Spectrum 512

All about the serious stuff.

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

User avatar
Examigan
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 11:07 pm

Spectrum 512

Postby Examigan » Sat Mar 26, 2011 11:11 am

I remember using Specrtum 512 on my Atari ST wayback when, great program!
One thing that was totally cool was the gradient fills, awesome stuff, never seen it done that well in any program since.

Is there any way to get it run the right way in STeem? The colors look all messed up, like it is having trouble with the trick way the ST used to display so many colors on the screen at the same time.
I think it could do 48 colors per line on the screen, something like that.

But with a PC and a nice video card, it should be able to show it correctly ...somehow...right? :?

User avatar
Examigan
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 11:07 pm

Re: Spectrum 512

Postby Examigan » Tue Mar 29, 2011 10:18 am

Examigan wrote:I remember using Specrtum 512 on my Atari ST wayback when, great program!
One thing that was totally cool was the gradient fills, awesome stuff, never seen it done that well in any program since.

Is there any way to get it run the right way in STeem? The colors look all messed up, like it is having trouble with the trick way the ST used to display so many colors on the screen at the same time.
I think it could do 48 colors per line on the screen, something like that.

But with a PC and a nice video card, it should be able to show it correctly ...somehow...right? :?


(bump)

No one knows? :?

User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11379
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Re: Spectrum 512

Postby Mug UK » Tue Mar 29, 2011 11:33 am

Try it with SainT as that's more geared towards demo effects such as multiples of colours on screen at once?
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12680
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Spectrum 512

Postby wongck » Tue Mar 29, 2011 11:37 am

I remember that Spectrum 512 needs exact timing of 8MHz.
So you need to find a enulator that does that sped exactly.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

SofiST
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 591
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 12:25 pm

Re: Spectrum 512

Postby SofiST » Tue Mar 29, 2011 2:40 pm

Spectrum 512 will work flawless if set 8MHz in latest Steem ( v 3.2) or Hatari (1.4).
But even better is Photochrome (v4 is latest) - it can 32000 colors at once.

User avatar
Examigan
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 11:07 pm

Re: Spectrum 512

Postby Examigan » Tue Mar 29, 2011 3:24 pm

Mug UK wrote:Try it with SainT as that's more geared towards demo effects such as multiples of colours on screen at once?


I will check that one out, thanks :)

User avatar
Examigan
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 11:07 pm

Re: Spectrum 512

Postby Examigan » Tue Mar 29, 2011 3:25 pm

wongck wrote:I remember that Spectrum 512 needs exact timing of 8MHz.
So you need to find a enulator that does that sped exactly.


I think STeem was set to 8mhz, but I will check it out, thanks for the ideas :)

User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1638
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Spectrum 512

Postby Cyprian » Wed Apr 06, 2011 10:02 pm

Examigan, there is a bug in latest Steem version, and sometimes hardware switch 50 / 60Hz doesn't work. Spectrum512 is really sensitive to that switch.
Try another Atari emulator - Hatari. It is still developed and actually is the most compatible with real hardware.

In near future I'll publish my Spectrum512 viewer. It is web browser based drag'n'drop viewer and can works offline.
Lynx II / Jaugar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

Scottinnh
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: Spectrum 512

Postby Scottinnh » Wed Apr 20, 2011 7:59 pm

I still have my manual for Spectrum 512... it came with a 3 ring binder.
I actually did a school report video with it (to RF in on VCR) and wow'd a lot of folks, back in 1986 or 87 (I'm 41).

Good times, hacking pixels at 3AM all strung out on Jolt cola and instant coffee.
Atari since 1983 (1200XL, later ST). Now a Linux freak who uses a Mac at work.

User avatar
Examigan
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 11:07 pm

Re: Spectrum 512

Postby Examigan » Wed Apr 20, 2011 10:20 pm

Cyprian_K wrote:Examigan, there is a bug in latest Steem version, and sometimes hardware switch 50 / 60Hz doesn't work. Spectrum512 is really sensitive to that switch.
Try another Atari emulator - Hatari. It is still developed and actually is the most compatible with real hardware.

In near future I'll publish my Spectrum512 viewer. It is web browser based drag'n'drop viewer and can works offline.


Great, thanks I will check it out :)

User avatar
Examigan
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 11:07 pm

Re: Spectrum 512

Postby Examigan » Wed Apr 20, 2011 10:23 pm

Scottinnh wrote:I still have my manual for Spectrum 512... it came with a 3 ring binder.
I actually did a school report video with it (to RF in on VCR) and wow'd a lot of folks, back in 1986 or 87 (I'm 41).

Good times, hacking pixels at 3AM all strung out on Jolt cola and instant coffee.


I remember when I bought it at a local Atari computer shop, they didn't sell anything but the Atari ST line, real cool!
It was called Cave Creek Computers and it was in Seattle, WA.

After a couple years, they started selling Amigas also.
I ended up selling my Atari 520 ST-FM at a certain point and bought an Amiga 2000, but I miss those days.

chillinwater
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 9:12 pm

Re: Spectrum 512

Postby chillinwater » Sat Jun 18, 2011 9:41 pm

Hi first time post, looong time ST freak!!
I used to love Spectrum 512 and there was a little program (acc) called unispec that sort of converted Spectrum 512 into an accesory that you could pull down from within Degas Elite and I think Cyperpaint.
Does anyony know where I can find this accessory? I will buy it if I cand find it! Thanks anyway if no info comes from it.

Scottinnh
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: Spectrum 512

Postby Scottinnh » Tue Jun 21, 2011 5:34 am

chillinwater wrote:Hi first time post, looong time ST freak!!
I used to love Spectrum 512 and there was a little program (acc) called unispec that sort of converted Spectrum 512 into an accesory that you could pull down from within Degas Elite and I think Cyperpaint.
Does anyony know where I can find this accessory? I will buy it if I cand find it! Thanks anyway if no info comes from it.


Post here if you ever find it. I own Spectrum 512 but never got the Unispec add-on.

More info on Unispec for folks can be found at http://www.asterius.com/atari/spectrum.html
Atari since 1983 (1200XL, later ST). Now a Linux freak who uses a Mac at work.

chillinwater
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 9:12 pm

Re: Spectrum 512

Postby chillinwater » Wed Jun 22, 2011 4:36 am

Ive been looking for over 10 years now.
I used to have it, DigiSpec, ComputerEyes and the whole Cyber suite and Cad3d 2.0 suite with all the Design packs.
Had to sell it all when I moved from Hawaii in 96 including some cool stuff I made.
Ive been able to buy most of it back through ebay but still cannot find unispec to purchase or download.
The search goes on........

User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1638
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Spectrum 512

Postby Cyprian » Mon Jun 27, 2011 1:36 pm

Examigan wrote:
Cyprian_K wrote:Examigan, there is a bug in latest Steem version, and sometimes hardware switch 50 / 60Hz doesn't work. Spectrum512 is really sensitive to that switch.
Try another Atari emulator - Hatari. It is still developed and actually is the most compatible with real hardware.

In near future I'll publish my Spectrum512 viewer. It is web browser based drag'n'drop viewer and can works offline.


Great, thanks I will check it out :)


I've just published my viewer:
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=21234
Lynx II / Jaugar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2417
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: Spectrum 512

Postby lp » Mon Oct 24, 2016 6:48 pm

Bumping a really old topic. Anyone ever unearth a working copy of Unispec?

User avatar
prog99
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 8:08 pm
Location: Edinburgh
Contact:

Re: Spectrum 512

Postby prog99 » Mon Oct 24, 2016 8:33 pm

Interesting question. One of the best bits of gfx software for a normal ST but strangely missing from online searches.

I used to use it a lot for moving from spec512 to degas elite. It was very powerful if you knew how to use it.... (based on 25 year old memories)
All my real skills are undervalued

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3782
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Spectrum 512

Postby ijor » Mon Oct 24, 2016 9:32 pm

lp wrote:Bumping a really old topic. Anyone ever unearth a working copy of Unispec?


There is no known dump at all? Or there is but it is not working?

User avatar
ICS
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 475
Joined: Sun Apr 28, 2002 12:26 am
Location: .de

Re: Spectrum 512

Postby ICS » Mon Oct 24, 2016 9:55 pm

I remember I had Unispec at some point, back in the day.
How could this piece of software get lost?
Have to admit tho, I don't have it anymore either :(

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2417
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: Spectrum 512

Postby lp » Mon Oct 24, 2016 10:02 pm

Maybe it had far less distribution since they decided not to let Anitc publish it and they did it themselves? I found 2 SPS animations created with it. I was hoping the manual would yield some clues or some docs on the disk as to how to read these files. I have been unable to find a dump.

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3782
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Spectrum 512

Postby ijor » Sat Dec 17, 2016 8:36 pm

Found it. Should be available soon at Atarimania.

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2417
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: Spectrum 512

Postby lp » Sat Dec 17, 2016 9:15 pm

I did get a French version someone sent me. I'll keep an eye on Atarimania though, perhaps a different version.

User avatar
Marakatti
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1359
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Spectrum 512

Postby Marakatti » Sun Dec 18, 2016 4:58 pm

Here's the link for the software, many thanks to Ijor. I just tested it very quickly and didn't find any suitable Spectrum512-version which is compatible. Tried one from our archives, one from DHS and one the ST Format Coverdisk 38- version. Every time i got an error message saying "incorrect Spectrum.prg"

Not sure if it was and emulation issue as i'm in work right now. So if someone finds a suitable version for it please post here :)

http://www.atarimania.com/utility-atari ... 22930.html
-------------< Member of Atarimania >-----------
-< ST / STe / Falcon030 / TT030 archiver >-
-------------> www.atarimania.com <-------------

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3782
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Spectrum 512

Postby ijor » Sun Dec 18, 2016 6:46 pm

Marakatti wrote:Here's the link for the software, many thanks to Ijor. I just tested it very quickly and didn't find any suitable Spectrum512-version which is compatible. Tried one from our archives, one from DHS and one the ST Format Coverdisk 38- version. Every time i got an error message saying "incorrect Spectrum.prg"


You must run SPCORR.PRG first. Also note that both SPCORR.PRG an UNISPEC.PRG are some kind of installation software that patch SPECTRUM.PRG, they are not the final software. They create UNISPEC.ACC, which is the accessory that must be booted. This somewhat complicated install is probably due to their legal agreement with Antic that published Spectrum.

I copied both Spectrum and Unispec to the same location on a virtual hard disk. Probably works on floppies as well, but the floppy surely must have enough space and be write enabled.

User avatar
Marakatti
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1359
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Spectrum 512

Postby Marakatti » Sun Dec 18, 2016 7:16 pm

Ah i see, thanks. Will take another look when i get back home.
-------------< Member of Atarimania >-----------
-< ST / STe / Falcon030 / TT030 archiver >-
-------------> www.atarimania.com <-------------


Social Media

     

Return to “Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests