Funny Paint

All about the serious stuff.

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

rockyone
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:47 pm
Contact:

Funny Paint

Postby rockyone » Thu Feb 16, 2017 1:20 am

Who wants to convert these two images into a file ".FUN" with Funny-Paint on a real ST.
The palette of ".Fun" files is totally false with an emulator, I would like this to be checked on a real ST
Thank you

Funny_Paint http://www.mirari.fr/jcsV

Image.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by rockyone on Mon Feb 20, 2017 2:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1454
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Funny Paint

Postby Eero Tamminen » Fri Feb 17, 2017 7:41 pm

On which emulator the palette is wrong?

Hatari should have no such issues e.g. in latest v2.0 release (haven't heard from any of that kind of issues for years).

And if you're using STeem, AFAIK it emulates by default STE, which palette handling differs a bit from ST...

rockyone
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Funny Paint

Postby rockyone » Fri Feb 17, 2017 10:52 pm

With the emulator Steem and Tos 1.62,1.06,1.02 the pallete is bad.
I would test with Hatari

User avatar
leech
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 346
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Funny Paint

Postby leech » Sat Feb 18, 2017 12:45 am

I'd test it out in Hatari, but I can't seem to get it to work with any ST/e/TT system, only Falcon. All my stock ST hardware is narfed up, though I do suppose I could test it in ST mode on the MiST.

Edit: To be clear, they don't work with GEMDOS emulation of a folder on my hard drive. The error is "Failed to allocate window memory"

rockyone
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Funny Paint

Postby rockyone » Sat Feb 18, 2017 12:59 am

Eero Tamminen wrote:On which emulator the palette is wrong?

Hatari should have no such issues e.g. in latest v2.0 release (haven't heard from any of that kind of issues for years).

And if you're using STeem, AFAIK it emulates by default STE, which palette handling differs a bit from ST...


A version 2, I search for it, it can not be found !

leech wrote:I'd test it out in Hatari, but I can't seem to get it to work with any ST/e/TT system, only Falcon. All my stock ST hardware is narfed up, though I do suppose I could test it in ST mode on the MiST.

Edit: To be clear, they don't work with GEMDOS emulation of a folder on my hard drive. The error is "Failed to allocate window memory"


I only had a white screen On Hatari in ST version

User avatar
leech
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 346
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Funny Paint

Postby leech » Sat Feb 18, 2017 9:11 pm

http://download.tuxfamily.org/hatari/2.0.0/ is where you can find binaries for 2.0.

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1454
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Funny Paint

Postby Eero Tamminen » Sun Feb 19, 2017 6:14 pm

leech wrote:I'd test it out in Hatari, but I can't seem to get it to work with any ST/e/TT system, only Falcon. All my stock ST hardware is narfed up, though I do suppose I could test it in ST mode on the MiST.

Edit: To be clear, they don't work with GEMDOS emulation of a folder on my hard drive. The error is "Failed to allocate window memory"


I don't believe the problem to be specific to Hatari, but what kind of Atari setup the program works with.

Maybe it's a floppy only program, or e.g. needs specific version of TOS or specific amount or RAM to be present?

Can you provide link to the program?

rockyone
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Funny Paint

Postby rockyone » Mon Feb 20, 2017 3:00 am

The link is at the top of the topic

FUNNY PAINT, here : http://www.mirari.fr/jcsV

In this folder with other drawing program : http://www.mirari.fr/file/browse?f=692&u=506

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1454
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Funny Paint

Postby Eero Tamminen » Mon Feb 20, 2017 8:42 pm

Weird program. To view the 6 pictures included with the program, and in the images.zip, I needed to start the program in many different resolutions (as it couldn't convert them)...

- ST-low: bird2, brune1
- ST-med: c4
- Falcon 320x200@256: bunt, falcon64
- Falcon 320x200@hicolor: truecol

Palettes looked OK to me. what's wrong with them?

rockyone
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Funny Paint

Postby rockyone » Mon Feb 20, 2017 10:21 pm

Thanks for testing

In average resolution, the second RGB is always equal
At $3e8, $3e8, $190. These values can be reversed, but these are never the right values.
Other values may also be changed, which may vary from original values.

So if I convert that image, and load it into Funny Paint, it's a disaster.

For "Brune1", the first quartet of each value is false.
Let's say the palette is the whole byte that can be false

I still have my RGB conversion, but after checking .....

Anyway, funny paint is rarely able to render the values of an image that it has converted into a FUN file.

Or it bug with the emulators ...

I will reinstall the conversion routine in my converter, and I post the palettes of Funny Paint and MI-3

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2139
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: Funny Paint

Postby lp » Mon Feb 20, 2017 10:32 pm

I tested funny paint in Hatari v2. I load ST low degas file, save it out as *.fun, clear the image, reload the *.fun file I just saved. Seems ok to me. I then repeat the same test in ST medium. Again seems ok. I did notice in st high it seem to write junk to the palette entries in the file, but st high don't need a palette as black & white is assumed. I am also not sure what is going wrong.

rockyone
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Funny Paint

Postby rockyone » Mon Feb 20, 2017 11:18 pm

I think you have not closed funnny-paint or loaded another image before reloading the converted image?
For me, it changes everything.

I just re-tested it by changing the values of the palette beforehand so that the bug I get is more obvious.

I post the result in can of time

rockyone
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Funny Paint

Postby rockyone » Mon Feb 20, 2017 11:39 pm

C4_pi2 with new pallet.
C4_fun.fun : image pi2 converted by Funny-Paint
C4_mi1.fun : image pi2 converted by MI-3

C4_fun.pi2 : image reconverted by Funny-Paint ( Palette destroyed :mrgreen: )
C4_mi1.pi2 : image reconverted by Mi-3


If you get to reconvert c4_fun_fun in pi2 with Funny_paint, and restore the original palette, I would be surprised.

A bug with STeen ... :?:

Images and palettes in this folder
new pic.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

rockyone
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Funny Paint

Postby rockyone » Wed Feb 22, 2017 4:44 pm

lp wrote: but st high don't need a palette as black & white is assumed..

In the case where the pallet and inverted ? :mrgreen:

In high resolution:
Loading a PI3 image. The pallet is not respected
Saving the PI3 image loaded in PI3, both colors are always $0

In high resolution, it is not the only drawing program that does not take into account the palette of images.
That is why in MI-3 I added the inversion of the values of the image data in high resolution.

rockyone
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Funny Paint

Postby rockyone » Wed Feb 22, 2017 5:15 pm

lp wrote:I tested funny paint in Hatari v2.

I can not make it work with Hatari.
What are the parameters to apply ?

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2139
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: Funny Paint

Postby lp » Wed Feb 22, 2017 6:15 pm

Set Hatari as 4mb Falcon or STE as shown below. I try loading images in different orders to force palette changes, even quit restart funny paint. All looks ok to me.

grab0003.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

rockyone
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Funny Paint

Postby rockyone » Wed Feb 22, 2017 8:45 pm

I try tos.2.06, fr us gb on Hatari, none works

Tos 1.62 worked, I have the same bug as on STeem

Look at the pallets

Harari.jpg


mi3.jpg


convered in PNT by PrismPaint
pnt.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1454
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Funny Paint

Postby Eero Tamminen » Wed Feb 22, 2017 8:56 pm

rockyone wrote:Anyway, funny paint is rarely able to render the values of an image that it has converted into a FUN file.

Or it bug with the emulators ...


I'm sure it's bug in the program itself, not in the emulators. Emulators have worked fine with much more demanding stuff (demos) for long time.

(If this have been issue with ST/e palette handling for TT or Falcon, then I could accept that it might be emulator issue, there were couple of corner cases with those fixed for Hatari 2.0.)

rockyone
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Funny Paint

Postby rockyone » Wed Feb 22, 2017 9:00 pm

I also think it's a bug from Funny-Paint, that's why I asked for a test on a real machine

rockyone
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Funny Paint

Postby rockyone » Tue Feb 28, 2017 11:56 pm

You have been much downloaded Funny-Paint.
If you want to continue using it, do not load an image without first converting it into a FUN file with MI-3 v3.2017 and higher
The file would be correct on the screen, and the image could be saved correctly by Funny-Paint.


Social Media

     

Return to “Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests