Geneva

All about the serious stuff.

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

User avatar
iceman
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 178
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 11:03 pm

Re: Geneva

Postby iceman » Wed Jul 05, 2017 8:53 pm

This is amazing. Just when you start to lose faith in human nature, someone comes along and does something like this.

I can't believe the recovered data was so error-free it compiled!
Atarian since 1989. Atari 1040STFM, 4MB 520STe with UltraSatan and Unitor N, A dodgy 1 MBSTe that bombs out after a few minutes, and a 14MB 48MHz Falcon 030 with NetUSBee and Soundpool 8 channel DAC. Plus my new MiST!

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Geneva

Postby leech » Thu Jul 06, 2017 10:11 pm

Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11927
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Geneva

Postby wongck » Thu Jul 06, 2017 11:30 pm

Kind of corrupted by windows ( down in the comments section)
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Geneva

Postby leech » Fri Jul 07, 2017 2:37 am

Yeah, I noticed that. Though I do find it funny that someone said NeoDesk was better than Windows 10 :)
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2291
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: Geneva

Postby christos » Fri Jul 07, 2017 5:44 am

It's not only better than Windows 10, but it beats Gnome out of the water!
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Geneva

Postby leech » Fri Jul 07, 2017 6:26 am

Ha, I like Gnome. Itching to put Geneva / NeoDesk 4 on my Falcon. Though I've got to wonder what I need to do to get STiNG working, I'm assuming I won't be able to use MiNT-Net under it.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2034
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Geneva

Postby calimero » Fri Jul 07, 2017 9:02 am

Heh... I used to read OSnews.

and now I remember why I stopped :)

Thom Holwerda: "People always scoff at IBM and Microsoft when it comes to PCs and DOS/Windows, but they did put a computer on every desk and in every home, at affordable prices"

when I read something like this I need to vomit 8O

- Commodore 64 make computers affordable and put it in every home, not PC.
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Geneva

Postby leech » Fri Jul 07, 2017 2:08 pm

Ha, yeah I thought the same. Well, more like "that crap wasn't affordable until way after the 16bit era where the A500 and Atari ST were more affordable and usable until about the early to mid 90s, when they went bankrupt. It wasn't until Windows 95 that MS even had an OS that wasn't completely terrible to use.

People these days like to whine that you have to use command line for things in Linux. Apparently they still associate that with the painful pile of crap that was DOS.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2034
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Geneva

Postby calimero » Fri Jul 07, 2017 2:32 pm

leech wrote:Ha, yeah I thought the same. Well, more like "that crap wasn't affordable until way after the 16bit era where the A500 and Atari ST were more affordable and usable until about the early to mid 90s, when they went bankrupt. It wasn't until Windows 95 that MS even had an OS that wasn't completely terrible to use.

yes, to prove this, I open topic:

"Programs born on Atari, Amiga, Mac... and then ported to Windows" - to show that all programs was born on non-Microsoft platform and only later migrated to Windows.

viewtopic.php?t=22856
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Geneva

Postby leech » Fri Jul 07, 2017 2:39 pm

That is awesome! Wish I could get Pagestream to work on my Falcon, may have to buy a license for Calamus SL 2005, though I wish they provided a cross-platform license. Probably will end up buying Pagestream for Linux soon anyhow

Sorry for going off topic, still eagerly awaiting Geneva / NeoDesk 4.

Also, out of curiosity, I know Teradesk has been open sourced for years, and it's still getting development on it. Are we hoping we can get some maintainer/developers updating Geneva / NeoDesk?
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 362
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: Geneva

Postby KLund1 » Tue Jul 18, 2017 7:52 am

leech wrote:Decided to spread the joy.

http://www.osnews.com/story/29903/Atari ... en_sourced


So what can you, really smarter then me, do with this?!?!?
(Hopefully, make the install process automatic, regardless of AUTO folder config)
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Geneva

Postby leech » Tue Jul 18, 2017 3:44 pm

I always thought Geneva was pretty much just drop it into the auto folder, then configure up the desktop you want, right? It's not like MiNT / XaAES / $desktop, where you have to do it in a bunch of cnf/ini files. It has been since around '93-'94 since I really tried though.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
Neurotoxic
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 9:29 pm
Location: Bremen (Germany)
Contact:

Re: Geneva

Postby Neurotoxic » Mon Jul 31, 2017 11:37 pm

I donated a few days ago. I hope that a future release of geneva might also run on my Milan. I'm eager to test that. If it's combined with MiNT as AES I might have access to FAT32 volumes and I could use long file names or is it planned to add such features to geneva in the near future?
520 ST(M) (TOS 1.02), Falcon030 (16 MHz, 16 MB RAM, CF-Card, MiNT & MyAES), Milan040 (25 MHz, 48 MB RAM, EasyMiNT 1.90), Firebee, PowerMac G5 Late 2005 (2 x 2,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.5), iMac 4K Late 2015 (intel Core i7 4 x 3,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.11.6), IBM XT SFD (640 KB RAM, DR DOS 6.0), Compaq LTE 5300 (Pentium/133 MHz, DR-DOS 7.03), AT-PC (Cyrix 6x86L/200 MHz, Windows 98 SE/MS-DOS 6.22 & Windows 3.11)

User avatar
Desty
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1948
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 2:36 pm
Location: 53 21N 6 18W
Contact:

Re: Geneva

Postby Desty » Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:49 am

This is absolutely amazing news... Fair play to tenox and of course Dan Wilga for getting this ball rolling, it's really exciting!
tá'n poc ar buile!

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Geneva

Postby leech » Wed Aug 02, 2017 9:44 am

Any news on when/where a newer compiled version will be released? Github, sourceforge, etc?
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3574
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Geneva

Postby joska » Wed Aug 02, 2017 11:10 am

Neurotoxic wrote:If it's combined with MiNT as AES I might have access to FAT32 volumes and I could use long file names or is it planned to add such features to geneva in the near future?


Geneva only replaces the AES, so it's not possible to add such features.

The Geneva/MiNT-combination used to be a bit unstable, hopefully this can be resolved when the sources has been released.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3574
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Geneva

Postby joska » Wed Aug 02, 2017 11:18 am

leech wrote:I always thought Geneva was pretty much just drop it into the auto folder, then configure up the desktop you want, right? It's not like MiNT / XaAES / $desktop, where you have to do it in a bunch of cnf/ini files.


IIRC you have to edit Geneva's GEM.CNF to change things like desktop, environment variables, accessory-path, file-extensions etc. It's the Geneva equivalent of xaaes.cnf.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Geneva

Postby leech » Wed Aug 30, 2017 11:07 pm

As always, Joska, you are correct. I set it up on my Falcon about a week ago, and you have to change the GEM.CNF. Sadly both Geneva and NeoDesk4 crash outright when running on the 060.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3574
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Geneva

Postby joska » Thu Aug 31, 2017 7:32 am

leech wrote:Sadly both Geneva and NeoDesk4 crash outright when running on the 060.


Yes, it crashes on my MIlan060 as well. Fortunately, this is one of the things that probably will be easy to fix when the sources are released.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
Neurotoxic
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 9:29 pm
Location: Bremen (Germany)
Contact:

Re: Geneva

Postby Neurotoxic » Thu Aug 31, 2017 7:44 am

Will there be also a coldfire version for the firebee? That would be great! 8)
520 ST(M) (TOS 1.02), Falcon030 (16 MHz, 16 MB RAM, CF-Card, MiNT & MyAES), Milan040 (25 MHz, 48 MB RAM, EasyMiNT 1.90), Firebee, PowerMac G5 Late 2005 (2 x 2,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.5), iMac 4K Late 2015 (intel Core i7 4 x 3,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.11.6), IBM XT SFD (640 KB RAM, DR DOS 6.0), Compaq LTE 5300 (Pentium/133 MHz, DR-DOS 7.03), AT-PC (Cyrix 6x86L/200 MHz, Windows 98 SE/MS-DOS 6.22 & Windows 3.11)

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3574
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Geneva

Postby joska » Thu Aug 31, 2017 7:50 am

"All" you have to do is to compile it with AHCC or gcc. Probably easiest with AHCC, as it compiles PureC code with few changes. However, I'm quite sure that there's assembler sources in Geneva too, and these would have to be converted to ColdFire assembler.
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

KLund1
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 362
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: Geneva

Postby KLund1 » Tue Sep 05, 2017 9:36 am

WOW! A Lot of interest in this!!
Great for a interesting piece of code.
Has anyone installed this original software with Neodesk 4 on a generic 14mb Falcon?
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4166
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Geneva

Postby DarkLord » Tue Sep 05, 2017 10:23 am

I've had it running on my stock Falcon, IIRC. However, it does
not work on my CT60 equipped Falcon.... :(
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520

ryan
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2014 12:17 am

Re: Geneva

Postby ryan » Tue Sep 05, 2017 3:49 pm

Any update on the availability of the source code?

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Geneva

Postby leech » Tue Sep 05, 2017 4:48 pm

DarkLord wrote:I've had it running on my stock Falcon, IIRC. However, it does
not work on my CT60 equipped Falcon.... :(


Yeah, sadly it just crashes out and you get nothing. I think once the source code is released that'll probably be the first work going into it. Better support for 030+ CPUs.

Curious about something here, is there anything outside of MiNT that adds support for ext2+ partitions?

I need to work on a full backup, then re-install probably since I want to add a few more TOS partitions that are 1GB since I am running out of space... Also I may end up doing different boot partitions since HDDriver supports that, and it'd be more sane than the xboot weirdness I have now that the SV_XBIOS doesn't like :)
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)


Social Media

     

Return to “Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests