2014 11:54 am

@alanh:

Because I suspect the same lack of RAM problem :) Remember I want to support 4MB RAM config. BTW thanks for the Ethernec, I got it from you ;)

Actually due to various problem with KGMD (deprecated Mint Net, funky configuration of component, ie syslog which logs everything to /var/log/ppp.log, non working Ethernec) I have rebased my work on CrippledMint :It brings me a more recent kernel (1.15), which is old enough to run with Multitos, and recent enough to work with the Ethernec drivers.
When the system is running, I still get 1,8 MB Free RAM.

A disk image of the St Mint distribution is available at http://subsole.org/st_mint
STMint, try Unix on your 68000 Atari http://subsole.org/st_mint

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1378
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: Announcing ready to use freemint sd card images for the

Postby alanh » Sat Oct 18, 2014 1:13 pm

Try 1.18. I'd be interested to hear how much free RAM you have.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

User avatar
marcello
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 9:23 pm

Re: Announcing ready to use freemint sd card images for the

Postby marcello » Wed Oct 22, 2014 1:44 pm

Xaaes crashes on loading with Mint 1.18 on my Atari STE ( 4MB RAM., ST High)
I uploaded an image of the crash here: http://imgur.com/9QaY8NR

The *same* setup (sd card bitcopy used as an ACSI disk image ) works reliably on Hatari, leaving 400 KB free using FreeeMint + Xaaaes + TeraDesk + Toswin
But we want working real hardware ;)
STMint, try Unix on your 68000 Atari http://subsole.org/st_mint

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1378
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: Announcing ready to use freemint sd card images for the

Postby alanh » Tue Oct 28, 2014 2:27 pm

Can you try the daily snapshot from www.freemint.org ?
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

User avatar
marcello
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 9:23 pm

Re: Announcing ready to use freemint sd card images for the

Postby marcello » Thu Oct 30, 2014 5:09 pm

Daily Snapshot ( 28/10/2014 build ) crashed as well ,see here http://imgur.com/HOKGNoW
STMint, try Unix on your 68000 Atari http://subsole.org/st_mint

alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1378
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: Announcing ready to use freemint sd card images for the

Postby alanh » Mon Nov 03, 2014 8:48 am

That screenshot still shows 1.18, so it's not the trunk. It should be 1-19-cur.

Can you try again as the trunk runs fine on my STE and STFM here.

Thanks.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.

User avatar
marcello
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 9:23 pm

Re: Announcing ready to use freemint sd card images for the

Postby marcello » Mon Nov 03, 2014 4:49 pm

I willl try to reproduce this next week end, and report on the freemint mailing list
STMint, try Unix on your 68000 Atari http://subsole.org/st_mint

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1562
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Announcing ready to use freemint sd card images for the

Postby Eero Tamminen » Mon Nov 03, 2014 6:43 pm

marcello wrote:Xaaes crashes on loading with Mint 1.18 on my Atari STE ( 4MB RAM., ST High)
I uploaded an image of the crash here: http://imgur.com/9QaY8NR

The *same* setup (sd card bitcopy used as an ACSI disk image ) works reliably on Hatari, leaving 400 KB free using FreeeMint + Xaaaes + TeraDesk + Toswin


Did you use exactly the same setup (machine type, TOS version, amount of memory etc) with Hatari as your real HW had?

(If yes, it sounds like a bug in Hatari.)

User avatar
marcello
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 9:23 pm

Re: Announcing ready to use freemint sd card images for the

Postby marcello » Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:54 am

Did you use exactly the same setup (machine type, TOS version, amount of memory etc) with Hatari as your real HW had?


The only two differences I see would be the TOS language, and the DMA chipse which I know is bad in my STE. RAM, TOS Version, Model are the same.
If I can reproduce the bug with Freemint 1.19, I wil lreport it to the atari-users mailing list.
STMint, try Unix on your 68000 Atari http://subsole.org/st_mint

User avatar
marcello
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 9:23 pm

Re: Announcing ready to use freemint sd card images for the

Postby marcello » Wed Nov 19, 2014 6:07 pm

In the meantime, released version 0.6, works quite well with Bash and TCP/IP, all working with 4MB 520 STE.
http://subsole.org/st_mint
STMint, try Unix on your 68000 Atari http://subsole.org/st_mint

Mathias
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 634
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Vienna

Re: Announcing ready to use freemint sd card images for the

Postby Mathias » Sun Nov 23, 2014 10:38 am

Just for the records; do you know that Vincent is providing a lot of the tools you are using as binaries for 68000 machines as well? zip, tar, qed, toswin2, ... everything quite newly recompiled and recent versions.


http://vincent.riviere.free.fr/soft/m68 ... ives/mint/
MegaST 4 with Sounddesigner II MegaBus hardware and 56001, Hades 040, MagiC Mac at Mac OS 9 and a FireBee.

User avatar
mfro
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 685
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 10:33 am
Location: SW Germany

Re: Announcing ready to use freemint sd card images for the

Postby mfro » Sun Nov 23, 2014 11:38 am

marcello wrote:In the meantime, released version 0.6, works quite well with Bash and TCP/IP, all working with 4MB 520 STE.
http://subsole.org/st_mint


Great job!

Although it's probably not its primary purpose (and you might not even know it), your image is perfectly suited to run MiNT on the MiST!

I have copied over everything from your download image to a HDDRIVER formatted one, renamed MiNT's MFP driver (as it seems to be incompatible with the MiST) and have a very neat MultiTOS setup for the MiST!

User avatar
Kirkman
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 2:29 am

Re: Announcing ready to use freemint sd card images for the

Postby Kirkman » Wed Dec 10, 2014 10:15 pm

marcello wrote:In the meantime, released version 0.6, works quite well with Bash and TCP/IP, all working with 4MB 520 STE.
http://subsole.org/st_mint


I just tried this for the first time on my 4mb Mega STe with TOS 2.06, via CosmosEx, but it bombs out shortly after scanning the ACSI busses. The last line on the screen when it bombs is:

ACCs/DESKTOP.INF: C

Any idea what could be wrong?

(Using the same image with Hatari on my Mac set to same specs as my Mega STe, I am able to get to the MultiTOS desktop just fine)

--Josh
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Monsoft
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 7:15 am
Location: Ascot, UK
Contact:

Re: Announcing ready to use freemint sd card images for the

Postby Monsoft » Fri Dec 12, 2014 9:53 am

marcello wrote:For people with a 68000 ST, and a ultrasatan card reader: I have made a ready to use Freemint Distribution called MKMD, in the form of a sd card image. You just need to burn the image on a fresh sd card, put it in your Ultrasatan device, and hop, you have the full Freemint, in the form of a standard Unix environnement.

I am focusing on the 68000 because it is well, what I have, and Unix-like because, it is well, what I like :)

Downloads and details are here: http://subsole.org/mkmd

Nb: if you have a TT or Falcon, EasyMint or NetBSD are a much better start !


What monitor are you using with your Atari ST ?
I deployed KGMD few days back and my fonts are not readable after I logged in the system (I can see only half of the line) :(
I'm connected via RGB cable to my LCD TV and I suspect that this is issue.

User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1064
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: Announcing ready to use freemint sd card images for the

Postby qq1975b » Sun Feb 01, 2015 8:45 pm

Is this Freemint working Ok with a 16MHZ machine? I mean MSTE or Mega ST with 16MHZ booster and AltRAM?
Trying to learn...

User avatar
Kirkman
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 2:29 am

Re: Announcing ready to use freemint sd card images for the

Postby Kirkman » Mon Feb 02, 2015 3:26 pm

I have not explored much with it, but I was finally able to boot the FreeMiNT SD card on my Mega STe. It does work.

User avatar
ccarl84
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 7:03 pm
Location: South of France

Re: Announcing ready to use freemint sd card images for the ST

Postby ccarl84 » Sun Feb 22, 2015 12:14 pm

Hello,
I think it's a very interesting job you did there.
I just try it on Hatari 1.6 with 4MB STE and it works well .
I would like to try it on my STE and my TT .
How can I access my other hard drives ?
How do I add programs .
It's ok, I Have undertood.
I am a beginner in Mint configurations.
Translated with Google Translate .
Thank you .

ccarl84


Social Media

     

Return to “Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests