Page 1 of 2

Spectrum 512

Posted: Sat Mar 26, 2011 11:11 am
by Examigan
I remember using Specrtum 512 on my Atari ST wayback when, great program!
One thing that was totally cool was the gradient fills, awesome stuff, never seen it done that well in any program since.

Is there any way to get it run the right way in STeem? The colors look all messed up, like it is having trouble with the trick way the ST used to display so many colors on the screen at the same time.
I think it could do 48 colors per line on the screen, something like that.

But with a PC and a nice video card, it should be able to show it correctly ...somehow...right? :?

Re: Spectrum 512

Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2011 10:18 am
by Examigan
Examigan wrote:I remember using Specrtum 512 on my Atari ST wayback when, great program!
One thing that was totally cool was the gradient fills, awesome stuff, never seen it done that well in any program since.

Is there any way to get it run the right way in STeem? The colors look all messed up, like it is having trouble with the trick way the ST used to display so many colors on the screen at the same time.
I think it could do 48 colors per line on the screen, something like that.

But with a PC and a nice video card, it should be able to show it correctly ...somehow...right? :?


(bump)

No one knows? :?

Re: Spectrum 512

Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2011 11:33 am
by Mug UK
Try it with SainT as that's more geared towards demo effects such as multiples of colours on screen at once?

Re: Spectrum 512

Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2011 11:37 am
by wongck
I remember that Spectrum 512 needs exact timing of 8MHz.
So you need to find a enulator that does that sped exactly.

Re: Spectrum 512

Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2011 2:40 pm
by SofiST
Spectrum 512 will work flawless if set 8MHz in latest Steem ( v 3.2) or Hatari (1.4).
But even better is Photochrome (v4 is latest) - it can 32000 colors at once.

Re: Spectrum 512

Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2011 3:24 pm
by Examigan
Mug UK wrote:Try it with SainT as that's more geared towards demo effects such as multiples of colours on screen at once?


I will check that one out, thanks :)

Re: Spectrum 512

Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2011 3:25 pm
by Examigan
wongck wrote:I remember that Spectrum 512 needs exact timing of 8MHz.
So you need to find a enulator that does that sped exactly.


I think STeem was set to 8mhz, but I will check it out, thanks for the ideas :)

Re: Spectrum 512

Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 10:02 pm
by Cyprian
Examigan, there is a bug in latest Steem version, and sometimes hardware switch 50 / 60Hz doesn't work. Spectrum512 is really sensitive to that switch.
Try another Atari emulator - Hatari. It is still developed and actually is the most compatible with real hardware.

In near future I'll publish my Spectrum512 viewer. It is web browser based drag'n'drop viewer and can works offline.

Re: Spectrum 512

Posted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 7:59 pm
by Scottinnh
I still have my manual for Spectrum 512... it came with a 3 ring binder.
I actually did a school report video with it (to RF in on VCR) and wow'd a lot of folks, back in 1986 or 87 (I'm 41).

Good times, hacking pixels at 3AM all strung out on Jolt cola and instant coffee.

Re: Spectrum 512

Posted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 10:20 pm
by Examigan
Cyprian_K wrote:Examigan, there is a bug in latest Steem version, and sometimes hardware switch 50 / 60Hz doesn't work. Spectrum512 is really sensitive to that switch.
Try another Atari emulator - Hatari. It is still developed and actually is the most compatible with real hardware.

In near future I'll publish my Spectrum512 viewer. It is web browser based drag'n'drop viewer and can works offline.


Great, thanks I will check it out :)

Re: Spectrum 512

Posted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 10:23 pm
by Examigan
Scottinnh wrote:I still have my manual for Spectrum 512... it came with a 3 ring binder.
I actually did a school report video with it (to RF in on VCR) and wow'd a lot of folks, back in 1986 or 87 (I'm 41).

Good times, hacking pixels at 3AM all strung out on Jolt cola and instant coffee.


I remember when I bought it at a local Atari computer shop, they didn't sell anything but the Atari ST line, real cool!
It was called Cave Creek Computers and it was in Seattle, WA.

After a couple years, they started selling Amigas also.
I ended up selling my Atari 520 ST-FM at a certain point and bought an Amiga 2000, but I miss those days.

Re: Spectrum 512

Posted: Sat Jun 18, 2011 9:41 pm
by chillinwater
Hi first time post, looong time ST freak!!
I used to love Spectrum 512 and there was a little program (acc) called unispec that sort of converted Spectrum 512 into an accesory that you could pull down from within Degas Elite and I think Cyperpaint.
Does anyony know where I can find this accessory? I will buy it if I cand find it! Thanks anyway if no info comes from it.

Re: Spectrum 512

Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 5:34 am
by Scottinnh
chillinwater wrote:Hi first time post, looong time ST freak!!
I used to love Spectrum 512 and there was a little program (acc) called unispec that sort of converted Spectrum 512 into an accesory that you could pull down from within Degas Elite and I think Cyperpaint.
Does anyony know where I can find this accessory? I will buy it if I cand find it! Thanks anyway if no info comes from it.


Post here if you ever find it. I own Spectrum 512 but never got the Unispec add-on.

More info on Unispec for folks can be found at http://www.asterius.com/atari/spectrum.html

Re: Spectrum 512

Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 4:36 am
by chillinwater
Ive been looking for over 10 years now.
I used to have it, DigiSpec, ComputerEyes and the whole Cyber suite and Cad3d 2.0 suite with all the Design packs.
Had to sell it all when I moved from Hawaii in 96 including some cool stuff I made.
Ive been able to buy most of it back through ebay but still cannot find unispec to purchase or download.
The search goes on........

Re: Spectrum 512

Posted: Mon Jun 27, 2011 1:36 pm
by Cyprian
Examigan wrote:
Cyprian_K wrote:Examigan, there is a bug in latest Steem version, and sometimes hardware switch 50 / 60Hz doesn't work. Spectrum512 is really sensitive to that switch.
Try another Atari emulator - Hatari. It is still developed and actually is the most compatible with real hardware.

In near future I'll publish my Spectrum512 viewer. It is web browser based drag'n'drop viewer and can works offline.


Great, thanks I will check it out :)


I've just published my viewer:
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=21234

Re: Spectrum 512

Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 6:48 pm
by lp
Bumping a really old topic. Anyone ever unearth a working copy of Unispec?

Re: Spectrum 512

Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 8:33 pm
by prog99
Interesting question. One of the best bits of gfx software for a normal ST but strangely missing from online searches.

I used to use it a lot for moving from spec512 to degas elite. It was very powerful if you knew how to use it.... (based on 25 year old memories)

Re: Spectrum 512

Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 9:32 pm
by ijor
lp wrote:Bumping a really old topic. Anyone ever unearth a working copy of Unispec?


There is no known dump at all? Or there is but it is not working?

Re: Spectrum 512

Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 9:55 pm
by ICS
I remember I had Unispec at some point, back in the day.
How could this piece of software get lost?
Have to admit tho, I don't have it anymore either :(

Re: Spectrum 512

Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 10:02 pm
by lp
Maybe it had far less distribution since they decided not to let Anitc publish it and they did it themselves? I found 2 SPS animations created with it. I was hoping the manual would yield some clues or some docs on the disk as to how to read these files. I have been unable to find a dump.

Re: Spectrum 512

Posted: Sat Dec 17, 2016 8:36 pm
by ijor
Found it. Should be available soon at Atarimania.

Re: Spectrum 512

Posted: Sat Dec 17, 2016 9:15 pm
by lp
I did get a French version someone sent me. I'll keep an eye on Atarimania though, perhaps a different version.

Re: Spectrum 512

Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2016 4:58 pm
by Marakatti
Here's the link for the software, many thanks to Ijor. I just tested it very quickly and didn't find any suitable Spectrum512-version which is compatible. Tried one from our archives, one from DHS and one the ST Format Coverdisk 38- version. Every time i got an error message saying "incorrect Spectrum.prg"

Not sure if it was and emulation issue as i'm in work right now. So if someone finds a suitable version for it please post here :)

http://www.atarimania.com/utility-atari ... 22930.html

Re: Spectrum 512

Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2016 6:46 pm
by ijor
Marakatti wrote:Here's the link for the software, many thanks to Ijor. I just tested it very quickly and didn't find any suitable Spectrum512-version which is compatible. Tried one from our archives, one from DHS and one the ST Format Coverdisk 38- version. Every time i got an error message saying "incorrect Spectrum.prg"


You must run SPCORR.PRG first. Also note that both SPCORR.PRG an UNISPEC.PRG are some kind of installation software that patch SPECTRUM.PRG, they are not the final software. They create UNISPEC.ACC, which is the accessory that must be booted. This somewhat complicated install is probably due to their legal agreement with Antic that published Spectrum.

I copied both Spectrum and Unispec to the same location on a virtual hard disk. Probably works on floppies as well, but the floppy surely must have enough space and be write enabled.

Re: Spectrum 512

Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2016 7:16 pm
by Marakatti
Ah i see, thanks. Will take another look when i get back home.