Which version of cubase should i use?

All about the serious stuff.

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

User avatar
tamprecision
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 2:06 am

Which version of cubase should i use?

Postby tamprecision » Fri Apr 29, 2011 2:24 am

NOOB question here

which is the most stable version of cubase for an atari STE 4mb with i think TOS 1.62, legit or otherwise?

I already have dongles and lots of different versions of cubase , just wondering which one is "the one"

thanks for any and all suggestions

Tamprecision
Atari STE 4mb + usatan + ICD link
Emagic Unitor C + 2, Export, log 3, Combiner, Human touch
Steinberg Midex, Midex+, SMP24
Soundpool MO4, Hybridarts SMPTEmate Plus
AKAI S6000 S3000 S950 MPC2000 JUNO 60 SH101

Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: Which version of cubase should i use?

Postby Shredder11 » Fri Apr 29, 2011 5:13 pm

v2.0 MCA crack is what I used for years and years and only had the computer lock up about twice in that time; you have to bear in mind that I was using the STE very heavily for 11 to 15 hours a day for a couple of years and this was using Cubase. I used a lot of System Exclusive data and bulk dumps etc, along with mixer pages and occasional IPS module too.

I tried using the v3.x cracks and had constant crashes and problems. At the moment I am using Cubase Audio v2.06 + red dongle on one of my Falcon 030 machines.

I would also check out a very good article here about which Atari is best for MIDI sequencing:

http://www.atarimusic.net/forum/topic?f=121&t=216

User avatar
Mal7921
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 386
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Huddersfield UK
Contact:

Which version of cubase should i use?

Postby Mal7921 » Fri Apr 29, 2011 5:31 pm

Shredder11 is right for the cracked version however Cubase 3.1 aka special edition is the most stable legitimate version.

If offered a cracked version 3, while it will work it will also be quite unstable, especially using key edit and with songs that have a lot of midi information going through the midi ports


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The collection:

Atari 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STfm
Atari STe
Atari Falcon, 14MB, 40GB IDE drive

User avatar
Marcer
Atarilegend
Atarilegend
Posts: 4144
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:21 pm
Location: sweden
Contact:

Re: Which version of cubase should i use?

Postby Marcer » Fri Apr 29, 2011 5:34 pm

without doubt v2.01 is the most stable crack.. the other is not proper..
infact cubase 2.01 is the best cubase. Cubase Audio on Falcon is also unproper for sure..

Thats atleast my experience..

// Marcer
- Atari ST/FM/E - Mega sTe - Portfolio - Falcon 030 FX 3 in 1 -- Atari 7800/Lynx/Jaguar -
- FTP... Ask for info
- Atari Legend (Games all-a-round)
- Paradize (Chip Music)
- Elite (Atari Softs)
- The Legion (Demos)
- Alive Maggie Team
_/|\_YM-RockerZ_/|\_

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4089
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: Which version of cubase should i use?

Postby nativ » Fri Apr 29, 2011 5:41 pm

Mal7921 wrote:Shredder11 is right for the cracked version however Cubase 3.1 aka special edition is the most stable legitimate version.

If offered a cracked version 3, while it will work it will also be quite unstable, especially using key edit and with songs that have a lot of midi information going through the midi ports


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk



I have had some issues with file compatibility between cracked and official versions too.
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: Which version of cubase should i use?

Postby Shredder11 » Fri Apr 29, 2011 5:47 pm

Actually since last year and getting a red dongle for Cubase Audio Falcon, this is the first time I have ever had or used a legit version of Cubase! Well apart from the freebie cut down versions of course.

User avatar
Mal7921
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 386
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Huddersfield UK
Contact:

Re: Which version of cubase should i use?

Postby Mal7921 » Fri Apr 29, 2011 6:50 pm

Marcer wrote:without doubt v2.01 is the most stable crack.. the other is not proper..
infact cubase 2.01 is the best cubase. Cubase Audio on Falcon is also unproper for sure..

Thats atleast my experience..

// Marcer


Cubase Audio 2.0x and Cubase 3 are the same codebase, if you press alt while starting it, you can run Cubase Audio on any ST and the TT, although without the audio engine. One of the reasons the 3 crack was unstable is that it needs a little more memory space than the genuine version which makes things a little tight on a 1MB machine (Which was the most common for running cracked Cubase 3).

Running on 2MB or above made the crack more stable, but still not as good as Cubase 2.01 MCA crack (Good old Mike Hunter).

However why Cubase Audio 2 crack is slightly more stable that Cubase 3 crack is anyones guess. Mine is that the Cubase crack is based around the more buggy Cubase 3.01 while Cubase Audio 2 was based on slightly newer code and has many bugs removed. This also explains the robustness of Cubase 3.1 (And Cubase Audio 2.06) special edition.
The collection:

Atari 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STfm
Atari STe
Atari Falcon, 14MB, 40GB IDE drive

User avatar
Mal7921
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 386
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Huddersfield UK
Contact:

Re: Which version of cubase should i use?

Postby Mal7921 » Fri Apr 29, 2011 7:00 pm

nativ wrote:
Mal7921 wrote:Shredder11 is right for the cracked version however Cubase 3.1 aka special edition is the most stable legitimate version.

If offered a cracked version 3, while it will work it will also be quite unstable, especially using key edit and with songs that have a lot of midi information going through the midi ports


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk



I have had some issues with file compatibility between cracked and official versions too.


Yes, there were a few issues where file formats were affected, though I've found the MCA 2.01 crack was the best for keeping files compatible with later releases. None of my earlier compositions done with MCA Cubase have issue loading into Cubase 3 or Cubase Audio 2.

Having said that though, Pro24 was worse, with Pro24 version 3 refusing point blank to load files done in the cracked version of Pro24 version 2, the workaround was to export as MIDI files then import into Pro24 3.
The collection:

Atari 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STfm
Atari STe
Atari Falcon, 14MB, 40GB IDE drive

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4089
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: Which version of cubase should i use?

Postby nativ » Fri Apr 29, 2011 7:01 pm

Mal7921 wrote:
Marcer wrote:without doubt v2.01 is the most stable crack.. the other is not proper..
infact cubase 2.01 is the best cubase. Cubase Audio on Falcon is also unproper for sure..

Thats atleast my experience..

// Marcer


Cubase Audio 2.0x and Cubase 3 are the same codebase,
Is there another way or do you need to use L Alt every time?
if you press alt while starting it, you can run Cubase Audio on any ST and the TT, although without the audio engine. One of the reasons the 3 crack was unstable is that it needs a little more memory space than the genuine version which makes things a little tight on a 1MB machine (Which was the most common for running cracked Cubase 3).

That might explain slightly iffy saved files...

Running on 2MB or above made the crack more stable, but still not as good as Cubase 2.01 MCA crack (Good old Mike Hunter).

However why Cubase Audio 2 crack is slightly more stable that Cubase 3 crack is anyones guess. Mine is that the Cubase crack is based around the more buggy Cubase 3.01 while Cubase Audio 2 was based on slightly newer code and has many bugs removed. This also explains the robustness of Cubase 3.1 (And Cubase Audio 2.06) special edition.
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

User avatar
Mal7921
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 386
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Huddersfield UK
Contact:

Re: Which version of cubase should i use?

Postby Mal7921 » Fri Apr 29, 2011 7:24 pm

nativ wrote:That might explain slightly iffy saved files...


Most likely :)

As I recall there were at least 2 Cubase 3 cracks, both had a common set of problems and both had issues all of their own, though I've only come across one of the cracks and didn't have file problems (Just seemingly random crash and drop to desktop issues)
The collection:

Atari 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STfm
Atari STe
Atari Falcon, 14MB, 40GB IDE drive

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4089
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: Which version of cubase should i use?

Postby nativ » Fri Apr 29, 2011 7:37 pm

I have a John Wycomb? 2 version the MCA version and I think possibly two 3's I'll have to check as I use the real version for a long time now! ;)

the three is tried worked but for some reason had an air of 'fall over' about it??!
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

User avatar
Mal7921
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 386
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Huddersfield UK
Contact:

Re: Which version of cubase should i use?

Postby Mal7921 » Fri Apr 29, 2011 8:41 pm

If you find the cracked version 3's, I'd be interested in at least testing them to track down what the issues were and possibly upload the better of the two onto AMN. Mind you, don't bust a gut over it, we have version 2.01 :)
The collection:

Atari 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STfm
Atari STe
Atari Falcon, 14MB, 40GB IDE drive

User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4089
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: Which version of cubase should i use?

Postby nativ » Fri Apr 29, 2011 9:45 pm

Mal7921 wrote:If you find the cracked version 3's, I'd be interested in at least testing them to track down what the issues were and possibly upload the better of the two onto AMN. Mind you, don't bust a gut over it, we have version 2.01 :)



Crawling through acres of floppies is my idea of FUN! bring on Saturday night!
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records

User avatar
tamprecision
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 2:06 am

Re: Which version of cubase should i use?

Postby tamprecision » Sat Apr 30, 2011 12:44 pm

Hey Nativ , Shredder 11, Mal7921 and Marcer

thanks so much for all the replies and info. much appreciated :cheers:

So amongst my floppies there is a legit cubase 2.01 and also i have two dongles (1 red 1 black)

So it would seem that this is the way to go.

I will look thru all the cracked versions and see if i have the MCA version

My only concern is that someone mentioned to me that perhaps version 2 would not be able to sync via SMPTE on the midex....? not a deal breaker tho

what does version 3 do that version 2 doesnt???

Thanks again for the info, I have been building / testing my atari system for a while now, when its good and ready i will take it to my studio so it can make friends with all my synths and samplers etc!

The idea is to sequence on the atari with synths etc and then record it into my MAC over 24 inputs live in one pass ready to mix (im a mix engineer most of the time)

If it works it will be like the good old days with all the benefits of a DAW and none of the the drawbacks.......

whats more when i've recorded the track into the mac I can switch off all the synths and samplers etc and avoid the pitfalls of having to save everything.........
Atari STE 4mb + usatan + ICD link
Emagic Unitor C + 2, Export, log 3, Combiner, Human touch
Steinberg Midex, Midex+, SMP24
Soundpool MO4, Hybridarts SMPTEmate Plus
AKAI S6000 S3000 S950 MPC2000 JUNO 60 SH101

User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2407
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: Which version of cubase should i use?

Postby charles » Sat Apr 30, 2011 2:02 pm

seriousilly ,
what version would you use if you never used it before ???

probally a starter version ,,,,

until u familiarize yourself with the structure of it ,

use version 2 its the best until you know how to setup music creating aid components like the ips midi processor , logical units..

ok?

charles
The radioactive half-life : )
Atari is a lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! ! Im printing unreadable characters ...!

User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2407
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: Which version of cubase should i use?

Postby charles » Sat Apr 30, 2011 2:09 pm

sorry replied to the title , which isn't really related
to the subject
anyhow ,we all know cubase score 2.13 or cubase score 2.06 is it ..

charles
The radioactive half-life : )
Atari is a lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! ! Im printing unreadable characters ...!

User avatar
tamprecision
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 2:06 am

Re: Which version of cubase should i use?

Postby tamprecision » Sat Apr 30, 2011 4:34 pm

thanks charles

i was a cubase user for ages on PC and MAC until i got lured into Logic audio

external midi on macOSX is pretty close to useless for me now hence the move backwards and forwards to the atari + MPC
Atari STE 4mb + usatan + ICD link
Emagic Unitor C + 2, Export, log 3, Combiner, Human touch
Steinberg Midex, Midex+, SMP24
Soundpool MO4, Hybridarts SMPTEmate Plus
AKAI S6000 S3000 S950 MPC2000 JUNO 60 SH101

User avatar
tamprecision
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 2:06 am

Re: Which version of cubase should i use?

Postby tamprecision » Sat Apr 30, 2011 4:40 pm

btw i have a crack of version 3 that mostly works until you get to the end of the track whereupon it goes bonkers with illegal operations

also in the crack of 3 it crashes if you move a lot of parts around on the arrange screen

if i knew how to get it off the floppy and onto my mac i would upload it

im waiting for a netusbee so when that arrives i should be able to do it
Atari STE 4mb + usatan + ICD link
Emagic Unitor C + 2, Export, log 3, Combiner, Human touch
Steinberg Midex, Midex+, SMP24
Soundpool MO4, Hybridarts SMPTEmate Plus
AKAI S6000 S3000 S950 MPC2000 JUNO 60 SH101

User avatar
Mal7921
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 386
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Huddersfield UK
Contact:

Which version of cubase should i use?

Postby Mal7921 » Sat Apr 30, 2011 4:47 pm

There is a free light edition of Cubase available over at amn which needs no dongle and was released as freeware by steinberg.

As for dongles, red was for Cubase 3 and black was for Cubase 1 and 2. It should say on the side of the dongle which program it was for.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The collection:

Atari 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STfm
Atari STe
Atari Falcon, 14MB, 40GB IDE drive

User avatar
Mal7921
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 386
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Huddersfield UK
Contact:

Which version of cubase should i use?

Postby Mal7921 » Sat Apr 30, 2011 4:51 pm

tamprecision wrote:btw i have a crack of version 3 that mostly works until you get to the end of the track whereupon it goes bonkers with illegal operations

also in the crack of 3 it crashes if you move a lot of parts around on the arrange screen

if i knew how to get it off the floppy and onto my mac i would upload it

im waiting for a netusbee so when that arrives i should be able to do it


If you have a USB floppy drive you can just zip the drive, but if you have an older version of tos that does not format the disk so pc's can read it, finding a program like fastcopy can format the disks in the right way. Then all you need to do is copy from disk to disk on the ST and the mac will be able to read the new disk


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The collection:

Atari 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STfm
Atari STe
Atari Falcon, 14MB, 40GB IDE drive

ChrisTG
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2011 2:57 pm

Re: Which version of cubase should i use?

Postby ChrisTG » Sat Apr 30, 2011 5:26 pm

You may try this version of 3.1 here. I haven't tested it myself, but maybe it's worth a try.

cheers,
Chris
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
tamprecision
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 2:06 am

Re: Which version of cubase should i use?

Postby tamprecision » Sat Apr 30, 2011 5:49 pm

Mal7921 wrote:If you have a USB floppy drive you can just zip the drive, but if you have an older version of tos that does not format the disk so pc's can read it, finding a program like fastcopy can format the disks in the right way. Then all you need to do is copy from disk to disk on the ST and the mac will be able to read the new disk


Thanks for the tips and dongle info

I bought a USB floppy drive for exactly this but failed to make it work

I have Fastcopy 3

I have just tried it again with fast copy and still no joy

is it possible that the problem is that my STE might have a 720k type drive where as the USB floppy drive is a 1.44 type?

is there any easy way to tell what sort of floppy drive is in my ste?

thanks
Atari STE 4mb + usatan + ICD link
Emagic Unitor C + 2, Export, log 3, Combiner, Human touch
Steinberg Midex, Midex+, SMP24
Soundpool MO4, Hybridarts SMPTEmate Plus
AKAI S6000 S3000 S950 MPC2000 JUNO 60 SH101

Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: Which version of cubase should i use?

Postby Shredder11 » Sat Apr 30, 2011 6:00 pm

Someone is bound to give a full answer but I am sure disks made with Fast Copy can cause problems later in different drives. Also USB Floppy Drives are reported to not have the full command set of a normal drive.

User avatar
Mal7921
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 386
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: Huddersfield UK
Contact:

Which version of cubase should i use?

Postby Mal7921 » Sat Apr 30, 2011 7:14 pm

STe should format in proper pc 720k format so I suspect there is something else going on.

If you copy a simple text file to a floppy on your pc, can the ST read it?

To format a disk on the pc that an STe can read, be sure to do it from the command prompt with the following command:

Format a: /t:80 /n:9

This will force your pc to do a double sided 720k format that your STe can read (which Microsoft say you can't do anymore, but what do they know, I know better and now so do you ;-))


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The collection:

Atari 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STfm
Atari STe
Atari Falcon, 14MB, 40GB IDE drive

User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2407
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: Which version of cubase should i use?

Postby charles » Sat Apr 30, 2011 8:50 pm

alot of these questions are from inexperience ,, my suggestion ,,
get a copy off ebay , stay with it , there it is ...remain true to the platform and product .. i have , had my atari and hybrid edit tracks for approx 11 years ,,, deciphered all commands and actions for this sequencer , bought a copy of cubase for the atari 6 years ago
been using it (legit)copy ever since ,, it really proved benificial ..

can't find any one who wants to make midi based music together
tho'????? what am i doing wrong?

the disk should be double density,,double sided
80 tracks 9 sectors

and like i said along with expereince you can eliminate atleast 90 percent of those illegal operation errors in cubase ,, its a prefence setting , and you it conflicts creating these errors,, not the crack that does it..

ok
wanna make some tunes together>?

charles
The radioactive half-life : )
Atari is a lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! ! Im printing unreadable characters ...!


Social Media

     

Return to “Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests